We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belize Boutique Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Cayo Espanto(San Pedro)
$1,895
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
De Real Macaw(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
$70
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Popeyes Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Seaside Cabanas(Caye Caulker)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Colinda Cabanas(Caye Caulker)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
195
53
30
16
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
53
30
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum punchhorseback ridingcave tubinghibiscus flowersmayan ruinsbug sprayday tripoff the beaten pathunique experienceour honeymoonhidden treasurealtun hacouples massagethrough customssan pedrogrounds are beautifulevery meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 310 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2009

I should start off by saying we stayed there the first week in September, so we had the place to ourselves. Airport service to Maruba was prompt, but a long ride. Mario, the driver was an amazing tour guide and kept us entertained. After arriving, we were unhappy with our room (cold, metallic decor) and they upgraded us for free to the luxury suite cabin. It was great.
One thing i wasn't thrilled with is the highly sulfuric water at Maruba. They cleverly market it as "spa water", but basically all the water there smells like sulfur (not so pleasant).
The restaurant and ambiance is very romantic (bordering on Porn-y at night with the blacklights and zebra-print tablecloths at dinner). They also make the waiters wear animal print skirts (even the men). If you have a good sense of humor about this, you'll enjoy yourself.
The meals were good but expensive. I see someone complained about portions, but i was satisfied. The water buffalo, gibnut (rat), and armadillo were suprisingly tasty.
We did a spa treatment. After getting used to a strange woman rubbing mud on your naked body, you'll probably find it relaxing. The pools are nice, but not quite as nice as the website photos would suggest. The secluded hot-tub is nice and I'm sure many a couple have concemated their marriages in there.
If you enjoy reading by the pool, there's certainly opportunity for that. But if you are interested in excursions, there are some great trips (try to get Mario as a guide). We went cave tubing with vampire bats and visited the Mayan ruins. They really made the trip memorable (bring a waterproof camera).

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DissociatedMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Maruba resort is the best place to stay in Belize. Belize itself is not a great place to visit, which is why if you are going, Marabu is the spot to stay. Belize is a country which is crippled by poverty and crime and Belize city is the epitome of this. My wife and I came to Belize on our honeymoon, in search of adventure and good times. Maruba was quiet, secluded and tropical (literally cut out of the jungle). They offer plenty of excursions (though quite pricey). The trip to the Mayan ruins is a MUST. The food is amazing and the accommodations are clean and rooms are exquisitely done up with fresh hibiscus flowers placed everywhere each morning! Great service, great rooms. If however you want a true island experience, do not waste your time with Belize, go to the British isles.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank worldtraveler2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

My husband surprised me with a Trip to Maruba to celebrate our Anniversary. We live on Ambergris Caye and so we took the tour boat with Suya which was a wonderfrul, and educational ride up the river. We were greeted by the staff form Maruba in the town of Bamba and than driven to the resort. From the moment we entered all expectations were exceeded. Shamille and Melanie greeted us and organized everything from that point. It was wonderful being able to meet and get to know the owners of Maruba. We wanted for nothing. We felt so pampered. Delwin was an excellant waiter and Bartender, Marlenie and Shamille gave us awesome massages and body scrubs and Nicki took us on a wonderful tour of Al Tun Ha.
Maruba even remenbered it was our anniversary with Champagne and decorated our dinner table for a wonderful dinner.

We can not say enough about the service, the resort is absoulutely beautiful!!, and the staff friendly and helpful .
You feel like you are in a different world

Thank-you so much, I truely hope to come back again

HIghly reccomended!!!

Jodie and Scott
Palapa Bar and Grill

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank palapabarandgrill07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

Best customer service we've experienced in quite a while. Every need was attended to with a smile. The staff made us feel more than welcome, with outstanding attention to details. Fresh fruit smoothies with breakfast, lovely prepared lunches on our tours, nice selections at dinner. Our special thanks to Super Mario, Shamile, Delwin, Melanie, and especially the hibiscus fairy that filled our room and bath with flowers every day! Would highly recommend Maruba to anyone who wants a peaceful and tranquil setting in the rainforest.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelzalot08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Maruba Spa was, by far, the most amazing place my boyfriend & I have ever stayed in! I can't possibly imagine how people have negative things to say about it. We went for his 40th birthday and nabbed a special for a 3 night stay. From the moment we "checked in" we knew this wasn't like any place we've ever stayed. Incense burning, rum punch in hand within minutes, we were given the tour (in addition to boutique resort they are a day spa so they have 2 pools, (1 for guests only), an outdoor bar, hookah room and a true jungle on the grounds, complete with outdoor mineral bath and alter for weddings. Mario & Jerry, our driver/tour guide/waiter/friends were so cool and Melanie & the staff were so great to us. We stayed there during the first week of the peak season so we pretty much had the place to ourselves. The food was amazing (again, I can't believe reviews here that state otherwise). And, where else can you eat lunch in a tree-top with Hibiscus flowers on everything? Waking up in our AMAZING tree-house room he would wake early to take pictures of birds, as we were literally in the jungle. We toured the ruins, zip lined & cave-tubed during the days (including a picnic with animal print table cloth, delicious food, the ever-present Hibiscus flowers and rum punch/Belizean beers in the cooler :) We'd come back to Maruba, swim in the pool, get under the waterfall and remember why we came. Then, the best part of all - each night we did a spa treatment. The mud bath was the best, but they were all incredible with breezes flowing in, incense and some reggae or Enya in the background. Dinners offered a unique wild game each night, which we went for (armadillo, water buffalo & gibnut (don't ask, but was tasty) though one night I played it safe with the filet mignon and YUM! There wasn't much of a night life, but again, it was early in the season so there weren't many of us there. I would most definitely recommend it, and secretly the only reason I think it took me so long to write a review was I wanted to keep it to myself!

Thank again, Maruba, see you soon!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JenL1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews