We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic and cheap” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Sonia
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Basic and cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hostel Sonia has serious potential. There is a big communal space, the rooms are spacious and it's cheap. Nevertheless at this time the hostel is far from spectacular. Hot shower seems to be an alien concept. The morning after waking up, there was no running water at all in our room. There seems to be no staff except for Sonia and her family / children, so there is nobody at the front most off the time. We left our luggage in the luggage room and picked it up without anyone noticing. This also seems to be one of the only hostel without working wifi.

If you're looking for a cheap stay, with good beds and that's it, this is your place.

We paid 80b for a double room with private bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    60
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
9
63
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Konstanz, Alemania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Hostel is about ten walking minutes from the plaza. The service is really good! As soon as you get in you are attended to. We had a 2persons room with private bathroom. The room doesn´t have any specials but you have everything you need, towels included! . The Hostel has a special room for luggage which is locked all the time and it is absolutely no probleme to leave your luggage there for some days while going for a trip to the Isla del Sol. They have a terrace on the roof with an amazing view on the Lake Titicaca!
We paid 20 bolivianos per person for the room and 10 soles per person for the breakfast. It is a basic breakfast with toast, jam and coffee or tea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Mariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice hostel with clean and big rooms with tv. It also has a nice roof terrace with a view on Lake Titicaca. The service is ok, but not special. We could store our backpacks for free when leaving for Isla del Sol. Don't buy your tickets in the hostel, because they are expensive and the same as the other agencies.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mephistofiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hostal costs 80bs for a double room for a night. It has a lovely view of the lake and is close to the plaza. Our room had a private bathroom and a TV. The bed was really comfy and the shower hot.

The staff at the front desk were really nice and helpful. I am not entirely sure that they speak English though as we spoke to them in Spanish first so they went along with it. You can buy breakfast for 15bs. There is also wi fi and a fast laundry service.

The negatives: paint peeling on the walls and bathroom door didn´t shut. But these are only very small things and for 80bs a night I would not let them worry you!

Room Tip: The third floor is worth it for the view, just take the stairs slow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani-Elizabeth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in November 2012. It was the cheapest place we stayed in our month in Bolivia at 80 Bolivianos a night for a matrimonial room. We had a great view of the lake, which made the three flights of stairs worthwhile. The room itself was a bit shabby with peeling paint and a bathroom door that wouldn't stay shut. We got hot water in the shower if we played around with the taps enough, but never from the wash basin tap.

The toilet flush was rubbish and just didn't do its job. In the end we resorted to pouring three bottles of tap water down there simultaneously to flush it. Also, I know it's a hostel, not a hotel, but it would be nice if they could pop in and empty your bin if you're staying for multiple nights.

The TV had a good range of channels and the wifi worked well in the downstairs area. It's in a handy location for the main square. A bit of an uphill trek from the lakefront. The staff are quite friendly but do try to sell you bus and boat tickets quite a lot. The roof terrace has great views and is a nice place to hang out even though they don't seem to have made much effort with it.

It was fairly quiet most nights while we were there, although the Saturday night was quite noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hostel Sonia is across from Hostel Emperador, Just out of the main part of town behind the cathedral They have private rooms, hot water, clean sheets and a shared kitchen and common room. But don't eat the food,... better go to a restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reedearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Fairly decent option, away from the centre of town and the circus that goes with that. The rooms ok, kitchen, communal area etc etc. The people there were quite friendly too and helpful, and the rooms had tv.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#11 of 13 in Copacabana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Florencia
Hostal Florencia
#1 of 19 in Copacabana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olas del titicaca
Olas del titicaca
#3 of 19 in Copacabana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Utama
Hotel Utama
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sonia

Property: Hostal Sonia
Address: Murillo # 256, Copacabana, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sonia Hotel Copacabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing