We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected disaster” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ecolodge Copacabana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ecolodge Copacabana
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We booked this place on the internet with the intention of spending 6 nights here as it was over Christmas and we wanted somewhere nice and relaxing to spend the festive season. When we arrived the woman working in reception was caring for 2 small children, we didnt take much notice as this is quite typical in cheaper hostels that we usually stay in. We were told the wifi code and that they had movies and beer available in reception. We thought this was great, exactly what we wanted for the next few days.

That evening we walked along the "very safe road" into the town and had dinner. We began walking back to the premises at 11pm. Luckily I had a pocket flashlight or otherwise we would have fallen into one of the many holes on the pitch dark dirt track that was the supposed "safe road".

After 20 minutes of a walk we arrived into the reception area to find the woman asleep on one of the sofas and her baby asleep on another (This I might add is the common area) so we said ok we would watch the movie tomorrow night and just surf the net in our room instead.

Unusually I couldnt seem to pick up the wifi which we were told worked everywhere, so I went back down to the reception to ask the woman what was happening. At this stage the woman was awake and when I asked her she responded "The interent is turned off from 11pm to 11am". I asked could she switch it on as the router was right beside her and she refused. I was a bit annoyed at this, as they had advertised wifi, but now she and the baby were awake we decided to watch a movie. This caused the woman to get very aggitated as perhaps she lives in the reception but whatever the reason she told us to "go to bed". We responded that we would be checking out the next morning as we expected a little better service for US$42 a night, she shrugged and just went back to her "bed".

The next morning when we went to pay for the one night we stayed, there were children screaming in the reception/common/staff sleeping area, I asked why they advertised alot of services they dont offer, she refused to answer. I asked her why she treated us like children, again she refused any response.

We left with a very sour taste in our mouth from her terrible service and manners and found a lovely room in the town for a third of the price that provided the friendly service that one normally encounters in Bolivia.

I would avoid this place unless you miss being bossed around by your mother.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We spent a night in this Ecolodge. The rooms are really nice with great views of the titicaca lake and the mountains. Dinner and breakfast buffet are included in the room rate and the food was really good. You should definitely have trout and quinoa soup.
Sun island is worth a visit at least once in a a lifetime. Peaceful and beautiful.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Milen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We ended up at this hotel since it was one of only two options we could find that we could reserve in advance online and we needed to have a print out of a confirmed reservation to help facilitate our visa process when crossing the border into Bolivia from Peru. Ecolodge sounded peaceful and nice and we had met other travelers that enjoyed their stay.

We were not disappointed…the grounds are beautiful, on the shores of Lake Titicaca about a 20 minute walk along a safe dirt road into the town. We had a nice private cabin with an interestingly dome-shaped adobe roof and roomy interior. Staff were super nice and helpful as well. There was breakfast included which was the typical café/tea and bread/jam but also eggs which was a nice treat. The downside to Ecolodge? No common areas and no restaurant on site (at the time at least), which meant that we were unable to easily meet/interact with other travelers staying at the lodge and also that we had to plan our meals so that we were prepared to walk or take a taxi into town to eat. There were no kitchen facilities on site for guests.

Frankly, although the place was lovely and comfortable, it just didn’t seem worth the money. We paid 280 Bolivianos for a night, equivalent to $42 which yes is still quite a bargain for what we would pay for a similar place back home, but not when compared to the other places in town. Our second night in Copacabana we moved to a huge hotel in a colonial building on the water (Chasqui del Oro) where we also had a private room and bathroom, breakfast included, and lake views, but we paid 100 Bolivianos less and we were only a 2 minute walk from town. At the end of the day, it really depends what type of atmosphere and amenities you are looking for.On a typical vacation this would have been more than great, but since my husband and I are on a long-term trip we felt it was a little out of our reach (in retrospect). I’m glad we spent a night at Ecolodge, but in the end, preferred to be closer to town (with the same views) for a much more economical price and more convenience in terms of dining options.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
146 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed 2 nights last weekend, small family-run cottages where everybody works to make sure you have an enjoyable stay, Bed was comfortable, room and bathroom were clean, area was quiet at night. Breakfast was one of the best so far on this trip. Transfers to/from bus station provided with prior notification. Wi fi and internet provided in reception. My only disappointment was cold room and cold water in handbasin, shower was warm but only lukewarm. Apparently all heating is solar of a type but does not work very well. But I imagine in summer one could have a brilliant stay. One reservation, it is quite an outside stone stairs climb to the cottages for older people so take that into account

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights and had a really lovely stay. The couple that manage it and their staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.

The room was lovely with a lake view. The gardens are very peaceful. The room was adequate, clean and the bathroom quite spacious and newly decorated. It was all very cosy and tastefuly decorated.

They have only been running the place for 20 days when we were there, so there are still some things that could be improved, but I'm sure they will be soon.

When they found out it was our honeymoon, they laid petals all over the bed in a heart shape which was really really sweet.

It is a 2k walk into town though and the road is not well lit, but perfectly safe I think. I know they are planning on building a restaurant soon. A taxi costs 15b, but can be hard to come by very late at night.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the place as a nice quiet place to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MrsONeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Excellent cottages on a hillside about 2 kilometers from Copacabana and right on the shore of Lake Titicaca. The breakfast was basic but more than adequate. The owner/manager was really helpful and generous and his staff were very accommodating

Room Tip: Take the car trip recommended by the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max8219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#11 of 13 in Copacabana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Utama
Hotel Utama
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.4 mi away
Perla del Lago
Perla del Lago
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecolodge Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecolodge Copacabana

Property: Ecolodge Copacabana
Address: Av Costanera s/n a orrillas del lago, Copacabana, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecolodge Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Ecolodge Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing