We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!”
Review of Las Olas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copacabana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Olas
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Certificate of Excellence
Arequipa, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We managed to get two nights in the sun suite, it was gorgeous! We had a beautiful view over the lake which made it look far more stunning than it actually was. The little fire was such a nice touch so we could sit and watch the sun go down over the lake next to the fire. It was the most peaceful room we'd had in such a long time as well as really hot water whenever we needed it. The hammocks inside and out were a treat too. It was just such a lovely place to spend time and relax. It was also good to have a kitchette kitted out in natural wood with all of the utensils, oil, washing up liqued, kettle etc included. We even had hot water bottles incase we got cold! There was a gap ot two in the main door but we still felt toasty inside. It was well worth the but extra money! All of the rooms looked different and pretty special, I wished I could have stayed in all of them!

Room Tip: They all look good! Some are kitted out for bigger groups so if you're a couple and you have roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newtowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    70
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
50
289
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I emailed three times, no reply and then phoned only to be told no reservations available despite emailing three weeks in advance

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Myriamclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Very nice bungalow-apartments with the best view across Copacabana and Lake Titicaca! Enjoyed it! (and the climb up the hill is very much worth it! ;-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17toGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Arriving at the front of the place, at first I was worried that it was the wrong place as they were doing a lot of construction so the entrance way was a little disorganized. HOWEVER...after my boyfriend (who grew up in Bolivia) and I chatted with the workers and we climbed the stone steps (quite a few, so would not be feasible for guests who cannot climb stairs or for handicapped) and we were taken to our room...actually a seperate building for each room....i was blown away. The decorating was so fresh and relaxing and so peaceful. The place is on top of a hill that overlooks the town and the lake - so beautiful. It was clean, and had a kitchen and lots of utensils/pots. The bathroom was great and the shower had decent pressure and hot water. Yes, it did get cold at night - but thats just the climate! There is a wood stove and also a space heater, which was fine. I read other reviews about this place and there was one were people were complaining about the workers being lazy and not wanting to get firewood and how they were not at the desk every second of the day - well, from what WE observed, they were working very hard on improving the property and of course could not stay at the desk all day. And if you really needed wood and knew where to get some....then go get it yourself if needed. This is a beautiful place to stay and completely relaxing and I would go back in a heartbeat. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rukia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

If you are looking for a quiet escape, Las Olas is the place. We could hardly force ourselves to leave this beautifully designed apartment during our stay in Copacabana! Complete with a kitchenette and traditional andean stove to keep us warm (it gets chilly in the evenings!), we sat back and enjoyed the view of the amazing expanse of Lake Titicaca below us. Each apartment comes with its own outdoor hammock area, and there is a hot tub with a view that can be booked upon arrival! (regretfully it was out of operation during our stay there..). We highly recommend booking in advance - this place seems to fill up quickly!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daveandrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I thought this place was stunning. It has fantastic views over the lake. The rooms were beautiful and the staff were really friendly and helpful. We read all of the great reviews before booking and so we were especially looking forward to this place and we weren't let down. This is one of the best places we stayed on our travels and I would strongly advise anyone else to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuiceMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Amazing views! Amazing decor! Lonely Planet says that to say too much about this place would spoil it, so I'll stop there. We "splurged" and spent ~$35/night. One of the most expensive rooms in Copa, but the most fun place to stay ever! Short walk to the main street. The only downside I found is that you are kind of on your own, like no internet or lobby, if that's what you like. It's more like having your own quite apartment. It was not always easy to find someone, but they were very helpful when we did. The owners might have been away. No mind, though. La Cupula is right next door, and they can help you out. Oh, La Cupula's restaurant is overpriced, but convenient.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philly_opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utama
Hotel Utama
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perla del Lago
Perla del Lago
#6 of 13 in Copacabana
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Florencia
Hostal Florencia
#1 of 23 in Copacabana
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Olas

Property: Las Olas
Address: Calle Michel Perez | Final, Copacabana, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear tourist, hostel "Las Olas" is placed on a hill side over looking lake Titicaca. From any of the seven suites you have a marvellous view over the bay and the lake. You have spacious gardens with hammocks and deck chairs on the different terraces leading down the hill side. On our grounds you can use a fire place and we have several stone tables and benches to eat outside to enjoy the views. For those who love plants and flowers, you will find an enormous variety of predominantly local species. All suites have been individually designed, using as many natural and local materials as possible and respecting traditional ways of construction. They provide a maximum comfort and you will find many artistic details for the eye. From your living room area, from your bed and almost from any point of your room you have a perfect view of the lake through the huge window fronts. Each suite is provided with a small kitchen unit, private bath an inside hammock and a fireplace. There is also a little electric heater for your use We do a big effort to work very ecological. The cabins are built with a complete heat insulation of polystyrene inside the roof, as well as in the walls below the facade. We preheat the water with big solar panels and than feed it into the electric boiler to guarantee very hot water 24 hours a day. We recycle all our washing machine water with an automatic sprinkler to wet our extensive gardens, and we also collect any plastic or glass bottle left behind to be recycled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Olas Copacabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing