We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was ok but...”
Review of La Cantonata

La Cantonata
Ranked #4 of 269 Restaurants in Cochabamba
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small, inviting and cozy restaurant with more than 30 years of experience. Our speciality is a delicate american- italian fusion cuisine. We do not have a traditional italian taste, but you will be sure to find a well balanced homemade pasta carefully combined with fresh bolivian produce.
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

Was ok but the price and look of the place would lead you to believe it is better than it is. Large wine menu, but no Italian wines. No risottos whatsoever. Gnocchi was ok. Tiramisu was blatantly frozen due to how wet/watery it was, was not a large size and priced at £3. Way over-priced. Hard to take it seriously as an Italian restaurant. Service was good. Menu and food quality need improvements.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
685FernandoC, Propietario at La Cantonata, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019
Google Translation

Otra vez lo mismo, NO ES UN RESTAURANT ITALIANO, es comida ÍTALO-AMERICANA, adaptada a los ingredientes que existen en Bolivia, el risotto no me gusta y por eso no lo pongo en mi menú.
Se queja por el precio de un postre, el plato que comió, cuesta 9 $us... Se imagina cuanto le dolería pagar un buen vino Italiano?
Sea serio al hacer una crítica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 276 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2019

Nothing much was open on Fat Tuesday, so we stopped in at a place that looked a little out of our price range. Glad we did. La Cantonata has been in business for thirty years for a reason. In addition to providing really high quality food at what ended up being a reasonable price, it also offers genuine and skilled service, and it very welcoming for kids--featuring a multi-activity placemat/kids' menu. The food was very good, the service wonderful, and the experience terrific.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robotboy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

We had an awesome dinner here. The food was superb and the atmosphere was great. Good attentive waiters! We will be going back.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank sarahmC1017XK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019

I think one of the reasons this restaurant is held in such high regard is that the quality of Italian food in Cochabamba is on the whole pretty poor.

The food is nothing to write home about and it is pretty hard to get to.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EBB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately only average food and service. In Bolivia I ate lot better for a lot of fewer money. The wine selection was astitut.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank doctorvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando C, Propietario at La Cantonata, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018
Google Translation

Lucky you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantonata also viewed

Cochabamba, Cochabamba Department
Cochabamba, Cochabamba Department
 
Cochabamba, Cochabamba Department
Cochabamba, Cochabamba Department
 
Cochabamba, Cochabamba Department
Cochabamba, Cochabamba Department
 

Been to La Cantonata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing