We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, ok rooms, poor staff.”
Review of Hotel Mirador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mirador
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We wandered into this place after getting off a long bus journey.
Plus points:
Twin room, with private facilities, and the most beautiful views of lake Titicaca for £4 pppn. Bargain!
Bad points:
The staff told us the price was £4 pppn, but when we checked out and paid, they said that only one night was £$, the rest of our stay was for £5pppn as it had run into a bolivian holiday (i know it is only a small amount, but it's still a bit out of order when you are trying to manage a tight travel budget).
Wifi only worked in the recception, if it worked at all (but at least we had wifi on occasion!).
Breakfast was one of the worst we had in bolivia - bland usual stale bread and jam. Coffee was alright though!
Rooms could have been quite a bit cleaner.
Reception staff were a bit rude, but i think that is a cultural thing. I don't think they always mean to be, but things get lost in translation etc!
This is not the sort of place you want to be if you want to meet other travellers. It is a hotel and not a hostel, but it suited us for 4 nights whilst we had a bit of chill out time in copa!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planetwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 272 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hostel has a gorgeous big rooms with beautiful view of lake Titicaca. Our room was clean, specious and for price of 120bs the best value we had in Bolivia!!!!

What was very annoying was that first day breakfast was not ready at promised 7:30, which make us to sacrifice half of it as we wanted to catch the boat at 8:30. Even worse they run out of bread almost immediately and after 15 minutes delay served crackers instead. The other day we attended breakfast at 8:15. There was different crew and everything was as expected.

Receptionists could be friendlier, but it was not a disaster as other reviews are describing. They were for sure there for 90% of the time.

Wi-Fi was provided over 3G, which seems to be a standard in Copacabana, so you can not expect much from it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadekDostal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The personnal was very unpleasant and inexistant. My boyfriend was sick and I asked for one more night. The only answer of the reception was we had to change of room (difficult in the situation) and paid more for another room !!! Unacceptable.....! And if you want to sleep in the morning, it's impossible because the music begin at 9h so that you leave at 10h30 !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Never seen a staff so useless and irrespectful ... the girl at the reception (when she is there ... most of the time there is NOBODY) is only there for one thing: trying to get more cash from you. Don't expect her to be helpful. The WIFI almost never worked and when we asked her, she said "5 minutes" and an hour later she still hadn't moved from her seat ... many times too, they simply turned off the internet, i guess because they did not want to be annoyed anymore by angry clients. The must was when a guy from the staff came to wake us up at 9.20am to tell us we had to leave at 10.30 to check out ... unbeleivable ! He came back at 10.38am with his watch to show me (again) we had to leave. Most irrespectful staff ever. Finally, I think the last time the showers got cleaned up was in the 1950's ... says it all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samuelkerleguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel Mirador looked beautiful at first: right on the water, beautiful wood floors in the rooms with big windows and wonderful views. But I had to check out at least 4 different rooms before I found one with a sink that worked. The first room had a sink that did not have running water at all, and the next 3 rooms had sinks that leaked like crazy all over the bathroom floor. Also, the service at the front desk was pretty bad. Sometimes there was someone there to help us, and many other times we had to ring the bell several times to get some attention. At one point, there was a woman at the front desk who refused to find the person with the key to the storage closet so we could store our backpacks. Eventually we just stashed them behind the desk. Also, that storage closet was not secure because anyone could walk in there (when it was unlocked and unattended - which was frequently) and grab their backpack. But no one bothered to verify the owners of the backpacks.
I would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Make sure to check out the room to see if the sink works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flygirl5436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Might have been a lovely lake front hotel once...a long time ago. So great view of Lake Titicaca, but dirty bathroom, variable hot water, moody staff, noisy neighbours and worst of all they tried to charge more when we left than they had quoted...and were very unpleasant about it. But hey, for $5 a night, you get what you pay for. This is Bolivia and the smiles stop of the Peruvian/Chilean borders.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikitak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here about a week ago and paid 45 bolivianos each for a matrimonial with a private bathroom. I wouldn't pay any more, definitely not worth it. Rooms were huge and overlook the lake but they are freezing cold so make sure you have lots of warm clothes. Our shower didn't have hot water, just lukewarm but with no water pressure so it was almost pointless showering. Staff were really rude and inappropriate though, when we first arrived a guy and girl were wresting/dry humping behind the reception desk and they didn't want a bar of us. Breakfast was great though- real coffee, breads and jams, fresh fruit and fresh juice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimzl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Cupula
Hotel La Cupula
#2 of 13 in Copacabana
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del lago
Hotel Paraiso del lago
#6 of 13 in Copacabana
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utama
Hotel Utama
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirador

Address: Av. Busch esq. Costanera, Copacabana, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Price Range: $16 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirador Hotel Copacabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing