We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and mostly bad points. Not worth the money they charge. View is best part.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Estelar del Titicaca
Ranked #3 of 13 Copacabana B&B and Inns
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good and mostly bad points. Not worth the money they charge. View is best part.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Big spacious rooms with balcony and decent shower room = plus

Not bothering to clean our rooms or give us new toilet roll until I eventually went downstairs to demand it was cleaned = minus

Tried to overcharge us on arrival and then brought price down as we were about to leave then also tried it on again when we bought tickets to isla del sol when we knew the price was less but we asked to go to the south of the island and ended up on a boat to the north = minus

Promised American buffet all you can eat breakfast. Got given some scrambled eggs, bread and fruit. I've been in Bolivia for a while now so used to poor breakfasts, but expect more if you pay a lot more = minus

Music from the bar downstairs also vibrates through the floor if you are on the first floor. We moved to floor 3 and was fine.

Oh yes, we felt that we got a better rate but if the guy who gave it to us wasn't there they would charge us the full rate, so we paid up front but asked for a receipt each time. They totally freak out when you do this. Weird.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
13
41
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal,Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After a day of cycling we arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon and it was like something out of a movie. The entire scene was picture perfect. The hotel itself was great with terrific views of the beach and waterfront. The rooms were clean and a good size with twin double beds. Plenty of hot water for the showers. A bar downstairs to buy a beer and sit back and enjoy the view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was no internet service available.
The buffet breakfast was quite ample.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesGinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived in Copacabana by bus and headed straight to the Lake to find accommodation. Immediately after arriving at the shore I saw this hotel and said "I want to stay there!" It has the best position on the lakeside. Each room has a balcony facing the sunset. The rooms have two double beds and are clean. En-suite showers are good. The location was absolutely perfect and for the price the hotel was superb. The downsides are: breakfast- reasonable but not great, loud music from the bar/cafe downstairs which I think is designed to draw people in but is actually unnecessary and off-putting. They do turn the music off at 10pm though. Also wifi was patchy. For the price and location this hotel is unbeatable in Copacabana. And you get to watch the swan pedaloes at dusk (or go on one- I know it sounds twee but it's worth it!)

Room Tip: the higher up the better and to the left hand side (facing the hotel) is less noisy as not directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We are retired world travelers on a budget. We rate budget hotels. Budget hotels do no necessarily have all the amenities of a regular hotel.

Hotel Estelar was a great find. Located right on lake Titicaca lakefront, near lots of restaurants and attractions, this budget hotel is hard beat for it's location. It was very clean, with big rooms, had a small balcony overlooking the lake, a restaurant on property, and a great view from all rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a breakfast included. It was the best budget hotel we've stayed at on our trip so far.

As all hotels in this price class, there is no heating, so you need to pile on the blankets. Internet is spotty, and hot water can be hit or miss in the morning. Never the less, it was a great bargain for the location and price.

The only downside for us old folks was that the restaurant plays loud music until the evening and the music drifted up to our room if we left the window open. It was not a major problem though.

Room Tip: all rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ish_Kabibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Perla del Lago
Perla del Lago
#6 of 13 in Copacabana
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Utama
Hotel Utama
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Florencia
Hostal Florencia
#1 of 23 in Copacabana
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estelar del Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estelar del Titicaca

Property: Hotel Estelar del Titicaca
Address: Av. Costanera, Copacabana, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Estelar del Titicaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing