We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“... ecclectic...exotic...experiential getaway!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maruba Resort Jungle Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
484 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“... ecclectic...exotic...experiential getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

This resort is mix and match of tropical and rustic worlds. Interesting paths to follow to find your room, the hot tubs and various pavillions. The dining area is like from a movie set: good food, fancy drinks and lovely table decor. One can even lunch in a high rise tree house loft! Probably the best novelty is the resting area near the pools with canopy beds.
Cute enough, are the hundreds of hybiscus flowers placed daily almost everywhere, even in the bathrooms! Day visits are also possible.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GringoAlto2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    53
    27
    16
    14
See reviews for
43
152
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

This place is highly recommended for anyone looking for an authentic and luxurious experience in Belize. The staff is very attentive and believes in your comfort as top priority. Me and my boyfriend went for a birthday getaway. I was surprised how all the staff was very involved for my special day. I received tons of happy birthdays through out the day. The details in the rooms and around the property are amazing. We also enjoyed the convenience of the property with dining and activities. They have an ever changing menu with Belizean delectables. Also, don't miss out on their one of a kind spa treatments!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

If you are looking for something that is not of the ordinary, yet desire relaxation, excellent service, and great food, then this is where to stay. Getting to the resort (and the grounds are beautiful) will take some driving, as it's about 20 miles in from the Northern Highway, outside of Sandhill. The road is best travelled at daytime due to its condition, but once you arrive, the place is special. Of course, they will pick you up at the airport too. The mood mud massage is their trademark and is a must, despite one's reservations about the experience. Lastly, the security is top notch at night. Although, I did encounter an individual when unloading my vehicle at night, security was already there to escort us to our room. If you're looking for a "jungle resort" or spa experience, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Legal4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Loved it! The resort was so unique and fun and the hosts were totally awesome. Went with 2 other friends, girls trip, and stayed 3 nights. Had a blast on the tour to the Ruins, and the mud massages were lovely. It was truly such a fun adventure and a great start to our trip to Belize! I highly recommend staying here. Totally romantic for couples, and a fun adventure for family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventurePisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

The Maruba Resort is situated in the middle of the jungle. It is an oasis in the middle of Maskall Village. The surrounding village area is somewhat depressed but once on the resort it is like being whisked away to another world. The design of the suites were unique and lovely, making you feel that you are not just on vacation in a generic hotel but in a specially crafted jungle paradise. The decor had a jungle flair unlike no other I have seen, and I've seen my share. The staff, Melanie and Nicky, were wonderful, greeting guest in a personal and informal manner. There was no stuffy check-in desk. Instead, there was a large lounge area where complimentary rum punch or fruit punch are served. Throughout my stay the food was amazing. I'm a vegetarian which sometimes makes restaurant eating a challenge, but at this resort I had a choice of different vegetarian entrees everyday. I really appreciated the options and the personal table service from the gracious waitresses. Finally, the tour/day excursion choices were great and the resort tour guide David was awesome. We went cave tubing, snorkeling, hiking in the jungle to Mayan ruins. Each trip was really wonderful. Even though the resort is a little out of the way, from the beach, it is worth the trip. The awesome accommodations, amazing staff, wonderful food, and beautiful setting more than makes up for a car ride to town. I would recommend the resort and if I ever return to Belize I would stay at Maruba.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeingtheworldgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Creating comfort and luxury in the jungle is not simple, but Nicki and Melanie made it look easy. Such kind people! If you're in Belize on business, do not stay in Belize City or Belmopan. Rent a car and enjoy the nice commute out to Maruba! You can drive paved roads into the bush to this wonderful spa and enjoy your dinners in the best jungle resort in Belize. The owners create a cool vibe that somehow keeps the mosquitos away....amazing! :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConradAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

The staff at Maruba makes it what it is, which is wonderful and welcoming and beautiful. They are most accommodating and professional. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and colorful.
The food is sinfully delicious and mouthwatering.
I will recommend Maruba to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belmopan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maskall
23.4 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
23.1 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
22.8 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
23.3 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
24.4 mi away
Blue Tang Inn
Blue Tang Inn
#1 of 21 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maruba Resort Jungle Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruba Resort Jungle Spa

Property: Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
Address: 40 1/2 Mile Old Northern Highway | 30 Miles North of Belize International Airport (BZE), Maskall, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize District > Maskall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maruba Resort Jungle Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare yourself for the ultimate experience in adventure & relaxation at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, Belize. A short two-hour flight from Houston or Miami transports you to a place where you can fully immerse yourself in nature and truly relax. Maruba offers a great vacation escape in casual elegance.Voted the Best Boutique Spa by Spa Finder Readers’ Choice Award, and One of the Top 10 Spas in the Caribbean & Central Americas by Maco Destination Caribbean & Central America Magazine, the resort’s neo-primitive style with a touch of jungle urban flair makes it an eclectic and hip place to stay while indulging in everything a modern spa has to offer. Its restaurant boasts a nouveau jungle cuisine, best described as a fusion of “east of Paris meets the Caribbean”. Your room will be one-of-a-kind and features rich hues and textures, vaulted hardwood ceilings, mosaic tile floors, exotic fabric and beautiful carving made by local artisians. Signature bungalows offer 900 square feet of private space with an indoor lounge room, indulgent hot tubs, and incredible jungle views.Maruba is one of the first spas in Central America and offers a variety of exotic treatments which revitalize, detoxify, and reestablish the skin’s natural pH balance while leaving your skin feeling silky smooth. A must-try treatment is Maruba’s Mood Mud Massage – take your camera along for pictures! For those seeking adventure, several day tours available, such as exploring Maya Ruins, the rainforest and caves ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Maruba Resort Jungle Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruba Resort Jungle Hotel Maskall
Maruba Hotel Jungle
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa Belize/Maskall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing