We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent campus, beautiful property, bad maintenance”
Review of Benin Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Benin Marina Hotel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Cotonou
KL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent campus, beautiful property, bad maintenance”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent and very large property, lovely and beautiful. Bad maintenance. Breakfast is okay, other time food can improve. Reception services are 3 star standard, okay. Lobby is large and very specious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    50
    29
    13
See reviews for
8
7
17
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This review is from a point of view of someone whose bill was paid by an organization, so i am not privy to price details.
However on the service, we went as a large group and i can say that holding events/meetings in this hotel is not a bad deal. During our events, the meal was good, the venue was appropriate and everything went on smoothly.

Adding my personal experience, I would say: the staff are friendly, polite and ready to help. The view to the ocean is great, you could do early morning walks to clear your head, the pool good.

About Cotonou: Please change the currency you will want to use at approved bureau agencies, banks atm often time do not work and they accept mostly visa and not mastercard, let down your guards a bit to have fun, the benin people are too easy going to want to de-fraud you, but pls half all prices before purchase.... so thats confusing right?
The drivers are patient, the town itself is a great place to be.
Top up your geopgraphy knowledge: Benin has 4 capital: A political capital (Porto Novo), A spiritual capital (Ouidah), A commercial capital (Cotonou) and A historical capital (Abomey).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbs4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just completed a one week stay on business. Never again. Ibis or Novotel. In a nutshell, this place looks nice and grand from the street or the lobby, but the rooms are tired and in need of napalm. Mattress was about as good as my kids have at summer camp, pillows appeared to be just cases packed with towels, bathroom lighting didnt function [wasnt repaired despite repeated requests], maid is generous with ONE bath towel. NO GYM. The worst kicker- the shower went DRY three mornings in a row as I was soaped up. Didn't return for almost 45 mins., I guess the place can't support many guests using the water. The only pluses I can cite are: great internet and cheap coconut oil massages by very friendly ladies in the basement. Basically, there has to be a better for room in Cotonou for $150....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JetLagger121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cotonou hotels

Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Well where should I start ? The view on the pool and sea was great, and thank God, there was no carpeting in the room.These are the only positive things I can say about my Benin Marina hotel experience. I am never going to that my place again because: Walls are thin and I could hear everything that was going on in the room next door: it fell like the client from that room was staying in mine: TV, conversations, telephone ringing, walking in the room shower etc. The room did not look clean and was not clean: dusty curtains with undefined items plastered on it, walls were stained, the door seemed ancient and the chain was definitely rusty. Mold in the bathroom. And a plastic bag underneath my bed left I presume by the previous occupant. Wi-FI is only available in the hall of the hotel. This was a disastrous experience and the hotel is truly a 1 star hotel. I understand they had started renovation. Anyway, I am definitely done with this one.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Voyageur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

There are not too many 5-star hotels in Africa. However, this one was not bad. I stayed on the 3rd floor and I had a decent room. Internet was available but Wi-Fi was available only in the lobby. I ordered room service with quick arrival and had a very good meal. It was the rainy season and my room was next to the generator which was noisy intermittently. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Outlaw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you expect that this large hotel (ex-Sheraton) will offer services like similar hotels from Europe, North America, big cities of Latina America or any "really" resort, you will be dissapointed.
If you expect a physical large hotel with basic infrastructure, you will be glad.
Don't stay at the third floor, specially during rainny season (mai to july).
Generally the halls and even the rooms don't smell good, but it is not a big obstacle for a overnight.
The breakfast is fine but has the same menu all morning...the restaurant on the swimming pool is weak, not bad, but not big deal.
The "boîte" smells even worse, it is located at a subfloor...
The swimming pool is fine.
The hotel has a good (the only one...) localization in the city, close to airport, to port (if business), to Erevan store.
If you go to the beach in front of the hotel, be ready for some unpleasant aspects...if you are a "foreigner", don't go alone and don't carry stuffs...the water is fine but the sand is not clean...sometimes there are naked men "cleanning" themselves on the water, from "physical needs" they did on the sand. Not too many, but, there are...
If you want to go the beaches, take the Quidah (Casa del Papa hotel) direction (opposite to Nigeria direction).
If you are not used to drive in cities like that, take a driver, because the traffic is crazy.

Room Tip: I have said above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMuniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel looks very old by now, it needs renovation! Service is not the worst in Benin - but that does not mean good. The front desk staff has a few friendly individuals amongst them. The outside bar staff are extremely slow and seems to deliberately attempt to ignore you.

I had a room on first floor. Very poor condition. TV was not working, two lamps did not work, AC does not work well (never really gets close to 21 celsius). The cleaning seemed to be alright, but many old stains etc left the impression room was dirty.

Room Tip: Get ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martinwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cotonou hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Cotonou
Ibis Cotonou
#5 of 23 in Cotonou
188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Benin Royal Hotel
Benin Royal Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cotonou
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Rouge Cotonou
Maison Rouge Cotonou
#1 of 23 in Cotonou
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Azalai Hotel De La Plage
Azalai Hotel De La Plage
#10 of 23 in Cotonou
74 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Nobila Airport Hotel
1.6 mi away
Sun Beach Hotel
Sun Beach Hotel
#13 of 23 in Cotonou
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benin Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benin Marina Hotel

Property: Benin Marina Hotel
Address: Boulevard de la Marina, Cotonou BP 1901, Benin (Formerly Benin Sheraton)
Location: Benin > Littoral Department > Cotonou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cotonou
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cotonou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Benin Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benin Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benin Marina Cotonou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing