We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic dining!”
Review of Shamiana

Shamiana
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Cotonou
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: one of about two Indian restaurants in Cotonou... past a Ministry/government building
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Went out to dinner with friends/colleagues and it was fantastic. The owner (or maybe manager?) came out and explained dishes, made recommendations and talked with us, in English for those who didn't speak French. The food came out and it was plentiful - we got multiple appetizers to share and then our own main meal - and the cost was quite reasonable. One of my colleagues who lives in Cotonou, said he can never remember what he has gotten in the past and the name of what he gets, but it doesn't matter because no matter what he orders it is always really good. I second that - I have no idea the names of what I ate, but get anything, because it's going to be awesome.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank philsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food in benin”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Excellent food, try there malai kofta , really awesome,
Good service
Good Food
Not so expensive
Server Alcoholic and Non Alcoholic Beverages
Hygienic

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GALANVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

There are very few Indian restaurant in Cotonou and Shamiana is one of the good restaurant.You will get cheap good quality Indian foods here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pranayakul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service...and a smile”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our dinner at Shamiana was a good experience. The food is delicious, you can choose how spicy it will be, the service is very good and the owner is really courteus. We'll be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgiansNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best place for Indian food in Benin”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Well, they serve Indian food which you'll surely love. Foods are spicy (of course, but you can customize the spice hot on a scale from 5-10...10 will just burn you!). Almost all authentic Indian foods are available here. A bit pricey compared to other local restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaushikz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamiana also viewed

Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 
Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 
Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 

Been to Shamiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing