We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible and magic.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isla del Sol

Isla del Sol
Book In Advance
More Info
$562.25*
and up
Sun Island Full Day Tour from Puno
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Incredible and magic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I arrived on the island by the north, where they are concentrated some attractions like the museum and ruins.
After the guided tour, I was free to cross the island.
An incredible walk to the south side, where, during 3 hours, I was surrounded by the beauty of the landscapes and Lake Titicaca, and, alone, with all the way just for me. Incredible.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaque M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    980
    426
    172
    51
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We went for a full day tour. Wouldn't recommend to go there at all. So touristy. The boat trip there is ok but too slow. And once you get there there are no signs where to go or how to find the way. We got a [--] map from the hotel but was very confusing. A lot of other people had problems finding too. Didn't help that there was a toothless angry man forcing you to buy a ticket from him to pass (you need to buy 3 tickets a long the way). Just force your way pass him. You can buy tickets later from a none angry person.

Where the stops are there's a lot of kids hanging aroun you and they try to put there's hands down your pocket so be aware. We found it worse on the second stop, there's kids pulling you cause they want you to go to the restaurants.

So I was happier in copacabana then out there. Would not recommend it unless you like super touristy places

Helpful?
1 Thank Swede87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An excellent day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We took the day trip (you can stay on the Island) from Copacabana. The boat is not exactly fast so you get a could chance to enjoy the lake. The walk on the Island is

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canarytraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I would recommend the day long trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We only took the half day trip and although I enjoyed the boat ride and the visit to the Temple of the Sun I think the longer trip would have given us more time to get a better sense of the history.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChanteEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Simply breathtaking!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you are looking for a fabulous trekking and amazing scenery than this place is your spot. We did not expect it to be so amazingly beautiful at all. From all the places we have visited we could compare it to Olkhon Island on Lake Baikal in Siberia - so stunning.

You can stay on the Island in any of the 3 tribal communities, where accommodation is basic but your time will be very rewarding as you can contribute to their economy. They don't have much but are very kind and seem happy.

In terms of trekking there are two trails: lower and upper and we the distance from the North to the South of the island is around 8km. We have done them both and we can really say that both have their great spots but we more enjoyed the lower one. It leads you through the villages, fields while the upper one takes you to the top of the hills (above 4000m). You get the best views of Titicaca from the north tip so even if you can just visit Challampa (north) village it is fine.

check our blog fro more info and pictures: http://www.travelblog.org/South-America/Bolivia/La-Paz-Department/Lake-Titicaca/blog-760886.html

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BeataGabriela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla del Sol also viewed

Copacabana, La Paz Department
Copacabana, La Paz Department
 
Copacabana, La Paz Department
Copacabana, La Paz Department
 

Been to Isla del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing