We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard”
Review of Ibis Cotonou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Cotonou
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Cotonou
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you stayed in at any of the Ibis branch hotel, you wont have surprises. Neat and clean, with standard breakfast. Slow internet conection, though. You can not rely on the ATM machines to get cash. The location is a bit far from the city centre and you can only walk to the next big hotel to have dinner if it is past 10pm and a little store.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 196 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you have stayed in more "local" guest houses or "hotels" in the region, this one is certainly very nice and up to Western standards. The location is close to the Cocotiers section of town which has most of the expat restaurants. I stayed here for almost two months for work. The rooms were clean and new. The hotel lobby was modern, neat and airy. The daily breakfast buffet had a good variety of savory dishes, cured meats, pastries, fruits, dairy products, juices, coffee and tea. The limited menu at the bar was much more expensive compared to eating locally but certainly not as expensive as the Novotel next door. You could use the Novotel's pool for free though. The staff was delightful as I got to know them after such a long stay. My credit card did not work here (I also saw similar problems with other guests) which would have been rather disastrous if I did not bring enough cash.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macabebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night before a flight. The Lobby was modern and clean. The prices at the bar were decent. The breakfast buffet was perfect, with a few Western items done well, rather than multiple done poorly. Also lots of fresh bread, fruit, and meats. The rooms were on the small side but were clean. The bathroom felt a little dirty and definitely had some miles on it. This hotel shares a gated location with Novotel Hotel I believe? The two have linked services, so the lunch buffet at the other hotel can be charged to your room at Ibis. The Other hotel also has a nice pool and grounds with some partially obscured views of the ocean. Bar is on the expensive side though - Ibis bar was adequate and I didn't feel the need to return to the Novotel Bar. I would stay here again if visiting Cotonou.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile



Just an another Ibis. The same structure, same sink.... Staff r ok. Their English is just ok. They r helpful very much, but they don't treat you special. 
It's new and clean. 
There is no restaurant, but there is  nice and expensive one at Novotel next door. ( seems like ibis and Novotel comes as a pair in Africa. They r in the same premises, ibis is cheaper with no restaurant or pool, but u have access to them. 
Wifi is good enough. 
Credit card is ok.
Location ... It's close to the airport and there is  free shuttle to the airport, but it's away from the center of town. 
Also from the map, this place looks like its by the ocean. Well, not at all. You can't even see the ocean from here. 
If I ever go to Cotonou again, I think I want to stay at Azalai hotel, which is brand new and just off the center. 

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofiamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Room facility is ok for Africa, but service is bad. The room is charged by number of people, but when we asked for two wifi number, they told us only one number for one room, then why we pay for two people for one room??? Meanwhile, no one help customers for the luggage, no other personal service. In all, I do not think it deserve the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VickyXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel was fair but not exceptional value for money. The staff were impersonal and while the facilities were quite good, service was bland and left the impression that the hotel thinks its doing you a favour. Everyone wants to feel like a King/Queen at a good hotel, and anything less simply isn't good enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yayo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Beware of what you get..and don't get!

I stayed several days in the hotel and here is what you WILL get: very small rooms, AC that works, free transport to and from the airport, free internet (works good in room, but slow in public areas), boring tasteless breakfast buffet, clean rooms (except for the filthy room carpets), a restaurant that usually runs out of hot food at night (so you are stuck with a couple cold menu choices), non-smoking bar/restaurant area, Terrible Currency Exchange Rate (only 90% of published rate), agonizingly slow checkout and check-in procedure, tiny closet area, plenty of hot water.

Here is what you will NOT get and should not expect: fast service, friendly staff, reasonable prices, in room safe, refridgerator, hot water pot, Do Not Disturb or Clean my room signs, Room Service (they often have no one to bring your order to your room, so you have to go down and get it yourself).

In addition, don't expect to get a porter to help with your baggage. Even though I was injured and using a cane, I was told I would have to bring down my suitcases alone. When I finally wrestled my luggage down to the lobby, there were 4 people (including the Desk Manager) just standing around talking and they refused to help!

The only friendly, helpful person in the entire place was the Shuttle Driver. I thank him for assisting me into the airport with my bags.

You are on the same grounds as the Novotel Hotel, so you have a short, safe walk to better food and bar selections. However the beer prices at the Novotel are 50% higher than at the Ibis. Swimming pool is also located at the Novotel.

The cost to print any documents from their printer is 500 CFA per page.

Unfortunately, by Benin standards, the value of this hotel is about average. The value of the Internet service is way above average compared to my previous experience at the Benin Marina Hotel.

How you perceive this hotel will depend on what services you value most. Will I stay there again..............................NEVER!

While I was here I visited the Hotel du Port. From the street side, it does not look like much, but the courtyard area looked ok. Rooms were large but had a distinctive moldy smell, except for the Villas. I may try it the next time I come here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Addicted2Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cotonou hotels
1.8 mi away
Benin Royal Hotel
Benin Royal Hotel
#3 of 24 in Cotonou
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Rouge Cotonou
Maison Rouge Cotonou
#1 of 24 in Cotonou
129 reviews
2.4 mi away
Azalai Hotel De La Plage
Azalai Hotel De La Plage
#10 of 24 in Cotonou
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Benin Marina Hotel
Benin Marina Hotel
#12 of 24 in Cotonou
145 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Nobila Airport Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 24 in Cotonou
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cotonou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cotonou

Address: 1821 Boulevard de la Marina | 08 Bp 0929, Cotonou, Benin
Phone Number:
Location: Benin > Littoral Department > Cotonou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Cotonou
Price Range: $86 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cotonou 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right by the sea, the IBIS COTONOU is located in the heart of the business district, 10 minutes from the city centre. The hotel offers 101 air-conditioned rooms with WiFi access, 3 of which are adapted for persons with limited mobility. A bar, a 24 hoursnack service and private parking are at your disposal. Enjoy lunch or dinner at the NOVOTEL COTONOU's "ORISHA" restaurant, located on the same site. Animals are accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Cotonou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing