We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good vibe at this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Utama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Utama
Ranked #1 of 13 Copacabana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
293 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good vibe at this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed here last year and enjoyed my stay. Good breakfast, free coffee, clean rooms. My shower didnt work properly at first but this was fixed when i mentioned it. Cant remember the rate but i think it was good value

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qualitywork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    172
    63
    12
    7
See reviews for
15
177
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Hotel is well located in a quiet area. They came to pick us up at the bus station.

Rooms are really clean and hot water was working fine. And they are warm as well !

Breakfast was great and big which is good for those who are going early at Isla del Sol.

Staff is helpful and pro.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimimundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is one of my favourite budget hotels because: 
1) Rooms are spacious with a great view of the lake 
2) The breakfast is the best we have had in Bolivia.   You get cereal, bread rolls, fruit, pancakes, scrambled egg with ham and cheese and tea/ coffee. We have stayed in more expensive places and had awful breakfasts. 
3) There are free bananas, tea and sweets in the hotel reception. 
4) The staff are nice. 
5) You can borrow a heater for the evening, again something we have not had anywhere in Bolivia.  It is nice to feel warm, for once, going to bed! 
6) They will store your bags if you go to Isla del Sol.
7) They offer a pick up from the bus station even though it is a short walk. 
8) There is wifi but the only minor drawback of this hotel is that you have to pay for it. 

Stay here! 

Room Tip: The second floor at the front has a good view, request room 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sineadceinwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Our family stayed here 1 night, just passing through from La Paz to Puno. The hotel staff were so helpful! They helped us book a tour of "Island of the Sun", they even dropped us off and picked us up from the boat. Very close to downtown, hearty breakfast with pancakes, yogurt, cereal, eggs, juice and fruit. Wifi was not working, they had a computer room you could use, but for about $25usd I still thought it was a good deal. The rooms are average, nothing special, but the staff were so helpful.... I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Central location, clean comfortable rooms, good breakfast, friendly helpful staff, free pick up, great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

i think this place is under rated.

its very comfortable, spacious rooms with a TV, hot but finicky showers, a super delicious and hearty breakfast, and a close walk from the bus station. they also come pick and drop you if you request them earlier and clean the room everyday.

would totally recommend, in fact for $25 a night, incl breakfast, its a steal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rasi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

At $US 25 a night the Utama was good value, with comfortable and very clean rooms, helpful owners and a substantial breakfast and all-day snacks included. The rooms are crazy-kitsch, with hat lamps, murals and strange bedcovers, but we quite liked that too! The only drawbacks for us was the slightly low emphasis on security (they did sit where they could see everyone come and go, but the luggage store was also left open much of the time and our key was left in our door for half an hour while cleaners came and went), and the internet - we don't mind crappy wifi and we don't mind paying for wifi, but we do object to paying for crappy wifi. Still, overall great value, lovely people and a nice base for Copacabana.

Room Tip: Some rooms have ocean views! Also, emphasise non-smoking : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliie_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Perla del Lago
Perla del Lago
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Florencia
Hostal Florencia
#1 of 19 in Copacabana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ecolodge Copacabana
Ecolodge Copacabana
#5 of 19 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utama

Property: Hotel Utama
Address: Calle Michell Perez esq. San Antonio s/n, Copacabana, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Utama 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has rooms overlooking Lake Titicaca, (clean and safe)all rooms have private bathroom (hot water all day) and American breakfast.The hotel aims to make guests feel at home, with friendly servicewe have free transfer to and from the bus station with advance booking.we also offer a general tourist information,we have free parking, telephone booths available, and laundry service.we offered you free fruit, coca tea, and sweets all day in the loby,(free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Utama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing