We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay and people...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Aranjuez Cochabamba
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Cochabamba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing stay and people...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hotel Aranjuez in Cochabamba for 3 nights. We met a build team from our church here (they stay here every year). What a charming, great place to stay.

The rooms are clean, there are gardens/patios all over the hotel for you to sit and enjoy, a cozy pool, and the people (Jose, the owner and his staff) are nothing short of wonderful and accommodating! Showers are great. No A/C but there are fans which is all you need.

The building is an old mansion with tons of hardwood floors, colonial furniture, area rugs, old rounded top doors etc. The vibe here is relaxing and charming and you really feel like you are home when here.

Hotel provides wi-fi (I found I had a better signal in the lobby or one of the lounging areas than in my room) for free. You can do currency exchange there as well.

The restaurant isn't too bad. From my understanding most items are 'safe' to eat, but use general travel guidelines to ensure you don't get sick (this statement is not against the hotel, merely a travel note in general that would apply anywhere in Bolivia or any other third world type of country). I never ate any of the fruit (unless you can peel it yourself), no vegetables (although if they were boiled, they 'should' be okay). You'll eat lots of meat and the Bolivian's love their meat! Of course they have bottled water, Fanta, Coke etc. The Coca Tea is nice (slightly different flavor than a green tea and may help you with altitude or tummy issues). Coffee is rich and thick (pour a little in your mug and thin it out with the hot water available and/or hot milk)

Service, if off regular meal times can be slow. You may have to hunt down somebody at the restaurant to get their attention that you want a drink or something. A minor inconvenience, but I mention it to only try to be thorough.

The many lounge areas are nice too, to sit an enjoy a chat or drink. In the mid afternoon (about 2pm on) are great times to lounge on their many patios. The birds frequent the fountains, the lush gardens/greenery are well manicured and very peaceful to be around.

Other staff such as Ricky (bellman) and Manuel (night security) are wonderful people. Jose or any of the staff are always willing to arrange a taxi for you and provide them with any specific instructions to ensure your safety (i.e, pick us up at hotel, take us somewhere, wait for us, then bring us back to hotel). Jose, Ricky, and at least two others behind the front desk speak english to communicate well.

This was my first time to Bolivia and I'm hoping it won't be my last. And when I return, I WILL be staying here again.

NOTE: There are massage facilities I believe. I did not use those so I did not rate it, however, I have heard through others that it is good and good value.
Also, I agree with another poster here, that check-out can be a little crazy as it is a manual process.

Room Tip: First or second floor are good. Nothing against the third floor, but if you're not used to the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renedef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    58
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
47
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I think this is one of the best hotels in Cochabamba! We had excellent service, excellent food, and a pretty cool venue built in 1923. It has so much character. The barking dogs were a nuisance each night, but hey - this is Bolivia! Everyone has a barking dog to deter intruders! The hotel is located in a safe neighbourhood on a quiet street. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My stay at this hotel was initially only for three nights but I soon extended my stay to six. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel very much. It is a quite oasis in an otherwise quite busy city. Staff were fantastic, really helpful and going out of their way to make hotel guests happy, in particular waiter Ricardo who serves a very nice breakfast, prepares omelettes etc.
The hotel is a colonial building and one small minus is that much of the interior (in particular in the room) seems a bit carelessly chosen (laminate floor instead of tiles, very strange curtains and also in the bathroom you can tell that quite cheap armatures were chosen). More of an interior design issue really than a comfort one and didn´t spoil my stay here.
The location is in a rather quiet street a bit of a walk from the city centre. In the vicinity, you can find a number of nice cafés and everywhere else in Cochabamba is a short taxi drive away.
This is probably the best hotel you can find in a city where there are not many great hotels. I would definitely come back and if it was just to spend a few tranquil hours in the beautiful hotel garden!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São José do Rio Prêto, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

And actually it is the only hotel in Cochabamba with a cool pool. Breakfast is good but could be better. Plants and flowers all over the gardens are just amazing, you could walk through the hotel, hear the birds and breath the fresh air with a nice sound of water... spectacular.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ernestoloredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caslano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The setting is romantic and reminiscent of older times. The hotel has renovated rooms and invested in a WIFI network accesible in most rooms, free of charge. If you are traveling in a group: watch out! Settle your bills the night before because all account movements are done by hand, and the billing process is cumbersome and lenghty due to strict VAT controls. The hotel would gain by modernizing the front office as well.

Room Tip: Ask at the receptoin whether the room in question is within the WIFI range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernst Schaltegg... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

staff is wonderful and many speak VERY good English. Location very good. Wonderful pizza just a block away if you need a break from the wonderful local dishes. Pool is nice but the shade comes quickly and cools off - but hey, this is their winter! See about room 105 with the balcony. Lovely. Food was very good although we only had one lunch here and of course breakfast but always fresh. I know others said it was dated...our room was very nice -- maybe we lucked out 107. Loved the large closets so we could actually unpack! They did our laundry for us -- returned same day and price was reasonable. Very glad we did that vs. trying to take it down the street ourselves. They did a great job. We had been doing off road traveling so getting our clothes cleaned was not the easiest thing to do! I would stay here again. Banks close by, several restaurants, don't miss the Mansion and Natural Museum. Both very good. I got my nails done but I can't remember the name -- but they did a great job. All within walking distance - nail shop was over where the ATM machines are -- if that helps! $4 US!!! Just saying - you're in a great area.

Room Tip: two very good gyms are within a block of the hotel. My husband used them everyday and he's a wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMWgirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

First things first, the staff here is beyond fantastic and everyone from the receptionist to the housekeeping staff will do all they can to make your stay in Cochabamba enjoyable.
The building is a huge, beautiful structure that seems to go on forever, yet somewhat resembles the hotel in the Shinning.
The problem is that it's a bit dated and could seriously use a renovation. The rooms are all a bit old and have TVs from the 90's. Also there's dogs in the neighborhood who love to bark all night long that will keep you from sleeping.
Despite it being a bit dated, I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cochabamba hotels
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Cochabamba
Gran Hotel Cochabamba
#1 of 26 in Cochabamba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Tua Casa Hotel Boutique
La Tua Casa Hotel Boutique
#4 of 26 in Cochabamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.0 mi away
Violetta's Apart Hotel
Violetta's Apart Hotel
#2 of 26 in Cochabamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Camino Plaza Hotel
Camino Plaza Hotel
#7 of 26 in Cochabamba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Regina Resort & Convenciones
0.7 mi away
Hotel Toloma Gran
Hotel Toloma Gran
#21 of 26 in Cochabamba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranjuez Cochabamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranjuez Cochabamba

Property: Hotel Aranjuez Cochabamba
Address: Calle Buenos Aires E 563 | casi Avenida America y Avenida Potosí, Cochabamba BO, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Cochabamba Department > Cochabamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cochabamba
#2 Spa Hotel in Cochabamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Aranjuez Cochabamba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful exclusive Mediterranean style, one of the nicest hotels in Bolivia with a very friendly service. Highly recommended by visitors. Elegant renovated areas and rooms, beautiful gardens and terraces, renovated swimming pool area, excellent restaurant with Bolivian and international dishes, bar/lounge, gourmet coffee, free broadband Internet service all over the hotel. With 30 comfortable and spacious rooms, fitted with extra-long beds, a minibar, high speed WiFi, a 43" flat-screen TV with cable channels, a private bathroom and a garden and pool view. The hotel has been awarded 4 stars. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area near restaurants and museums, not far from the center (approx. 2.5 km). The reception is manned around the clock and offers a wake-up service. Use the hotel's secure parking spaces. The hotel provides high speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas (WLAN and WiFi). If you have any valuables for safekeeping, please contact reception or use the safe in your room. Children are welcome! There is a play area and gardens, we will also gladly place a cot in your room (please ask at time of reservation). Free hotel parking is available for your car. You can hire a car direct from the hotel during your stay. Our room service team will be happy to meet your every wish. The business suites provide all the comforts business people can expect. For your well being the bathroom includes a hairdryer and bathrobe. Your room has a 43" flat-screen TV with cable channels and a telephone, all local calls are free. Enjoy the well-stocked minibar during your stay. If you wish to have a room with a balcony please indicate this when booking. The hotel also has non-smoking rooms (please specify that you require such a room when making your reservation). Inquire after our massage and treatment options. Relax in the heated swimming pool and forget the chaos of the day. Sporty guests can take advantage of the fitness club near the hotel. The hotel's open-air swimming pool is a great location for you to prove your stamina and keep fit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aranjuez Cochabamba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Cochabamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing