We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad except the shower... Be careful!”
Review of Hotel Wendy Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Wendy Mar
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Had booked this last minute the night before because we didn't really know many places around and this was one of the top rated options that still had availability.

Room was basic and we paid 33 usd for it... Beds were okay but terrible pillows. Bathroom very tiny - in order to sit on the toilet you have to squeeze around the shower because it is so tight. Shower was a little confusing... At first we couldn't get the hot water to work so we asked for assistance and he switched something on top of the shower head (there are 2 switches with  thermometer on it to adjust temp. But just couldn't figure it out) anyways help came and water was hot... Too hot... Tried to adjust it but ended up getting an electrical shock from it. Not very good... So make sure you either use a towel or completely dry off your hand before using the tap.

There was a tv in the room which worked and had a few English stations. We then went to isla del sol for the day/night so they stored our bags no problem. Everything else was fine so just be careful in the shower for the most part...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eveee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 116 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

Hi,
I stayed one night because I new the place and liked it. But the staff is so unfriendly!!! The person in charge Alfredo is an awful person. They should put someone with better sense of a client! Is is a pity because the place is a good quality-price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bolivianstore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Straight off the bus and into the hotel.
Fine for the price. Breakfast was poor, but edible.
Get a high room facing the lake, away from the street.
Hot water, heating, tv, and comfortable, clean beds.
All you need for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makadalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

80Bs for a double room with a private bathroom NOT including breakfast.

I thought this hotel was brand new when I arrived because everything looked so clean, shiny and not used. I was expecting it to be the price of a normal hotel and as I'm backpacking I didn't think I would be able to stay there. But when the staff member told me the price I thought it was a great bargain.

The positives:

- A good location. It's right next to where the buses drop people off. It's close to the main plaza but not close enough for the noise to bother you. There are a few shops next door too.
- The room was really clean. The bedding looked new and there were about 3 blankets on the bed. There was also bedside tables with lamps.
- The bathroom was also clean and looked brand new. The shower is a typical South-American electric shower, but it did get hot. (If you don't know what a typical South American electric shower is check this blog out... http://nicolafletcher.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/65-63-days-an-electric-shocking-shower/ )
- There was a TV with cable which had a few English speaking channels.
- The room had a large window which looked out towards Lake Titicaca. This was great as it let a lot of natural light into the room.

The negatives:

- There is no wifi. There is one computer but whilst I was there it didn't work.
- There is a downstairs living room BUT it never felt like I could go and sit in there because the family who run the hotel are in there all the time.
- The room is quite cold, I had to ask for another blanket. But I think everywhere in Copacabana would be cold as Copacabana is freezing!
- You have to pay extra if you would like breakfast (10Bs per person). I paid for breakfast once before a trip to Isla Del Sol, you got toast (yes real hot toasted bread) with butter, jam, a yoghurt, juice and a hot drink.

Overall I would definitely recommend Wendy Marr. It has obviously been improved a lot since the last people reviewed it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

I travelled all over Peru, Bolivia and Chile with my 2 best friends and would never have expected to have such a great time that I would have gladly stayed out in South America for another 3 months.
So I can voucher for the Hotel Wendy Mar in Copacabana and say that not only were the staff extremely helpful but the hotel was clean, had great beds, provided a fresh breakfast and us girls had a great hot shower!!...anyone that travels around South America I think would understand that a great shower is not so easy to find...BUT we luckily found one! :)
We stayed for 3 days at Hotel Wendy Mar where we got to see the Festival of the Virgin Mary which was beautiful - the Bolivians know how to party for 3 days straight with the vast amount of people dancing in their traditional costumes and live bands – it was amazing.
Definitely would love to go back next year and would recommend Hotel Wendy Mar to anyone.
Hope this helps...enjoy your travels!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CulturalKick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Sterile room and very unfriendly staff.

Not only did the shower not have hot water but we were blamed for not operating it properly... and we were then accused of breaking the toilet. To allow us to escape we begrudgingly paid 70 Bolivianos.

The ´cheap´rates explain the poor quality facilities and the hostile staff.

1  Thank orj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: peça um quarto com vista para o lago, vai valer muito a pena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thais R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#11 of 13 in Copacabana
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Cupula
Hotel La Cupula
#2 of 13 in Copacabana
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del lago
Hotel Paraiso del lago
#6 of 13 in Copacabana
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Utama
Hotel Utama
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wendy Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wendy Mar

Address: Avenida 16 de Julio s/n, Copacabana, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Price Range: $27 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wendy Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel service to you, has rooms overlooking the lake Titicaca, we have double, double, triple and quadruple rooms, all with private bathrooms and Wi Fi, includes buffet breakfast, We are located at cudra half stop of bueses (Av. July 16) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Wendy Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing