We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and nice”
Review of Hostal Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Sonia
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cheap and nice”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

his is my honest opinion of the place.
location: 12 min walk from the bus station - where you get drop off..
customer service: very helpful with travel agent to assist with tours.
cleanness: place was clean and tidy.
bathrooms: In own bathroom was clean but the hot showers are not that hot.
Bedroom: The private room was small but comfortable bed. No lockers...
extras: 1 computer as well as WIFI was fast and available everywhere.
Kitchen: very small and basic items to use.
Noisy: quite hostel
Breakout area: near the kitchen and front reception area.
Suggestions: bigger kitchen... hotter showers.

Room Tip: Not easy to find without an address, but great place. Get your own room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrOzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    63
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
10
66
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We paid 80Bs for a matrimonial room with private bathroom. The room was large with big windows and the bed was comfortable with enough blankets to keep us warm in the cold nights. The bathroom had water and an electrical shower with ok pressure and warm/hot water. For the money the room was good value for money in Copacabana.

As other reviewers have mentioned the staff are a little inconsistent and sometimes there is no one around to help you. The breakfast is not included but isn't expensive and is OK. The area with the tables where you eat breakfast is freezing cold though and is the only place where you can pick up the wifi. Also the wifi is a joke and either does not work or works so slow it makes it very annoying to use. Also the hostal is a little out of the town so you have to walk up a bit of a hill to get up to it which can be tiring at this altitude.

Overall this is an OK place but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

FIRST IMPRESSION: We were greeted by a child no older than 8 years old. When we asked an adult, we found most of them smoking weed outside. As the child told us it was 100 bolivianos for an ensuite triple, and we only planned on spending one night there (and that Lonely Planet had said it had been recently refurbished), we decided to give it a go.

STAFF: There was no consistency to the staff - one day we would be served by children, the next by a teenager who was more interested in his games console, then an old lady who kept trying to charge us for things we had bought at the shop next door (ie beer, toilet paper!)

DORMS: The leaflet at the entrance stated comfortable rooms with "very hot water". We arrived to a filthy room, full of cobwebs and spiders, with the sink not attached oh and VERY COLD water. We informed the woman but she was not interested.

BREAKFAST: Not included.

FACILITIES; Toilet roll never provided although advertised.

They advertise themselves as being a travel agency but in reality, all they did was hound you 5 seconds from walking in the door to use their service to go to Isla Del Sol. After about the third time of being approached to buy tickets fromthem (and saying no umpteen times!), it got very annoying. Especially when the main street charges a whole lot less.

Additionally, we used their laundry service, which they told us we had 5kg. I knew there wasnt 5Kg so when I asked them to reweigh it after it had been washed,it turned out only to be 3kg- wasnt impressed.

INTERNET: Never worked for the entirety of our stay.

OTHER; Unfortunately, during our stay I came down with a bad stomach bug which meant constantly running to the toilet every 5 mins to vomit. On the last night, the water in our room completely shut off which meant no flushing toilet, no water in sink and no shower. On each floor there are communal bathrooms but for some reason they were all padlocked?!?! I told the woman in the morning how this had been a really awful experience and not really acceptable (everyone elses water was fine!) but she just told me some [--] and bull story about French people who opened the water tap overnight and hence had messed up their water supply. Not even an apology.

Would you stay again? Not a cat in hells chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Copacabana hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The rooms are a touch on the shabby side, just need a good coat of paint. Beds great and good sleep quality, very clean. Shower was your typical electric on the head SA-style but it worked.
The staff are very friendly and can store your gear while you visit Isla Del Sol. There is a nice roof top for the sunset and kitchen is a bit spartan but it works!
Plenty of room to store a motorbike, if that's your thing!

Room Tip: top floor room 128 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markaschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent value for the money: 8 euro for matrimonial with bath and cable tv. Offer good breakfast which is not included (cost 1-2 euro). Offer tours to the island. Picked us up at the bus.
Room is nicely decorated and the bed was a bit too soft.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

+
The hot chocolate is with milk :-) (instead of water)
Fresh orange juice with the breakfast
Very friendly and helpful staff
Nice common area

+/-
Average beds
Electric shower

-
A little bit far from the centre/lake (in comparison to other hostels)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noratraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The room we had on the top floor had a great view over the lake and the roof terrace was a great place for glass of wine in the evenings. The room was spacious and sheets were clean, but the walls were peeling. Shower was hot and the bathroom was clean, but no lock on the door. Internet was very slow as it was a 3G router at the time of stay and the kitchen was poorly equipped with a sink that nearly always got blocked. The gas for the cooker also ran out and it took a while for it to get replaced. We ended up using our own camping stove to cook. Sonia was generally friendly, especially when she needed assistance with fixing the computer that died while we were there. Breakfast was basic, so better off preparing your own or eating somewhere else. It's a good budget option as we stayed there for two weeks to save cash, but make sure you get discount as we did if you plan to stay for a longer period of time.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Barker_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#11 of 13 in Copacabana
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Florencia
Hostal Florencia
#1 of 22 in Copacabana
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa del Sol
Hostal Casa del Sol
#3 of 22 in Copacabana
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sonia

Property: Hostal Sonia
Address: Murillo # 256, Copacabana, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sonia Hotel Copacabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing