We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You wouldn’t think it was an airport hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Bahrain
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Al Muharraq
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed for nearly 2 months on business so got to know the staff quit well.
They were all very pleasant and helpful; they would never pass you without a greeting of some sort and nearly everyone knew my name.
The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout, rooms are a good size and the bathrooms well appointed, apart from the shower cubicles, could of done with spending a little bit more on these.
The pool is a good size and never too busy and there is a 3k walk round the lagoon next to the hotel that is very busy with locals and very safe.
The food was good and the buffet nights and Friday brunch were excellent and very popular with locals and Expat residents.
Free internet, (about time other hotels adopted this service)
Great room service and asked you to call once finished so they could collect the tray.
This hotel is not run like an airport hotel; the staff really care and will do anything to assist you during your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain_Manager, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Bahrain, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear writer
First of all many thanks for staying with us for more than 2 months. I am delighted to read your encouraging notes commenting on the level of service and the friendly employees. No doubt we are located only a 300 meters from the airport, but the hotel is not one of the his typical airport location. The product is far more relaxing and more an resort than a business hotel. Our Food and Beverage operation especially the Thursday night and the Friday family brunches are the best in town. We also won in November the prestigious award of being the best Airport hotel in the Middle East.

Many thanks again for your nice comments.

With kind regards,

Heinz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 726 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 16 nights with my work so got to know the place inside out.

Check in was efficient although they initially checked me into a twin room, later in the day they managed to put me into a king which I thought was much nicer. The twin rooms feature light wood fittings and the twin rooms darker wood which I felt looked better and more calming. The rooms are very spacious. The bathrooms are nice although quite standard but decent towels and loccitane toiletries were really nice. Internet is complimentary for guests. I found the housekeeping was excellent and the whole hotel was really clean. I had a recurring problem with my toilet which was fixed but kept coming back again - they saw to it every time

The pool area and lobby area are excellent and have a resrot feel so you can really enjoy your time. The gym is small but has all you need for a basic workout. The towels could do with renewing I think though.

The f&b offering is basically good although the al-a-carte menu is limited and for a long stay you will start to get quite bored with it. I managed to try one of their steak night buffets and was very impressed with the quality and quantity. Its around 23 local including alcohol but at $70 thats still expensive. Alcohol was quite expensive throughout.

The staff were really good throughout and all pleasant, good english and hard working.

For an airport hotel you will struggle to find better and in fact I enjoyed it even as a place for a few days break as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feedbackpro2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain_Manager, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Bahrain, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear writter

I was delighted to read your comments on the Moevenpick Hotel Bahrain. Many times we find comments from clients we are too far out of the city, although only 10 minutes car ride away from the city center of Manama. We feel the benefits of being a tranquil and relaxing place away from the traffic with a total resort feel is the right description of our airport resort hotel. And the good news we are in progress of opening our Spa with 11 treatment rooms in May 2014. So the hotel is going to be a total retreat island.

See you soon back at the Moevenpick Hotel Bahrain

Heinz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The friendly staff and management is one of the reasons we keep going back to the Moevenpick!
They always welcome us back and go out of their way to be sure we are comfortable.

The Friday brunch is one of the best in Bahrain - delicious prime rib and seafood , just to name a couple of the great dishes they serve!

The pool area is gorgeous with comfortable lounge furniture and the staff are attentive but not pesky like some of the other local 5 star hotels.

The location is near the airport - so it is a great place to relax on your way out of the country or even to rest upon return - they can pick you up as needed.

Room Tip: If you prefer a room with a bath tub or a pool view just ask and they will do their best to accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadwarriorinTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain_Manager, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Bahrain, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

I was delighted to read your comments on the Moevenpick Hotel Bahrain. Many times we find comments from clients we are too far out of the city, although only 10 minutes car ride away from the city center of Manama. We feel the benefits of being a tranquil and relaxing place away from the traffic with a total resort feel is the right description of our airport resort hotel. Thanks again for the comment about the best and award winning Friday Brunch in Bahrain. We are at the moment planning the next culinary highlight which is the Thursday night brunch starting from the 6th of November 2013. This is more of evening night affair spreading allover the hotels restaurants, cocktail, bar live entertainment and DJ. This is an event you should not miss in the future.

Best regards,

Heinz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A rather attractive hotel on the inside what with glass lifts servicing the 3 guest floors ...well laid out lounge and restaurant areas ... Pool is lovely to have sundowners around as the sunset over the lagoon area is very nice . Service is very good. Attentive staff and no delays in getting any orders that one may place. We had light cheeseburger meals and came well presented and were really tasty.. All items are fairly expensive as the currency BD is rather strong (3$ to 1 BD) so be prepared for a shock if you use the goodies from your room mini bar etc...!!
Rooms are fair size, beds super comfy with top class linen etc.. All bathroom goodies supplied inc bath robes and slippers. Room tea and coffee and fruit plus bottled water is complimentary.
They provide a shuttle to the airport which is close but nice to take if you feel like paying 3BD's
Overall, a very pleasant hotel, efficient and friendly staff and I had no problems any areas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain_Manager, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Bahrain, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for the nice comments and we are all so happy that you have enjoyed the resort atmosphere of the hotel.

Looking forward to have you back in not too distant future.

With best regards,

Heinz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Brunch at the Movenpick Hotel Bahrain is unlike anything I've ever experienced. I've been twice and still feel as though I've only just begun to sample the dizzying array of dishes and trays so tastefully displayed. The bar is joined to the main dining room by a small glass corridor reserved exclusively for cheese. In the dining room you can choose any type of cuisine, dress it up with vegetables, side dishes or whatever you crave - and have it prepared and delivered to your table by one of many white-capped chefs cooking up a frenzy behind a hedge of silver buffet domes. There is a mojito stand, a pasta stand, a crepe stand, a gelato stand, and stands I have yet to explore. Unlimited cocktails and the chocolate fountain are probably my personal favorites - although the island of desserts in the main lobby are a close second. Another impressive spread at this hotel is steak night. It resembles brunch on a smaller scale, with an emphasis on quality cuts for carnivore enthusiasts. Book a table with some friends and let the bubbly do the rest. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christianannschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain_Manager, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Bahrain, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear guest

many thanks for the great review and the detailed feedback about the best and award winning Friday Brunch in Bahrain. We are at the moment planning the next culinary highlight which is the Thursday night brunch starting from the 6th of November 2013. This is more of evening night affair spreading allover the hotels restaurants, cocktail, bar live entertainment and DJ. This is an event you should not miss in the future.

Looking forward to have you with us on a Thursday night.

With warm regards,

Heinz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is good. My experience of the Movenpick chain has always been on the better side. There is nothing bad to write about bed, minibar, facilities in the room.

Food quality and taste are good. Above average. Hospitality of staff at reception and also in the restaurants is pleasant experience. I liked this hotel.

First negative remark will be about design of the toilet. The bathtub is given very tight space. The washbasin setup is too large for the toilet size.Could have been tad smaller.

Second negative remark is about the three locations where you can eat. The lounge, restaurant (Silks) and a pub / bar. The bad thing about this, all three have the same menu. Creepy. They shall know better. To make matters worse, a vegetarian will starve here and there is no restaurant nearby. You will have to hire a taxi for going to the nearest restaurant if you cannot eat in this hotel.

Nearness to airport is an advantage for them. I earnestly request that they shall consider this aspect of providing more variety of food.

Room Tip: Cannot comment really. It is near the airport but airplanes do not trouble you. My room was facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRIP_BUDDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain_Manager, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Bahrain, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Many thanks for the very nice comments and it is a pleasure to get such positive feedback. To sit on the poolside and to see the sun go down over Manama is one of the best things to do in the early evening, so relaxing. We are constantly upgrading our poolside and already now we have many regular guests coming for a Sheesha and watching a champions league game.

Hope to see to see you soon back in Bahrain.

With warm regards,

Heinz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

thsi is an amazing hotel rooms are bright modern comfortable room service and food is awsome the pool is amazing views to the city and sunset are awesome the lobby longe is beaytiful and the breakfast buffet and setting is wonderful staff are freindly and attentive downside is no spa would have been great to have a massage and facial on site then no need to leave at all bonus is its beside the airport away from the hustle and carzieness of downtown highly reccommendit

Room Tip: get the view of down town and the sunset awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WILLIAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain_Manager, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Bahrain, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest

I was delighted to read your comments on the Moevenpick Hotel Bahrain. Many times we find comments from clients we are too far out of the city, although only 10 minutes car ride away from the city center of Manama. We feel the benefits of being a tranquil and relaxing place away from the traffic with a total resort feel is the right description of our airport resort hotel. And the good news we are in progress of opening our Spa with 11 treatment rooms in May 2014. So the hotel is going to be a total retreat island.

Looking forward to see you soon again and wishing you a successful week ahead.

Regards Heinz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Al Muharraq
2.6 mi away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
2.0 mi away
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
2.0 mi away
Elite Resort & Spa
Elite Resort & Spa
#12 of 136 in Manama
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
ART Rotana
ART Rotana
#1 of 5 in Amwaj Islands
943 reviews
3.8 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
5.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Bahrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Bahrain

Address: 143 Road 2403, Al Muharraq 224, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Location: Bahrain > Al Muharraq
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Al Muharraq
Price Range: $136 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Bahrain 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the land of the 33 islands. At the Mövenpick Hotel Bahrain you will enjoy all the advantages of modern luxury in an opulent setting. The first-class hotel is close to the city centre, making it a popular destination for holidaymakers and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Bahrain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
mövenpick Al Muharraq
Moevenpick Hotel Al Muharraq
Movenpick Hotel Bahrain Al Muharraq

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing