We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glynn House Inn is the Real Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glynn House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glynn House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Glynn House Inn is the Real Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2008

Easily the best B&B my wife and I have ever stayed in.

Stayed here for two nights and then we had a reservation at another place up in Sugar Hill, you know the one that looks nice on the website but is actually a dump when you get there, and we hated the place in Sugar Hill so much we called at a very late hour to come back and thankfully we got the last room.

The breakfast is fantastic, the location is very easy to find and close to plenty of activities.

This place is the real deal!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lefty33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    42
    1
    3
    16
See reviews for
58
277
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2008

I am refuting everything dublgoodFlorida wrote about the Glynn House. First, when you arrive, there is a very cheerful, enthusiastic greeting, and a feeling that you are going to be warm and cozy for this visit. We arrived, with snow piled high, to a very safe, well plowed area and began our check in. As there was only one other couple there for the evening, we peeked around and saw the different rooms in the Carriage House in the back. We moved into the Roosevelt. It was wonderful, large and roomy, but not yet ready for occupancy as it was not the room we had requested. They were gracious enough to offer to have it ready within an hour, which they did. There's everything you need available for a cozy stay. It was extremely dreary outside, weatherwise, but there was a darling kitchenette upstairs where you could pick out a good tea, store some food, and then head for the Big House to pick out a DVD or two. Pam was absolutely delightful and Glenn was full of information about the area. Breakfast was flexible which is nice when you don't quite know what you might want in the morning. These Innkeepers are very, very accomodating, not rude, and I HIGHLY doubt any tape recordings were going on. It is in a lovely area. My husband walked our dog and met the previous fire chief in town who took him aside to show him all his fishing rods! So, dublgoodFlorida, perhaps you were the problem???

  • Liked — Accomodating and friendly innkeepers and staff
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVEOOldSaybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2007

Who knew that one could find such peace, quiet and comfort only 2 hours away from Boston?

If you're looking for B&B or a place where you could completely relax - go to the Glynn House. Everything about it is wonderful: the rooms are super cozy and immaculately clean, the breakfasts, cookies and afternoon snacks are delicious, the innkeepers are very hospitable and interesting people (so much so that Glenn cleaned the snow off the guests' cars after a snow storm!).

It almost doesn't matter which bedroom/suite you stay in - they are all beautiful, decorated with tasteful period furniture. Each one has a special feel.

Ask the innkeepers (Glenn, Pamela and Igrid) about discounted lift tickets - you get a great deal!

One piece of advice: add at least 10-15 minutes to all time/distance estimates. Loon is actually 30 (not 20) minutes away. Mike Love's Lemongrass restaurant (great food!! try the Shellfish Coconut Curry) is about 25 (not 12) minutes away.

We'd go back there over and over again!

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — We had to go home
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGirl24-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2007

What a gem of a find. We found this Inn through a search and loved the pictures of the Inn, the rooms and the area and what it has to offer. When we arrived at the Inn around 3:15 we were greated by a very friendly Ingrid whom took us on a tour of the Inn and then off to our Suite with a large whirlpool. After getting settled in, Glenn offered many sites and activities to explore while there was still some daylight. Although the weekend was filled with things to do, the evening wine and refreshments and mingling with the innkeepers and other guests is quite enjoyable. They really make you feel at home. Pam's breakfast in the morning was awesome! The whole experience was enjoyable beyond expectations and WE WILL RETURN...SOON.

  • Liked — the feeling of being at home
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shrlcss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2007

Don't bother staying at the Glynn House Inn, unless you like rude inn keepers. The new owners do not like people to question ANYTHING. Their attitude is that you are staying in their house so just: shut up, don't ask for anything, be a nice guest and pay your bill.
These people need to stay at the Govenors House Inn to see how inn keepers are suppose to treat their guests.
Neighborhood is less than what is shown on website, so don't fall for the pictures.
Best advise. Stay at a motel.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank dublgoodFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2007

In June 2007 my husband and I were going to spend a week traveling New Hampshire and Maine. Our first stop was in Jackson, NH where we spent a weekend at the Wentworth Inn for a family wedding. A beautiful Inn which we would highly recommend.

Our next stop was to be at the Glynn House. As soon as we started driving down the street that Glynn House is on we felt very uncomfortable. My husband and I did not feel safe at all.

We arrived early and were asked to leave and go have lunch. This gave us some time to drive around a little bit which confirmed our original feelings.

We went back to the Glynn House and told them we were not going to stay but we would pay for one night anyway (we were intending to stay 2 nights). We found out later that the inn keeper seemed to have taped the conversation between herself and my husband.

Glynn house charged our credit card for two nights for the full amount even though they had advertised a summer special and we were to get $50 off.

Our next two stops were great. I had made all of our reservations on line.

Again, I would advise all to stay clear of the Glynn House for your own safety and peace of mind.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Every thing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

The owners were friendly, helpful and full of suggestions for our trip. The room was very nicely decorated and comfortable. High Speed internet was good. Breakfast great. They allowed us to book for only one night which was difficult to find.

  • Liked — Clean comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ssl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
7.6 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
5.5 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#1 of 3 in Holderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glynn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glynn House Inn

Property: Glynn House Inn
Address: 59 Highland St, Ashland, NH 03217-4333
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glynn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Glynn House Inn is situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions. The Inn is the perfect choice for romance, recreation and relaxation. Guests experience elegant surroundings, delicious food, modern amenities, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal. Reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, skiing, sleigh rides, snowmobiling, 'tax free' shopping or simply enjoy the delightful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Glynn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glynn House Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing