We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized Service, Memorable Getaway”
Review of Glynn House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glynn House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Comfortable bed with meticulously appointed room decor. Wonderful Innkeepers. A hidden Gem in the center of NH!
Glenn and Pam's recommendations for day activities and evening dinning really made our stay stress free. They made reservations for our kayak trip and zip-line adventure, and even handed me a printed direction to restaurant!
Kids also enjoyed playing with their two lovely dalmatians too!

Room Tip: Check out his DVD library!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hongfei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

NH’s lakes & mountains regions offer visitors an extensive range of outdoor recreation choices. Hongzei and his children booked a zip-line adventure tour and went kayaking. Our guests receive discounts for both activities. We’re delighted they enjoyed their room – the Jefferson Suite is a guest favorite. We’re pleased they like our Dalmatian puppies – seven months old – too. Thanks Hongfei for taking the time to share your experience with other guests.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 433 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently had the fortunate opportunity to stay at the Glynn House Inn at the end of August for our 1yr anniversary/engagement celebration. I luckily came upon this bed and breakfast while searching ‘gluten free’ and ‘bed and breakfast’ when planning our weekend getaway. After reading all of the positive reviews, looking at the website, and reviewing the Squam Lake/Golden Pond area, we quickly decided upon Glynn House.

We arrived at the 3:00 check-in time and were warmly welcomed by Glenn, one of the inn-keepers. During our quick check-in, Glenn gave us a quick rundown on the complementary wine and cheese hour, a full selection of library videos that were available until 7, as well as restaurants and activities in the area. He asked about any food allergies and made a note that I would be taking full advantage of the made to order gluten-free breakfast.

Glenn took us up to our room and we were pleasantly surprised to find out that we had been upgraded to the Harrison Room. The room definitely had a romantic feel and even had a shower in the sleeping area facing the bed. We had full access to cable and were provided with the wifi-access code in case we needed it during our stay.

The two mornings we stayed, we took full advantage of the made to order breakfast and sampled the stuffed French toast and pesto poached eggs. Breakfast always started off with a plate of fresh cut up fruit, juice, and warm muffins (gluten free for me). Both breakfast choices were delicious (both the gluten free and regular versions). The service was just as good if not better than most restaurants we have visited.

Just to note, some of the other reviews I read while planning commented on extra charges and the late check-in time. Now, there are extra charges for room and food taxes that are separate from the room prices, but these charges are fully listed on the website. I can also fully understand the 3 o’clock check-in time since they have to get all the rooms ready after the guests leave at 11 o’clock.

We would 100% recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone traveling through the area. We were provided with a fine balance of friendly hospitality while also giving us all the privacy we were looking for our special getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks to our gluten free Rhode Island guests for taking the time to share their experience at the Inn. Once we realized how many travelers require gluten free diets, we established a full breakfast menu that offers a full range of gluten free suggestions. We’re always prepared for gluten free visitors. Guest with other special dietary requirements require a bit of notice. Our DVD library – currently about 350 titles – is popular with many guests. Our complimentary evening wine & cheese social hour is too. We’re delighted our Rhode Island guests elected to spend their first anniversary with us.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my first trip that I went on alone, and Glenn and Pam made it really special. They were really friendly, and genuinely interested in me and what I wanted to get out of my trip. The other guests were similarly awesome! The breakfasts were delicious, and Glenn was great about making sure everyone had what they needed. Glenn made sure I had a bunch of maps for the hiking I planned on going on, and had several other suggestions in case I wanted to try other trails. Also! Their dogs were adorable, and stayed out of the general guest areas.

The room I had (Harrison) was the cheapest that was available, and it was definitely cozy, but well-kept. I was surprised to see the shower in the middle of the room, which tells me that it's good I didn't bring along one of my friends, haha. Only downside to all of the energy-efficient lighting was that the lights took a few moments to "warm up", so the room was a little dim at times.

All-in-all, I would totally return here someday, should I need another escape from grad school!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlsfishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Many thanks to our guest from Cambridge for taking the time to share her Inn experience with other travelers. The reviewer had just finished her Masters Degree and taking a brief break before commencing a PHD program. We’re delighted she chose the Glynn House for her grad school escape and very pleased that innkeeper suggestions helped enhance her stay. CFL lights in guest rooms are gradually being replaced with LED lighting – more efficient and no more ‘warm up’.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent 4 days at the Inn - What a treat!
The room was perfect and very clean and we felt absolutely pampered by our hosts, both in terms of the breakfast as well as the information that Pam and Glenn provided as suggestions for food and day trips.
Ashland is a perfect spot if you want to experience the lakes area and the White Mountains - you do, however, need a car!
We recommend the Glynn House Inn highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Our guests from Denmark – currently residing in Germany - have cogently touched one of the most attractive aspects of the Glynn House Inn. Ashland – the small New Hampshire town where the Inn is located – is “a perfect spot if you want to explore experience the lakes area and the White Mountains”. Yes, a car is required, but visitors find that distances are short and choice of activities virtually unlimited.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I were going to visit our grandchildren in a summer camp in Piermont, NH. Totally unfamiliar with the area we had no clue as to where to spend the night before. I randomly selected Glynn House Inn from browsing through the Registry. What an absolutely fortunate choice--there are not enough words to praise this property and everyone involved therein. We had a beautiful room decorated in such good taste. I think it may have been the Coolidge room--all done in soft grey and impeccably clean. We cannot say enough about Glenn, his wife, Pam, and his daughter, Ingrid. They were the perfect innkeepers--warm, friendly, charming, informative, and interesting! We had to leave in the morning before the regular breakfast time but they insisted on seeing that we did have breakfast there. Our stay was too short but we really look forward to returning when we don't have such a time constraint. Would recommend it without the slightest hesitation. I am a very picky person and the Glynn House could not have been more perfect in every way!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLondons2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

The reviewer from Rhode Island says she’s a “picky person”. We’re delighted the Inn exceeded her standards and are grateful she took the time to share her experience with other travelers. We firmly believe a great stay isn’t ‘just’ about great food and elegant surroundings. We’re convinced that guests should also expect and receive genuine hospitality and uncompromising service. We look forward to hosting our ‘picky’ guests from Rhode Island again soon.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just returned from an Anniversary weekend away in New Hampshire. We chose to stay at the Glynn House Inn based on reviews we read as well as their very attractive and informative website. We had a lovely stay in the Jefferson Suite. We enjoyed the two person whirlpool tub as well as separate bathroom/shower. The suite is on the third floor where there is just one other room and we never saw another soul up there. It was very private and relaxing. The proprietors were welcoming and the Inn is beautiful. It is very close to the main street (which is tiny!) and is very convenient to wherever you may want to go. Glenn was very helpful in planning our day trip and was a friendly and speedy server at breakfast. The food was very good, I particularly liked the Belgian waffle and my husband loved the stuffed French toast. There was plenty of parking and all the amenities you could need. We would love to stay with them again.

Room Tip: The third floor was very quiet, if you don't mind stairs then it's very private. The websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrappingtwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We’re thrilled to read that our guests from Maine had a superb anniversary weekend. The Inn is a popular base for guests wanted to enjoy a romantic break. Double whirlpool baths (suites only) and fireplaces help to set the scene. Several local restaurants provide the perfect setting for a beautiful dinner too. Our third floor suites – Jefferson and Washington – are particularly quiet.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

As soon as we arrived, we were greeted and showed around the beautiful inn. I was impressed when they opened the door and showed us into our room (Coolidge) - nicely decorated, very clean, and comfortable. We went down for wine and cheese, where we met Glenn. He was extremely helpful in regards to recommending things to do. He also recommended some restaurants and made the reservation for us. We took his advice on a hike around Squam Lake (Five Fingers), which included a dip in the lake - I would highly recommend this hike! He also suggested some kayaking, which we did the following the day.

The bed is lovely, but the breakfast...is outstanding! We were lucky enough to enjoy two breakfasts - the dining room is very charming and the food is DElicious.

The inn itself is memorable, but the innkeepers make it even more memorable by taking such good care of their guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferb458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Many thanks to our guests from Montreal who took the time to share their experience with other travelers. Breakfast is a memorable meal at the Glynn House. Our menu includes over a dozen entrée choices. Hiking and kayaking around Squam Lake are just two of a long list of wonderful recreation options. NH’s Lakes and Mountains keep recreation enthusiasts happy 12 months a year.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
5.5 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
335 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
2.4 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
271 reviews
3.4 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glynn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glynn House Inn

Address: 59 Highland St, Ashland, NH 03217-4333
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: $173 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glynn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Glynn House Inn is situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions. The Inn is the perfect choice for romance, recreation and relaxation. Guests experience elegant surroundings, delicious food, modern amenities, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal. Reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, skiing, sleigh rides, snowmobiling, 'tax free' shopping or simply enjoy the delightful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Glynn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glynn House Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing