We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Cupula
Nearby Hotels
Las Olas(Copacabana)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mirador(Copacabana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveler rating
538
188
34
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
188
34
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla cupulathe ownerin townisla del solhot tubcommunal kitchencommon roomgreat kitchenshared bathroomon site restaurantoverlooking the bayloved this hotelgreat restaurantgreat viewfonduecopacabana bayfantastic stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 780 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2012

After a few nights in la Paz this place was just what we needed. As it was a public holiday we weren't able to secure las olas but instead managed to book this place through a travel agent in la Paz. Turns out its the same German owner who owns the place. This place is only 5 minutes walk from the bus drop off. We had a double room and it was by far the best place we have stayed in in Bolivia. The room was perfect and we even got given a small heater. The showers were hot and just outside we're some hammocks to chill in the sun. The views are spectacular too. We ended up eating at the hotel 2 nights in a row as the food was excellent. Ask reception for the hot spa as its an awesome way to see the sunset. The spa is located outside overlooking the bay. Very friendly German owner who was very helpful. Great place worth the 5 stars!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Josh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is one of the best hotels in Bolivia and its easy to see why. Great location and views overlooking the lake, clean bathrooms with steaming hot showers, and spacious hang-out areas. The staff at the hotel is extremely friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Cupula. Only crib is that they should include breakfast at the price they charge.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ashchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

In all honesty we only stayed here because we couldn't get in to Las Olas but straightaway we weren't disappointed.

We had a really cool room with double bed on a raised level with a view out over the lake. Amazing to wake up to.

Owner Martins is friendly and more than helpfu. the restaurant is really good and I'd recommend a visit even if you didn't end up staying here. Two words: Rainbow. Trout.

The only quibble would be that the shower is a little tempramental. Think Steve Martin in Planes Trains and Automobiles.

Also, Copacabana is cold. Especially at night. Don't be fooled by the pictures of glorious sunshine. Be prepared to dress as you would for a European winter. With this in mind, the rooms could be a bit better insulated, if not heated. Ask for extra blankets.

All in all, this is a great place to stay if a little more expensive than other places in town. And the fact that breakfast wasn't included in the price did grate a little.

Recommended, but a little work still to do to gain five stars. And it definitely is one of the best places to stay in town.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr0ct0pus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We arrived in Copacabana after 14+ hours on a bus from Unuyi. We emailed ahead but they told us they were booked, but we should stop by and check for any cancellations. We did and snagged an awesome room with panoramic views of the Lake. We booked two nights and left the property once, regrettably to book snother 10 hour bus trip to our next destination. The staff are very friendly, the restaurant is inexpensive and offers an innovative menu for breakfast and dinner, and the rooms are both very clean and attractive. Hands down we recommend you stay nowhere else in town!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheArcherFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

There's no doubt this is a lovely hotel/hostel - good value, great views, comfortable rooms and lots of nice touches like heaters in rooms,and a good lounge with DVD collection. But the reception staff really let this place down. We'd reserved a room by email which Juan replied would be held only until 2pm (crazy policy given how often transport in Bolivia is disrupted by strikes/roads/weather.) We wrote back saying as we were coming on 2 public buses from Sorata we wouldn't make 2pm. He replied that by 6pm was fine. We arrived at 3.30pm and they'd cancelled the reservation.. (they had a cheaper option available but it wasn't what we booked.) Guy at reception couldn't have cared less. We watched this happen to many other people during our stay. On the flip side, if you don't have a reservation, turn up at 2pm and you'll have your pick of rooms as they cancel bookings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - if you're travelling solo you'll pay less
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cess_stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews