We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel La Cupula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Cupula
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Although it can be tiring to walk up to after a long day out the views make it worthwhile. Overlooking Lake Titicaca with a nice garden with hammocks to chill out in. Rooms very nice and cleaned regularly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for a great view over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 768 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

Picked for the good reviews in Lonely Planet and on Trip Advisor and it deserves them all. The hostel sits on a hill overlooking the town and although this means a walk back from trips and shopping, it also means it is away from any unpleasant aromas (drains) that can be found in town. It is only a 5 minute walk into the centre or to the boat trips.

The hostel has gardens with seating areas that include deckchairs and colourful hammocks where guests can relax and read or just take in the views. There is also a small children’s play area.

It is possible to organise a reservation in advance but these are only held until 2pm. You can also turn up after 2pm and ask if there are any vacancies, like I did. I stayed in two rooms over 4 nights. They were both ensuite with good views, both had seating areas with two chairs and a table and more importantly they had electric heaters. Hot water bottles and extra blankets are also available and were used when I stayed. The rooms were cleaned daily. The bathroom was also very clean and well furnished with a good (not electric) shower.

The restaurant is open from 7.30am to 3pm and from 6pm to 10pm and has a comprehensive menu. Breakfast is not included but the range offered is great. Plus I loved the bread as it was not the basic white crusty rolls but was brown, soft and tasty.

Come here before anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I think it was the best place I could find in Copacabana. Original architecture (a bit Greek, I would even say), original location on the hill overlooking Titicaca lake, hammocks in the garden, a good restaurant, comfy rooms, a common room where you can take a tea at night and chat with other guests. If I remember well, the bathroom was shared but it was clean and always available, so it wasn't a big deal.

La Cupola has its own restaurant that gets busy at night and for a reason - the food is tasty and not to expensive.

I definetely advise everyone to spend a day in Copacabana. It is a total relax. You just lay down on the grass and watch the sparkles on the lake. And before the sunset you climb a hill and watch the sun goes down. The air is so cleen at this altitude and visibility is spectacular!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie_Pol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Great hot water and water pressure.
Very, very clean.
Cool rooms and architecture.
Great grounds to be lazy and relax in.
Wonderful restaurant that is priced reasonably with those in town.
Very attentive staff that really tried.
Our favorite hotel from our trip. We ran into other travelers who had been traveling for 6 months and they raved about la cupula too.

Note - if you try to pay w a credit card, there is a 5% extra charge. Also I think the restaurant is cash only.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendanKusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Nice spot on the hill overlooking town and lake. Great gardens to chill out in with hammocks and deck chairs. Rooms clean and comfy beds, heater in room, it can get pretty chilly at night here. Stayed in two different rooms, the second was nicer. There are a lot of different rooms here so some seem better than others..Nice staff..ate breakfast once in restaurant i"d say ok but we went down town. For $30 I think this is great value and a really good choice and Copacabana is a great place to visit for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

After a few nights in la Paz this place was just what we needed. As it was a public holiday we weren't able to secure las olas but instead managed to book this place through a travel agent in la Paz. Turns out its the same German owner who owns the place. This place is only 5 minutes walk from the bus drop off. We had a double room and it was by far the best place we have stayed in in Bolivia. The room was perfect and we even got given a small heater. The showers were hot and just outside we're some hammocks to chill in the sun. The views are spectacular too. We ended up eating at the hotel 2 nights in a row as the food was excellent. Ask reception for the hot spa as its an awesome way to see the sunset. The spa is located outside overlooking the bay. Very friendly German owner who was very helpful. Great place worth the 5 stars!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Josh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is one of the best hotels in Bolivia and its easy to see why. Great location and views overlooking the lake, clean bathrooms with steaming hot showers, and spacious hang-out areas. The staff at the hotel is extremely friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Cupula. Only crib is that they should include breakfast at the price they charge.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ashchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0 mi away
Las Olas
Las Olas
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#10 of 13 in Copacabana
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del lago
Hotel Paraiso del lago
#6 of 13 in Copacabana
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cupula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cupula

Address: Calle Michel Perez 1-3, Copacabana, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Price Range: $41 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Cupula 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to enjoy our 17 cosy rooms and suites with high quality beds and absolutely hot showers all day. Each room counts with an electric heater (free use!).The hostel provides 5 spacious gardens (3000 m2) with great views over the lake, equiped with hammocks, deck chairs and stone tables. A cosy living room with an extensive DVD colection, cable TV, as well as a fully equiped kitchen with free tea and Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Cupula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cupula Hotel
La Cupula Copacabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing