We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice hotel for reasonable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HOTEL DU LAC

HOTEL DU LAC
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Cotonou
Cuisines: European, French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Johannesbourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Probably one of the most well-known hotels in Cotonou. Great for staying a night or two, very central, a little in need of upgrade, but friendly and clean with great swimming pool and nice view of the point where the sea meets the lagoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JacquesADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lebanese Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This review is for the Sunday Lebanese Buffet. I have not been to the main restaurant, so I can’t comment on that. The buffet offered a great choice of meats, pasta, main dishes, desserts, etc. The food was excellent. The Sunday buffet was a little expensive, but it was great to add some variety to the weekly menu. The hotel itself was in good shape in some locations, but looked like a bombed-out building in other areas as if it was damaged during some war and never repaired. The hotel is not located in the best part of town, but the outdoor mezzanine where the buffet was served was fine. I would certainly return the next time I am here on a Sunday afternoon.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PowerNemisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“overpriced and old fashioned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

a very big dissapointment, for the price we paid you should expect at least something what is 5times better. The food was cold, chewy and almost without any taste. There wasnot enough staff what gave enormous delays, never again for me

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank didi091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto-Novo, Benin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good view, decent pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This place is ideal if you're trying to get an expensive drink and the best view of the Cotonou skyline right on the water. Their food is pricey but westernized if you need a taste of home, with decent pizza. Good place to have a coffee and get some work done with their wifi.

I highly recommend avoiding the fish their. After living in West Africa for months and trying everything put in front of my without any problems, I got intense food poisoning from their fish and I learned my colleague did as well just a few days prior.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banjul, Gambia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very ordinary Hotel. Nice Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very ordinary rooms, otherwise nice view from the deck next to the river with a wonderful view of the Ancient pont and the train crossing. The food at the restaurant was quite good. Service generally slow or lethargic. The long you stay the better it gets, if you tip well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HOTEL DU LAC also viewed

Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 
Cotonou, Littoral Department
Cotonou, Littoral Department
 

Been to HOTEL DU LAC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing