We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Maman Benin

Chez Maman Benin
Ranked #30 of 65 Restaurants in Cotonou
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went yesterday with wife and mother in law, both beninise. i always trust them, they never mess around with food.

there is a large sort of hot buffet section where you choose your food before seating down. no ac but large ceiling fans which makes it slightly more bearable. heat and humidity here are not to be taken lightly.

i had rabbit and jollof rice. my family fish and rice.

all good, good portions and nice service. for some reason me being white makes it all easier. unfortunately the colonisation damages can still be felt in west africa.

i'm not sure i will go back but i might. we spent CFA 10.000, £12.00.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Not a very cosy restaurant, food was fine but not exceptional. Maybe a little strange for western tastes (eg. fish and cowskin in a stew). Staff not very helpful, and confusion about whether or not we could sit upstairs. There are much better local restaurants

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frankie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Amazing sized portions and well presented, in a self service type environment.
The fish that is produced here was delicious and all menus were local foods, so were spicy but delicious.
I would definitely go back here again for the fried fish..... Awesome!!! I had the jollof rice and fish. Superbly presented and enough for two people.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LezGoLezGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean & lots of choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We ate here twice- highly recommend it. Clean, nice staff, lots of choice- very tasty food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“chez mama benin - tres bien”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Chez Mama Benin is a great place to get good local food in Cotonou. I enjoyed my meal tremendously, although the portions were simply HUGE. Even the beers were HUGE! Which is good and bad as I couldn't possibly eat it all. Delightful salad with fresh avocado, tomato, beans, carrots and potato . . . and so reasonably priced. Highly suggest trying it out if you are in the neighborhood.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leslievansant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Maman Benin also viewed

Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 
Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 
Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 

Been to Chez Maman Benin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing