We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Views, Great Kitchen, Free Movies, Relaxing Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Cupula

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copacabana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Cupula
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views, Great Kitchen, Free Movies, Relaxing Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This place had absolutely beautiful views from their hammocks / lawns on the side of the bay. There were occasionally animals grazing around the grounds. The room, bathroom, and sheets were all very clean. It was one of the few places we stayed in our 4 month journey that the sheets felt 100% fresh and clean.

The kitchen was fully equipped for cooking our own meals. There is a communal room with 50+ DVDs in various languages, instruments, and two kitties. I would love to go back! We lived like kings!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noodleztourelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    168
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
47
362
85
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Having read good reviews of the place, we were a little disappointed on several counts. The size of the room we got on the second level next to the restaurant was quite small, though it did fit in a double bed. The gardens with deck chairs and hammocks were so inviting, except that the surrounding properties were in various states of renovation and construction, and emitted quite bad smells. In fact on closer inspection, we saw a huge bucket of dung on a deserted property right in front of the main garden. The smell was so bad we could not stay in the front garden despite all its beauty. Lastly, the restaurant for all its rave reviews was not quite as good (we had pumpkin soup and grilled trucha) as the one we had for lunch along the main street down to the beach (dont remember the name but it had a front yard with bougainvilla flowers). There was wifi at the reception area but did not extend to all the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed here in early November. I had just come from Puno and wanted somewhere to relax for a couple of days. This was perfect for that.

Our room was nice. It had a little kitchenette off it. The bathroom was basic but clean.

The hotel has a great view over the town and the seafront. There are hammocks and seats outside to allow guests to relax in the sun. There is a kitchen and small common room for guests to use as well.

Negatives would be that the wifi was very unreliable and wasn´t working more often than it was working. Also the restaurant was disappointing. The breakfast was very average which surprised me after the reviews here. The coffee in particular was horrible. I would recommend having breakfast in town as it isn´t included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rovingrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
89 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had a fabulous stay here for 4 nights in September/October. When we booked the only free room was the suite (up the top inside the cupula) but it was a great price ($38 US per night) and comes with a little sitting room surrounded by glass and with a hammock and chairs so that you can sit out there all day looking at the lake. We rarely wanted to leave our room!

Service is very good- bathroom is always clean, toilet paper stocked, bed made. Laundry service is also good.

I wouldn't buy boat tickets through the hotel as we ended up on a boat that was far dodgier than the other ones going out to the island, then filled with water which we needed to stop and bail out as the boat was steadily sinking. The trip back was a bit better except we kept needing to wake up the driver. So don't buy tickets through the hotel ( company was United Marisco), buy at ther bay or through a travel agent and ask for a different company!

But for the hotel itself, we had no complaints/problems and loved our suite- we had difficulty getting the will to try to leave.

The restaurant is also fantastic, we never had a bad meal there. As some said, service is slow due to only one waiter. Price-wise we were surprised to go to the main street and find many of the places there were the same price or more expensive, but the food never quite as good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

The perfect place for Copacabana.

The owner Martin was absolutely lovely and couldn't have done more to help us out - advice and recommendations on where to go, bus tickets, boat tickets to the Isla del Sol. The rooms were absolutely lovely, we were lucky enough to get room 16, with outstanding views of the lake from the lounge in the suite of rooms. Beds super comfy and the entire place spotlessly clean.

The restaurant needs a big mention - absolutely great food and great prices for breakfast lunch and dinner. We never tired of eating here.

At first disappointed we didn't get into Las Olas, in the end we were very happy here (and our pockets much happier too!). We really loved it here and fullly recommend it.

Room Tip: Check out the room list on the website and email your choices, worth doing as there are some absolut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olideacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I ended up staying here longer than planned as I was ill. During this time the owner and manager were very accommodating and I'm glad I was staying in a peaceful place like this to recuperate. The views are incredible, there are plenty of gardens to relax in and the restaurant is really good quality. Highly recommended. Only one problem - ground floor rooms tend to pick up noise from rooms above so go for rooms on 1st floor if you can!

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DidiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We loved La Cupula, we stayed in a room with private bathroom and a great view (I think it was room 9?), and ended up staying for 6 nights! Made great use of the hammocks and the kitchen.

Only things missing were breakfast (not included, although I think you could buy it in the restaurant, but we just made our own in the kitchen), and wi-fi, although that just meant we switched off a bit more than usual :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonbonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Utama
Hotel Utama
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perla del Lago
Perla del Lago
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Estelar del Titicaca
Hotel Estelar del Titicaca
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cupula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cupula

Property: Hotel La Cupula
Address: Calle Michel Perez 1-3, Copacabana, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to enjoy our 17 cosy rooms and suites with high quality beds and absolutely hot showers all day. Each room counts with an electric heater (free use!).The hostel provides 5 spacious gardens (3000 m2) with great views over the lake, equiped with hammocks, deck chairs and stone tables. A cosy living room with an extensive DVD colection, cable TV, as well as a fully equiped kitchen with free tea and Coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Cupula Hotel
La Cupula Copacabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing