We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but don't expect Western standards”
Review of Hotel du Port

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Port
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Cotonou
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
462 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice but don't expect Western standards”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Hotel du Port is a nice little hotel with a great pool area and good little restaurant, but don't go here expecting a room like at a Western hotel/motel - not even a Super 8 type. There is AC and wireless internet (although spotty in some areas), but you will have some 6 & 8 legged visitors in your room given that it isn't sealed from the outside very well. As long as you go into it knowing what to expect, it is a great little place to stay - people from all over come for day trips to the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPC451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    25
    23
    17
See reviews for
3
7
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel has surprisingly good rooms and generally was larger and better than I expected from reading reviews. Central(ish) location on the edge of the port which seems a bit incongruous from the pool!

The restaurant service when I used it was sloooow (over an hour to get a pizza) but the quality was good and prices respectable.

Great large pool, but an annoying pool attendant tries to regulate what is acceptable swimwear (French clingies good, English trunks banned). I ignored him.

Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnwardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I just arrived at Hotel du Port. Very bad first impression. Upon arrival they sent me to a room wich was not ready. I climbed down the stairs and had to wait for 30 minutes at the reception. The wifi in the room simply doesn't work. The room smells inseticide.
At that point I wouldn't care to write a bad review, but the the most ridiculous thing just happened - I went to the swiming pool and at the moment I was going to get into the water the bodyguard yelled at me very loud telling me to stop. He said I couldn't use the pool with my shorts, regular beach shorts made of nylon exactly like the shorts that 80% of the male population wear to go into the water. He said only "maillots" are tolerated, not regular beach shorts.
The property being ran down and outdated, the smelly room, the nonexistent internet, the high cost of the room (almost U$ 100 a night), all this I can understand after one month traveling in Africa, but being banned from the pool because I don't carry a "maillot" was really the piece of resistance. I tryed to book Ibis and Novotel but they were full.
Too bad, I ended up in this S#|% hole.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cotonou hotels

Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel du Port is a nice stopover after a long day on the road. Reception area very welcoming. Pool, poolside bar and pizza kitchen and Resturant in general are great. Great menu choice and good pizza after having eaten local African food for few days! Massive and clean swimming pool very well lit up with 3 diving ports. Rooms a bit outdated compared to reception and pool area but beds claen and hot water. Cannot comment on location or breakfast as only used as a stopover an left at 3am so no breakfast. Definitely would use agin for stopover or for 2-3 day stay in Cotonou

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed for 3 weeks in one of the bungalows so I cannot comment on the rooms. Bungalows are "huge" with open balcony area overlooking the pool. There is plenty of work area with a first class internet connection (for Cotonou). Rooms are not new and could do with a coat of paint but they are clean and well air conditioned.

The pool is first class although they are fussy regarding dress code for swimming - no shorts allowed.

There is a restaraunt which is quite passable although breakfast leaves much to be desired - unless you like croissants with croissants with croissants.

Nice pool side bar open until 11pm'ish - but rather expensive and soon runs out of "cold" beers. The pool is used extensively by local schools for their swimming lessons - usually in the early mornings. It takes your mind off the croissants!!

Great Pizza bar from 7pm onwards.

The hotel has character - don't mind if you're not fluent in French - the staff appreciate your schoolday attempts.

I'll definately come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KucheKuche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Hotel du Port is an attractive pleasant hotel. Maybe a little above average. Very nice pool and dining area, food was good, decent Pasta Alfredo, cold beer, lovely patio area. Room was also very nice looking although a little hard to operate. I finally used a Gideon bible to prop the headboard away from the wall which otherwise shut off the lights over the bed. Phone didn't work unless you played with the cord so I was up and down the stairs a few times to get things like towels and water for the room. Still and all, average +
The restaurant staff was welcoming, the hotel staff not so much so although certainly not rude.
Partly of course it is my lack of language skills in coutries where only French and the local languages are spoken. Does try their patience I know.
The spy reference comes from the fact that my room looked down over the Cuban Embassy and I am a spy/detective novel aficionado extraordinaire. So I pretended I either worked for the CIA or was John LeCarre starting my next novel about a Cuban spy in Benin waiting for hapless Americans to appear!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roresand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

couldnt describe the hotel as being central, but its all about the pool really! good food, nice bar area and a very relaxed holiday atmosphere.

rooms are well equipped, wifi available with good connection and did i mention the pool..?!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cotonou hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Cotonou
Ibis Cotonou
#4 of 23 in Cotonou
183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Benin Royal Hotel
Benin Royal Hotel
#6 of 23 in Cotonou
37 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sun Beach Hotel
Sun Beach Hotel
#13 of 23 in Cotonou
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Nobila Airport Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 23 in Cotonou
121 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maison Rouge Cotonou
Maison Rouge Cotonou
#1 of 23 in Cotonou
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Port

Property: Hotel du Port
Address: Boulevard de la Marina | 08 BP 1133 Cotonou Benin, Cotonou 1183, Benin
Location: Benin > Littoral Department > Cotonou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Cotonou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Port 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing