We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The monument of the soviet period. Curious.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brest-Intourist Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Brest
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed there for a night during our trip to Poland. It was recommended by local people as one of the best hotels of the city.
So, what can I say - except the lobby - everything else is somethink like from 80th-90th.
But really clean.
Very very much soviet inside, with old TV and phone, separate beds in the room for two!
No wifi, very basic breakfast, old furniture inside rooms and outside in the hall.

But: REALLY VERY CHEAP, ALMOST FREE CAR PARKING (just about 1-2 Euro per night stay!), friendly staff and central location.
Casino as additional bonus in the building (not used by us).

You can use that hotel to see and feel an atmosphere of old soviet period. Good base just to sleep and go forward.
Sometimes it is interesting.

Room Tip: Try to book the most expensive rooms to get more or less european level of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stalevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 121 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, and it was an basic hotel, but price for a luxurious one.

We had a suite room, for a family of 4. The room was big enough, the bathroom was old (I think late sixties or early seventies). When I asked for wifi (which was promised), they simply said: we are under construction, so no wifi.

The breakfast was basic. We got served for 4, but then the waiter realised that there were only 3 breakfast coupons. So he removed the breakfast for my youngest daughter, who was left in tears, because she didn't understand why the man took away her breakfast ;-)

There was only one person from the staff who spoke English, so that didn't make things easy to explain.

Overall not a very bad experience, but for the money we paid only a 2 star rating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M4rtinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Not a single smile from the staff makes you feel like being back in the USSR. The room wasn't bad at all but the breakfast was so-so. Especially if you don't eat meat. They say it's a 3 star hotel, but it feels more like 2 stars to me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Strutchopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

It's like stepping into a charlies angels scene when entering the rooms! Clean but very very old style. Nice enough though but the smell of cigarette smoke in the hotel room is overwhelming. Very central location. Decent breakfast and residents bar EXTREMELY cheap! It's a one night experience!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RNG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Getting into Belarus is far from easy in terms of arrangements and paperwork. We used the (excellent) BelarusTourService to arrange paperwork and the hotel. Borders are always nerve wracking but the Belarus guards were nice and helpful and this set the tone for the visit. The people were a joy, the city was very pleasant and easy to get round. The Fortress was also amazing. We are so pleased we visited.
The hotel here has everything you may want - rooms were fine, clean, well maintained and had every reasonable facility, a cash point, 24 hour bar, casino, restaurant, tourist travel service on the first floor. This was not de luxe accommodation, but we did not expect that and were very pleasantly surprised by what we received. Several locals told us this was not the best hotel in the city, I'm sure that is true but we were perfectly happy there and would be happy to stay again. Reception spoke little English but again we hit no problems and had no issues checking in or out.
We had not met anyone who had been to Belarus before our travels and future visitors may not have as good a time as we did (but this is true of anywhere in the world) - but we did love the city and the people were all wonderful and thanks to them we had a truly great experience there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LordandLadyPalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Overnight stop on the way to Moscow. No SatNav and in the dark found a taxi driver to lead me in. Massive hotel with a casino attached, secure parking included. Minimal English spoken (understandable) and lifts up to East European standards - compact and creaky. Room itself was clean and comfortable. Currency exchange booth in large foyer/meeting area next to resaurant, although the US Dollar seems to be the preferred currency in most places. Did not sample breakfast as restaurant was very crowded and I wanted to be on my way.
Possibly not a first choice, but adequate for my needs at the time.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mondo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2007

I admit that I was nervous about the Intourist Hotel. I'd heard all the bad publicity about how these hotels operated in Soviet times: unpleasant floor matrons who made you leave your room key, cold rooms, only occasional hot water, etc. While the Brest Intourist Hotel is not up to Western European standards, it did not play to stereotype either. And at times, it was a lot of fun. Mainly, the hotel needs to be remodeled. But for the price, it's a fine place to stay. The hotel still has a bit of rigid Soviet formality, but the staff does a good job with what they've got.

LOCATION: When I got to town, I decided to walk to the hotel. It took about 20 minutes from the railway station, due south. Plenty of buses also run from the area just south of the railway station for a mere 480 BYR -- that's under $0.25USD. I didn't see many taxis in Brest, although they had a few. Brest Fortress is an incredible site to see, with free admission. It's about 2 km west of the hotel, and you can walk it easily enough. Bus #17 also goes out that way, but only once per hour or less. There is a department store one block east, and it's the best place I found to browse for some good vodka and anything else you might want. For a good restaurant, try Jules Verne about 3 blocks to the northwest.

SITES: Brest Fortress is the primary tourist site in the city and should not be missed. The hotel has a tourism office that can help you with sightseeing, although it's only open on weekdays. Next door, St. Simon Orthodox Cathedral is light green and very pretty.

ROOM: I was given a well-lit 9th floor room with a view of the Cathredral. The carpet was well-worn, but the room was kept clean and tidy. It was winter and the room was rather warm. The bed was a true single -- not a lot of room, but not uncomfortable. There was a TV and radio, although nothing in English. My favorite thing in the room was a brochure on Brest that clearly came from Soviet times. It was fun reading! At night, the hotel had someone to keep an eye on the floor. She was pleasant and helpful. By day, the hall lights were off and it was a bit dark.

BREAKFAST: Not good! Breakfast was served in the 2nd (?) floor bar. It's very small and I can't imagine what they'd do if the hotel was full. At any rate, only two people were in there. Breakfast was full-service, with some runny eggs and bread. Coffee is not recommended; try tea instead.

DRINKS: There's a small cafe' on the ground floor that doubles as a bar at night. It was Saturday night, and it was packed with people. Local beer is pretty good and costs about $1 USD. Cheers!

The hotel also has an exchange counter, security, a casino and three time-tested elevators. One of them felt a little bit like a thrill ride.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
13  Thank GoingEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brest hotels
0 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 8 in Brest
219 reviews
0 mi away
Bug
Bug
#3 of 8 in Brest
55 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Belarus
Hotel Belarus
#7 of 8 in Brest
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Dream House
Dream House
#4 of 31 in Brest
24 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel Gogol
Hostel Gogol
#3 of 31 in Brest
9 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Vesta
Hotel Vesta
#1 of 15 in Brest
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brest-Intourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brest-Intourist Hotel

Address: Masherova 15, Brest 224030, Belarus
Location: Belarus > Brest Region > Brest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Brest
Price Range: $21 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brest-Intourist Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, bedfinder AG and HostelWorld so you can book your Brest-Intourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing