We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Camba Food”

El Aljibe Comida Tipica
Ranked #10 of 301 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This restaurant is in a very old building typical of Santa Cruz many years ago. It is very spacious with a lovely courtyard and furnished typical Santa Cruz style with lots of artifact around. The menu it typical foood of Santa Cruz some of the dishes are pictured on the walls should you not understand the menu. The service is first class as is the food and the price is very good less than $5 a meal it is a simple basic place but excellent
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Camba Food”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The environment is lovely -- very cozy; busy but nice. The food was excellent. I had majadito with duck and liked it so much I went back to days later for majadito with charque. The food was great; the prices reasonable; and the atmosphere very nice.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    68
    17
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasting local food on a budget”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This lovely little restaurant is a brisk walk from the main square of Santa Cruz. Nice decor with tables to seat four.
The food is local, home cooking. There was no menu as such, the server lady has listed what was available that day. We tried the soups (peanut and chicken) and their specialty 'majao de pato' which is a risotto with duck meat and a fried egg on top. The soups were perfect for a cold day. The risotto was cooked well and the shreds of duck meat really made it taste nice. I would have left the egg yolk runny, rather than solid, so one can mix it in with the risotto… pity as a properly cooked egg would have lifted the dish further.
For dessert I tried the oven baked flan. Deep, rich color and flavor.
We had the red wine on offer a '1750' cabernet sauvignon. Very, very oaky; one would think they soaked a stick of vanilla in the bottle.
The bill for four came to less that $60; $20 of that was the wine. The main dish was B40, which is around $7.
I would recommend this place to anyone who would like to try the local home cooking. A working understanding of Spanish is highly recommended as the staff has no English.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ithecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shame”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We went there based on a review however the menu wasn't clear on how to order and the wifi didn't work to fully understand it. Looked like a really nice restaurant to eat in, shame we couldn't.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
130 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great authentic colonial atmosphere, superior service, tasty food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My son and I had lunch there. It was located in the old town section of Santa Cruz in an old house that was in 1888 at the edge of Santa Cruz town. Lovingly and smartly decorated with period details and vintage artifacts, the restaurant has a number of rooms around a small courtyard that has a real water well (of the wishing well variety) at its center., Large colonial-era bricks line the floors and stylish old town decor are complemented by a superior attitude by the staff. A heavy-set gentleman acted as both host and waiter, offering patient descriptions of the food, the restaurant and the town. We forgot to ask his name, but any restaurant in the world should be happy to have a person like him taking care of its customers. For beverage we followed his suggestion and had a jar of moko chinchi, a typical Bolivian drink you see in markets under far less sanitary conditions, it was good and refreshing., The peanut oxtail soup was tasty, almost delicious but for it being a bit too thin, It was served with yucca and a hot salsa that made it all great,. The rest of lunch was adequately good local fare, unfortunately served tepid rather than hot, but tasty enough to be memorable, though not great. For desert we had a cup of "Quiero Mas," something that was described as being made with three kinds of milk. We thought it might be like the Mexican Tres Leches dessert, but it was far smoother, and flavorful, Overall, it was a great experience for a reasonable price, but we will always remember the hospitality of the waiter, who said to us that it was the attitude of the restaurant to convey the hospitality of the people of Santa Cruz, though we have not found such hospitality elsewhere. A very nice Bolivian Camba experience, a good, honest value, the type of place one would love to have around the corner to spend lunchtimes and lazy evenings,..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Milan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Bolivian experience”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Located in downtown Santa Cruz , in an old local house has a nice atmosphere for a good gastronomic experience
They serve refreshing bolivian drinks and fresh bolivian wines
Rodolfo introduced us to their menu that was very tasty and to many details of the old furniture , telephones and other rare objects
A nice enveronement for a romantic time as ours as well as for bussines meeting
It is located in a tranquil , safe and clean area

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rcardoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Aljibe Comida Tipica also viewed

Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz Department
Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz Department
 
Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz Department
Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz Department
 
Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz Department
Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz Department
 

Been to El Aljibe Comida Tipica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing