We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Charming”
Review of Glynn House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glynn House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We reserved the Monroe suite, and stayed for 2 days with the purpose of celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary in the Squam Lake area. We were not disappointed! The Inn is beautiful, the room just as described on the website. We were greeted and made to feel at home right from the start. Suggestions and arrangements for day trips to explore the area were made for us and tips on local restaurants were given as well. The suggestions for activities and restaurants were perfect. We enjoyed the Science Centre, a boat cruise and a beautiful hike before leaving. Our suite had a door that lead out to the covered porch which provided the perfect location to watch an evening thunderstorm, as well as a serene location to have our morning coffee. Breakfast was delicious and service terrific. This was our first experience staying in a Bed and Breakfast, and I can confidently say we will try this again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Monroe Suite, which I would recommend for a few reasons. Firstly, it is on the main...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Great bed and breakfasts can become addictive. We’re delighted our guests from Canada, who’d never stayed in a B&B previously, enjoyed their initial stay. Like many guests, they decided to celebrate a very special event - 20 years of married life - at the Inn. One of their reasons for visiting NH’s spectacular Lakes Region was Squam Lake. It’s arguably the most beautiful in the Eastern United States. Visitors can travel out onto Squam Lake by boat and walk above the lake on a series of trails. Our multi-course breakfasts are always popular with guests - wonderful home cooked goodies - and our Canadian visitors loved the breakfasts too. The Squam Lakes Natural Science Center is another visitor favorite - local wildlife and a series of walking paths - guest ticket discounts too.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Glynn House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 431 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Glynn House Inn for a long weekend, The home is beautiful, nicely decorated. Rooms are also beautiful and comfortable.The hosts, Glenn and Pam were great sharing knowledge of the area, local restaurants with recommendations, and NH attractions. Rooms were very clean and housekeeping staff did a great job each day we were there. Breakfast was served each morning and was delicious, fresh made muffins each day, different flavors. I think this will become a yearly adventure for my husband and I.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pambisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

We’re delighted the reviewers Londonderry, NH, enjoyed their weekend getaway. Our muffins - visitors who stay for a fortnight are exposed to two dozen different varieties - are exceedingly tasty and popular. Guests often take muffins away in a ziplock bag and have them for a mid-morning snack. Thanks for recognizing our housekeeping staff. We think our housekeepers do a terrific job too! The State of New Hampshire and Trip Advisor have both recognized the Inn for its ‘green’ initiatives. We’re pleased the couple from Londonderry recognized our efforts and thank them for taking the time to share their Inn experience with other travelers.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great food, afternoon snacks, wine and cheese, great rooms, walk to town or drive to other close towns, not far from everything. The town doubled in size for the July 4 fireworks, which we could talk to, great holiday away!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Our evening social hour remains a guest favorite. Many guests find the social hour provides a terrific opportunity to meet other like-minded visitors and share travel experiences. Having a glass of wine, or two, plus some delicious cheeses, is a nice way to unwind after a ‘tough’ day exploring New Hampshire’s spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Region. The reviewer and his wife visited during the July 4 weekend. The small town of Ashland, our home, has an amazing fireworks display every year as well as a ‘classic’ New England Independence Day parade. Thanks for taking the time to share your holiday weekend getaway experience with others.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a nice Inn in Ashland which is nearby to many wonderful sites and lakes. The Inn is nice and clean, beautiful breakfast room, including a good breakfast, with original curved windows and super wood work, the sitting room is very enjoyable, we had a nice bright room. Glen the Innkeeper is very knowledgeable of the area and also of the history of the Inn, it is very interesting. If you are looking for a place for diner you can ask Glenn for a suggestion he sent us to Six Burner Bistro in Plymouth he was right on. The Inn keeper have 3 very beautiful and friendly dogs. A nice place to stay when in Ashland.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Montrealbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

New Hampshire is divided into regions. The Lakes Region is ‘filled’ with beautiful lakes, charming ponds and delightful rivers. The White Mountains Region, less than four miles north of the Inn, has lots of stunning mountains. The Glynn House is situated right in the middle of both Regions, and provides easy access to the most interesting historic sites and recreation activities. The reviewer clearly enjoyed our historic ‘circa’ 1895 Inn. White oak floors and window frames compliment the stunning decor. The curved windows in the dining room are a particularly attractive feature. We’re pleased the couple from Montreal enjoyed their stay and took the time to share their experience with others.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Glynn House Inn over the 4th of July weekend and we had a great time! We were traveling with our greyhound and stayed in the Lincoln room which was more of an apartment than a room. The room was very clean, comfortable and was the perfect amount of space for us and our dog. The Glynn House Inn is very charming and peaceful and the breakfast options were good too. Glenn, one of the hosts, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and was able to provide us with some great hiking tips. We would definitely recommend staying at the Glynn House Inn, just make sure to let them know in advance if you plan to bring your dog.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supermn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

The reviewer, his wife and their dog stayed in the Lincoln Garden Apartment. Other guest’s love it too! The apartment includes over 580 square feet of living space; a fully equipped kitchen; private patio; BBQ; plus all the amenities contemporary travelers want. The apartment is also canine friendly, which great for travelers who don’t want to leave their favorite four-footed friend at home. But the reviewer is absolutely correct, please do let us know in advance. We want to make certain the room is properly outfitted - doggie bed, bowls and treats - before you arrive. Rates are very reasonable! Special pricing is available for guests who want to take a ‘real’ vacation and stay a week or more. We’re delighted the couple from Philadelphia enjoyed their stay. Thank you for sharing your Inn experience with others.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I only stayed one night (July 4, 2014), but we were impressed with the accommodations - comfortable, clean room. Glenn had an early breakfast for us to meet our early departure. The food was well prepared and delicious. The Inn is a short walk from the town of Ashland, NH, which has some nice shops. It was a rainy day when we walked to town - the Inn had full size umbrellas available for use - that was a nice touch as we had left ours at home. We did not get an opportunity to take advantage of afternoon wine and cheese. We would defintely stay here again.

Room Tip: View the pictures online. Each is different. There is the main house and the carriage house. We s...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank O4740VLtomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

The guests from Sudbury were in New Hampshire visited a child who’s attending a local camp. The Glynn House hosts many ‘camp parents’ each summer. There are 20 + wonderful summer camps not far from the Inn. We’re delighted the reviewer enjoyed the Hoover Bedroom, it’s cosy but beautifully decorated and includes all the amenities demanding travelers expect. The early breakfast provided didn’t include our normal hot entree options, but a good quality continental breakfast can be nice too, as the reviewer suggests. Thanks for spotting and mentioning one of our “Green Features”. We’re serious about our environment and make a concerted effort to conserve. We look forward to hosting the reviewer from Sudbury again. Thanks for telling others about your stay!

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were so delighted with our stay during a whirlwind tour of Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont. Our only disappointment was that our schedule only let us stay one night!! There was absolutely NOTHING lacking in the rooms. Every single thing we could have wanted was there, and more. The entire experience totally exceeded our expectations. And our hosts were tremendously accommodating, even when we spoke with them when we made our reservation.
Next time we will schedule our trip to stay longer.

Room Tip: The two rooms we had were in the Carriage House. Air-conditioned and wonderful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JanetNFredericton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

We’re delighted Janet and her family enjoyed their stay at the Inn! Our guest rooms beautifully different, and each offers every modern convenience. Yet, each is unique, decor and furnishings - whilst of a very high standard - are different. Photos and narrative descriptions on our website help guests pick the room that reflects their tastes. Of course, we also have many repeat visitors who already have or are determined to stay in every room in the Inn.The review headline says - “Best Breakfast…ever!!!” Glynn House breakfasts include multiple courses - fresh fruit, juices, freshly baked muffins, breakfast beverages and a choice of a dozen entrees. Many visitors return ‘just’ so they can try additional entree options. Thanks again to the family from Canada who took the time to share their travel experience with others.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
5.5 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
109 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
3.4 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
247 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glynn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glynn House Inn

Address: 59 Highland St, Ashland, NH 03217-4333
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: $177 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glynn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Glynn House Inn is situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions. The Inn is the perfect choice for romance, recreation and relaxation. Guests experience elegant surroundings, delicious food, modern amenities, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal. Reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, skiing, sleigh rides, snowmobiling, 'tax free' shopping or simply enjoy the delightful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glynn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glynn House Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing