We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel with a great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Olas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copacabana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Olas
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel with a great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed in the Tower which was very quirky and spread over 3 floors. Given the altitude the stairs were sometime a challenge if you kept going up and down, but the place was great. We loved staying here, it felt very homely and it was nice to have a kitchen area, 2 different eating areas with amazing views as well as a choice of beds (sleeps 5 but there was just 2 of us). the round bed was a bit strange as we are used to edges but it was very comfortable!

The only downside was the wifi which was very patchy, but apart from that we loved staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    66
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
48
278
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Las Olas is an amazing hotel that will make the budget traveler feel like she is in a resort! The views, hammocks out on the semi-private patio area, tea and water heater in the room, and fine artistic details on the room make Las Olas a gem to stay in. The climb up all the stairs is totally worth it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sin_receta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

i saw a lot of places in the world, but what Martin (the owner) of las olas did at copacabanna is just amazing!!
a perfekt place to be and relax after travelling through Bolivia or Peru.
The view is perfekt and the individuel style of each suite he designeg by himself is just fantastic..
worth every dollar you spend there and you are even able to stay with three of you in most of the two floor bungalows, with kitchen, open fire place, hammoks and deckchairs in front of the houses and did i mentioned the perfekt view on the beautiful titicaca lake from the bed after waking up
Go for it and enjoy that invidiual stay and of course life..
Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: we stayed in room number 2, but all of them are perfekt!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismaktub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was a charming place - a little more expensive than most other Bolivian hostals but well worth it. Each room is set up as a separate apartment. Each is uniquely designed, some with hammocks. Staff was very helpful and would set a cozy fire for us at night for warmth. There is a hot tub but you need a minimum number of people for them to fill it with water. Views of lake titcaca are amazing. I would also recommend dining at La Cupula restaurant next door. Be warned hotel is up a steep hill from main bus station. It can be quite a hike with your luggage.

Room Tip: Our room called "the turtle" had 4 hammocks (2 indoor and 2 outdoor). It was a great spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I turned up in evening and took a chance to see if there were any available rooms. I ended up getting a suite for only $US25 a night, at this time there is scope to negotiate. An absolute bargain as it had sweeping views of the lake a kitchen and and eco style bathroom. The room even had a fire place that made the room nice and cozy at night and the shower had hot water at all hours of the day. Wilst there is no restaurant, I just went next door to La Cupola which has an excellent restaurant with yummy food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in room 5 and had a wonderful time, completely unique with amazing views over the lake and of the sunset. Nice and warm and we only used the heater. Loved the indoor and outdoor hammocks. The only slight negative is that reception seems to be run by a range of different young guys who are a little surly! otherwise absolutely wonderful and worth the cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstarburs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We are traveling for 1 year and are staying at soooo many places and have NEVER been treated so rudely as this lousy place! We stayed there for 3 nights (and paid way too much for a room in Bolivia), then left our bags for 2 nights to go to Isla del Sol and had reservations for 3 more nights upon our return. They even told us the room number we would get, #18. When we returned, they said they were fully booked. They don't care if you have a reservation or not because all they care about is getting the rooms booked when they can. On the bright side, we found a room in town that was cleaner, had a better view, and provided internet that was more reliable for a fraction of the price (we were paying $38 per night for room number #11 at Los Olas and we paid only $9 at Colonial Hotel).

Room Tip: If you want a better value, go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#11 of 13 in Copacabana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utama
Hotel Utama
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Florencia
Hostal Florencia
#1 of 19 in Copacabana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Olas

Property: Las Olas
Address: Calle Michel Perez | Final, Copacabana, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear tourist, hostel "Las Olas" is placed on a hill side over looking lake Titicaca. From any of the seven suites you have a marvellous view over the bay and the lake. You have spacious gardens with hammocks and deck chairs on the different terraces leading down the hill side. On our grounds you can use a fire place and we have several stone tables and benches to eat outside to enjoy the views. For those who love plants and flowers, you will find an enormous variety of predominantly local species. All suites have been individually designed, using as many natural and local materials as possible and respecting traditional ways of construction. They provide a maximum comfort and you will find many artistic details for the eye. From your living room area, from your bed and almost from any point of your room you have a perfect view of the lake through the huge window fronts. Each suite is provided with a small kitchen unit, private bath an inside hammock and a fireplace. There is also a little electric heater for your use We do a big effort to work very ecological. The cabins are built with a complete heat insulation of polystyrene inside the roof, as well as in the walls below the facade. We preheat the water with big solar panels and than feed it into the electric boiler to guarantee very hot water 24 hours a day. We recycle all our washing machine water with an automatic sprinkler to wet our extensive gardens, and we also collect any plastic or glass bottle left behind to be recycled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Olas Copacabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing