We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, relaxing getaway.”
Review of Glynn House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glynn House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here based in part on recommendations from Trip Advisor and also location. We were only going to stay for a night, but decided to stay an extra night. Glenn, Pam & Ingrid were very gracious hosts and gave us a suite as no one was staying there that night.

The rooms are clean and beds comfortable, and have all amenities including wifi that works fine. The food is good and the wine and cheese in the late afternoon is a nice touch.

Ashland is a nice little town with a good vibe and located close to the lake. There are several very good restaurants nearby and Glen is happy to make reservations for you.

We had a great time and look forward to staying there again in the near future. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinosaurdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Guests often tell us that they wish they’d booked a longer stay. New Hampshire’s Lakes and Mountains offer every visitor a compelling list of attractions, with activities that will appeal to every interest. Ashland – situated in the geographic center of the state – really is the perfect base for exploring NH. It’s also very accessible for those living in other New England States and the province of Quebec. Thanks so much to the guests who took the time to write this review. Suspect spend more time during your next visit.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 438 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed only one night at the Glynn House, but wished we had booked a longer stay. We were welcomed by Glen, the owner, who showed us his wonderful house. Our room, the Roosewelt suite, was awesome. A tasty breakfast was served in the main house, and so was complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon. A nice way to get in contact with other guests.

Room Tip: Roosewelt suite is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonekb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Our sincere thanks to the guests from Norway who took the time to share their Glynn House travel experience with other visitors. Breakfast is important part of the stay for many of our guests The same comment applies to our early evening wine & cheese hour. The Roosevelt Suite is particularly spacious and elegant – delighted you enjoyed it. Hopefully our Norwegian visitors will travel to America soon again spend more time exploring NH’s enchanting Lakes & Mountains.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a great place to stay. So welcoming. The breakfast is amazing. Complimentary happy hours. Fantastic room. As if this wasn't enough, Glenn is amazing. All of his recommendations are spot on. He truly enhances your stay in Ashland. Customer service is amazing. He was a travel guide must. Not one thing I would change.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jefferson room and it was fantastice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

What a terrific review - "Best Experience Ever"! Thanks so much for taking the time to tell other travelers about your stay. We’re all absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your suite, breakfasts and wine & hors d’oeuvres. We’re also pleased our suggestions helped enhance your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited the Glynn House Inn to look at local areas to move to. Glenn personally greeted us at the door asking us if we had any dietary limitations or allergies come breakfast. Personally walked us through the beautiful house showing us the dining room and sitting room where menus, drinks, and horderves were located. As he showed us into the room it was extremely clean stocked with waters and candies along with the beautiful roses I had requested for the girlfriend. We stayed in the Taft Room which had a comfortably cool temperature with the ceiling fan on and the option to a fireplace which in July did not see any use during our stay. There was a sheet with information pertaining to tea and coffee across the room come morning, breakfast at 8:30am, along with other items such as movie library available till 7pm. There was more than enough lighting in the room along with DirectTV. This is a charming home with age so floor boards creaking is to be expected though never an issue. It was possible to hear people in the hallway entering or leaving the rooms but again nothing of concern. Though we only saw the other guests at check-in or breakfast they were extremely polite and kind. Breakfast here was something to look forward to as the plethora of food and drink was as pleasing as the care and love that was put into the food we ate. Glenn being a very educated and kind man would always take the time in the morning to find out our plans or lack of plans for the day and advise us on places to visit or eat at. I would like to make this a point, if he advises you to go visit somewhere...do it. He advised us to visit Six Burner Bistro which was amazing along with Castle in the Clouds which had amazing views and a great lunch menu. He would also furnish us with maps of the roads or hiking paths along with any other things he thought we would enjoy. This being our first time at a Bed and Breakfast, Glenn and Pam have raised the bar with their handwork and customer service. This is a B&B that has owners who get it and care. There was never any questions, comments, or concerns Glenn did not answer without an onslaught of answers and advice. The only negative to our stay honestly was the bar of soap, just always felt soapy no matter how much you washed it off. With that being the only complaint if you can even call that one take the time and visit this inn. You won't regret it! Thank you Pam and Glenn!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Taft Room which got a lot of light come 6am in July. If you want a closed off bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Terrific guest reviews are always satisfying. It’s particularly nice to read wonderful comments from a couple that had never previously stayed at a bed & breakfast. We’re delighted they enjoyed our wonderful Victorian home and delicious food. We’re also pleased our suggestions enhanced their stay in NH’s spectacular Lakes Region. All travelers should expect uncompromising service and genuine hospitality – we’re glad we delivered. We look forward to seeing this delightful couple again!

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House websitefor additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I drove a couple hours north to visit the Glynn House Inn over a long weekend. The location I fantastic if you want to see the lakes or the White Mountain region. The innkeepers run a tidy business meaning they understand customer service. They asked us if we had any dietary limitations when we checked in. Breakfasts are fantastic and served quickly. The menu is pretty broad too on top of the daily muffins and fruit. We stayed in the Coolidge Room which had pleasant accoutrements. We were hoping for a hot tub, but that was not included in that particular room. It does have a nice fireplace and good lighting. While in our room, we could occasionally hear the other guests via the floorboards in the hallway, but it wasn't invasive. It is an old house and I think most B&Bers expect a little creaking here and there.

The other guests were quite pleasant and I would imagine much of it is a result o Glenn & Pam's hard work. Before dinner they provided a "wine and cheese" (actually more like wine and brownies) for all of the guests. They had a large assortment of local restaurant menus available, which was a nice help for out-of-towners. Additionally the innkeepers were pleased to make recommendations and accommodations, where necessary. For the two nights we were there, their recommendations on restaurants were spot on. It's no surprise because they are curious about their guests experiences so that they can make informed recommendations. I don't think there was a question or a concern that they couldn't answer in an educated and polite (when we'd ask a really dumb question) manner. They "get" customer service, which is of prime importance when you're on vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks so much for sharing your experience at the Glynn House. Our location really is ideal – at least for those who enjoy spectacular scenery and a host of recreation options. Our 12 plus entrée option breakfast menu provides lots of choice, and everyone says the food is fantastic. Delighted you appreciated the customer service. We ‘really’ do enjoy having guest and believe uncompromising service should be provided all the time.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently spent two very comfortable nights at the Glynn House Inn. My husband and I were welcomed graciously on our first evening and given some guidance about places to eat in the area. The next morning we were served a delicious breakfast, given a choice of entrees and served graciously. Again, we were given guidance about locations to visit in the area and routes to take to our destination. We hope to return again next Fall if possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

We’re delighted you had a comfortable stay at the Glynn House. Your comments also suggest that our suggestions helped make your stay a more satisfying experience. Foliage season is a terrific season to visit New Hampshire. The trees provide an ever changing palette of colors. Our lakes and mountains provide a wonderful backdrop. We look forward to seeing you again.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A last minute, get out of the heat trip to Ashland, NH and the many lakes and rivers in which to swim brought us to The Glynn House Inn.
We were greeted by Glenn, one of the owners of the inn, who showed us around the Inn and to our room. One of the things that stays in my mind were all the little things; soft drinks, mixed nuts, pretzels and hard candy always available.
Also available is an extensive DVD borrowing library.
Though our room was small and did not have a closet I would reccomend this place to anyone.
Oh and did I mention the great breakfast with more then 6 meals to select from.

When we return to the Ashland area we will be sure to book a room here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelKatNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

As the guests who wrote the “Can’t Wait to Return” review mentioned, the Glynn House is situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes region. Guests are spoiled for choice: antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, professional summer theatre, rock climbing, ‘tax free’ shopping and more! At the Inn, guests can chose from lots of complimentary goodies – the items mentioned in the review and free wine & hors d’oeuvres. The cozy Hoover Bedroom is beautifully decorated, air conditioned and very comfortable. It’s great value too!

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
2.4 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#1 of 3 in Holderness
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cheney House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
161 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
379 reviews
3.4 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#2 of 3 in Holderness
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glynn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glynn House Inn

Address: 59 Highland St, Ashland, NH 03217-4333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: $172 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glynn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Glynn House Inn is situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions. The Inn is the perfect choice for romance, recreation and relaxation. Guests experience elegant surroundings, delicious food, modern amenities, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal. Reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, skiing, sleigh rides, snowmobiling, 'tax free' shopping or simply enjoy the delightful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glynn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glynn House Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing