We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice ambiance, though somewhat hot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pili Pili

Pili Pili
Ranked #10 of 72 Restaurants in Cotonou
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, though somewhat hot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pili pili is great for grilled meats and local dishes. The legume sauce is nice, and the grilled fresh fish is nice too. You probably burn as many calories trying to pry the meat from the Poulet Bicyclette, but that's a general comment rather than anything about Pili Pili in particular.

It can get rather hot under the thatched roof, but in the rain it is great. It is also fairly slow; an hour lunch will probably not be long enough. Good thing lunch hour in Benin is 2!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    41
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Just fabuolous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is the restaurant local middle class is visiting, so it is not a tourist trap at all. We read about this restaurant in our guide book and never realized this place was first on tripadvisor!!!

And this is very well deserved first place I must admit: friendly stuff, marvelous food (which is very authentic!). The only problem is they don't do large Yuki (but hey, the place is truly excellent).

Hint for others: It is closed 1-2 January, so we could not have our Benin farewell dinner there, and had to go to the other place which was way worse and pricier than Pili-Pili.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexsas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
1 review
“roast chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

the chicken taste nice!
the fitment is characteristic!
the price is not expensive!
i will come again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wowfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos Nigeria
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I heard so much about this place from friends. I couldnt wait to try it out. Good food and value for money.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ArynAjalaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The locals were right, it was our favourite meal in Cotonou”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were taken to other, posher restaurants but far preferred the atmosphere of Pili Pili and would have loved to go back. Very generous servings and staff were more than happy to pack 'doggy bags' for us.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pili Pili also viewed

Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 
Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 
Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 

Been to Pili Pili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing