We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sense of customer service”
Review of Glynn House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glynn House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently took a weekend trip to Glynn House Inn. It started out really nice, with a great breakfast and a nice conversation with owner Glen. We had asked to book massages when we booked the trip and were told it would be confirmed separately. When booking, we requested phone as our preferred mode of contact as we don't check email often. Despite this, an email had been sent regarding a massage, which we didn't receive. Then the first morning, we talked with Glen about getting a massage and were told that their masseuse likely wasn't available that day, so we found a local spa to go to, not realizing they had booked one. As we were out and about for the day, we were called and told that our massage was ready, and when we explained that we didn't know about the booking, we were spoken to very rudely by Ingrid and were given little choice but to return and pay for the massages. When I called back to clarify and explain our side of things, the co-owner Pam was extremely rude and hung up on me! No business should behave that way to a paying customer, and I was very upset after the conversation. Upon returning to the inn, we were greeted by a disgruntled masseuse who verbally attacked us through our car window and threw a bill at us for the unreceived massages. Despite being treated so poorly by the innkeepers and masseuse, we apologized to all and paid the full amount. Never once did we receive an apology for the miscommunication or the way we were treated. We made it quite clear that we never intended to skip out on the masseuse if we had known, and would never intentionally cheat someone out of their income (hence why we paid the bill anyway). I am apalled at the situation, and based on other reviews on here, it appears we are not the first.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

All of us at the Glynn House regret that the guests who wrote this review feel their stay with us was less than perfect.The Glynn House partners with a licensed massage therapist offering in-room massage. Guests consistently rave about the quality of the service and are delighted by the reasonable rates. The couple who who wrote this review booked two massages. Their appointments were confirmed via email and reconfirmed on two subsequent occasions by phone. Why they subsequently decided to have massages elsewhere is mystifying. It's not surprising that the massage therapist, who works with the Inn, expected to be paid. We're pleased the couple accepted their financial liability and paid for the services they'd requested. We remain committed to continuous improvement including communication between guests, third party business partners and ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 442 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Glynn House Inn. I was a bit skeptical of a trip to Ashland, NH to stay at a B&B. They are two things I have never done. As soon as we walked into the main house - my fears disappeared. Glen was very welcoming in a very relaxed manner - a pleasant upgrade from obnoxious hotel clerks. The decor is charming and comforting and very well maintained. We were given a tour, met an adorably sweet dog, and were very happy with our room. We stayed in the Harding Room. The fireplace was magical. The bathroom was pristine. The bed was heaven. I am a bit of a neat freak and I was thrilled with the condition of everything. The room was gorgeously decorated just like the main house. We did return to the main house for the social hour for some wine and a bit of Scrabble. We then headed to the Six Burner Bistro on a stellar recommendation from Glen & Pam. Best decision of our night (after of course choosing the Glynn House!) The ambience at the restaurant was phenomenal and the food was so good I am hungry just writing about it here! Breakfast in the morning was perfect. The room is set up just like a little restaurant so you can be as social as you'd like. Fresh fruit, fresh muffins, coffee, tea, juices, and a darling little menu of scrumptious breakfast options all set the stage for a delectable first meal of the day. All in all my only complaint is that we only stayed one night! We do plan on coming back again and again as well as turning some friends onto it as well! Thank you Glen & Pam for a great stay! I highly recommend this charming B&B that other B&Bs would do well to take a lesson from!

Room Tip: They offer gorgeous pet friendly rooms ! Don't worry if you aren't bringing a pet and select...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahS1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you! It’s really very, very satisfying to receive such a gracious review. Your comments tell us that we’re continuing to create a service experience that matches our core business objectives – elegant room décor; numerous & tasty breakfast choices; uncompromising service; and genuine hospitality. We look forward to future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My partner and I chose Ashland purely because we were travelling through and we are so glad we did. Glynn House Inn deserves its recommendations as a wonderful place to stay. The accomodation house was beautifully decorated and very neat and clean. The innkeepers were more than welcoming, with plenty of ideas for places to eat and visit. A extensive range of DVD's made a night in a treat, especially when they provided candy and two bags of microwave popcorn all for $6!! Breakfast was gourmet, fit for a restaurant! We greatly enjoyed and highly recommend a stop through the quaint town of Ashland, and Glynn House Inn is a must!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

The delightful Australian couple that wrote the "A Hidden Surprise" review only spent one evening with us. They explored Ashland and parts of the NH’s spectacular Lakes Region before heading north to Quebec. We’re thrilled that they like Ashland, and New Hampshire's Lakes Region, as much as we do. We’re also very pleased they enjoyed Inn’s décor, their “gourmet” breakfast, our DVD library and our ‘Movie Munchie’ package. Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a long weekend at Glynn House for the sixth consecutive year. We went when we first started dating, and loved it so much that we decided to make it a tradition.

This is the best Bed & Breakfast we've ever stayed at. A few of the things we love about it:

-Rooms with fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. In that regard, I'd definitely recommend springing for one of the suites or junior suite if you can afford it, and if that's your thing, of course. I suppose not everyone cares about having both, but we do, and there are surprisingly few B&Bs in the area that offer them.

-DELICIOUS breakfast. In previous years you could choose between a savory and sweet option each morning. This past year they changed it so you can order one of six (I think) different options, which was a great update. Plus fresh fruit, freshly baked muffins, coffee, tea, and juice.

-Small/intimate breakfast room, but still your own private table. This may seem like a weird "like," but we've been to other B&Bs where you share a table with others. I'm a little anti-social/shy, I guess, but when we go away like this, it's to be with each other. I like not feeling like I have to make polite conversation with strangers before I've even had my coffee :)

-If you ARE social, there is a social hour each evening with complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres.

-Super romantic if you feel like just laying low and relaxing, but also close to plenty of activities (skiing, snowmobiling, hiking, etc.).

-The Innkeepers! Glenn, Pam, and Ingrid are wonderful (of course, or we wouldn't have continued to go back year after year!).

We can't say enough good things about Glynn House. You are missing out if you don't give this place a try.

Room Tip: Paying the extra $ for a suite with a fireplace and whirlpool tub is so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noscreenname0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We’re always thrilled to read wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. It’s always particularly satisfying to view comments from guests who’ve stayed with us again and again. We were particularly pleased to see that our new breakfast menu was well received. There are about 14 different choices each morning plus the same number of options for gluten free travelers. Separate tables in the dining room; evening wine & hors d’oeuvres; loads of outdoor recreation options; double whirlpool baths in the suites; and fireplaces in the bedrooms and suites – all help make the Glynn House a great base for a brief getaway or a longer holiday break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me with a 5 night stay here this past Valentine's Day since neither of us have been to New Hampshire before, but a number of our coworkers raved about the hiking, skiing and shopping to be found in this state. He'd found Glynn House via an Internet search for the best and breakfast inns of New Hampshire and truly this one surpassed his expectations and absolutely thrilled me - from the lovely, comfortable room and delicious breakfasts to the proximity of great hiking, skiing, shopping and local brew pubs.

Our room was spacious considering that the inn is a well-maintained Victorian house in the heart of Ashland (Squam Lakes region), with a very comfortable king size bed, a delightfully warming gas fireplace, a wonderfully relaxing jacuzzi tub, and a nice bathroom with a corner shower. Both the bedroom and bathroom maintain the Victorian feel through the decor and the old-fashioned radiators, and were always the perfect temperature after coming back from a day of winter hiking or skiing. Complimentary robes and afghans are provided for use during your stay as well, and special touches like a bouquet of roses can be purchased. A seperate building on the property maintains rooms for those travelling with pets, and though I can't speak to the look or feel of those, I did notice that there was a regular stream of guests staying there too.

The inn's owners are a lovely British couple, exceptionally friendly and dedicated to providing a great experience for their guests (such as when Glenn helped us to warm a quart of cider, and when he loaned my boyfriend his own hat and gloves when we couldn't find his). They were always happy to help arrange dinner reservations and suggest daily activities, including the sale of lift tickets right on the premises and having numerous laminated maps and map brochures for finding local and Franconia hiking trails, and of course knowledgeable of where to go (or else more than happy to research on your behalf) for special interests and good deals. And the breakfasts they serve each morning are simply scrumptious. The menu lists 8 or so delicious options, and includes fruit, juice, coffee or tea, and a muffin. Breakfast service is attentive and provides a great social opportunity for learning about Glenn's fascinating world travels and for getting to know the other guests.

Our room, the Madison suite, was on the first floor outside of the common room (where complimentary treats and sherry are offered), and only during one night did we encounter other guests sitting there (couldnt hear them with the door closed, for those who may be concerned). Being social, we enjoy meeting new people through these types of settings, and had a memorable night of wine and conversation as a result of sitting down with them, so I would enjoy meeting more like-minded guests, say through an evening meet and greet with a treat, or perhaps some type of weekly/every few days event before or after dinner to encourage guests to mingle. This would only be a bonus, as the plushness of the inn is conducive to cuddling up by the fire with one's love at the end of a long winter day, and that in and of itself was a thoroughly enjoyable escape from the stress of our jobs.

To speak briefly of recommended activities, we enjoyed local hiking at Mt. Percival with its stellar views of Big Squam Lake, the challenge and beauty of the trails in Franconia State Park, hitting the slopes for our very first time at Waterville Valley, and stumbling upon the Woodstock Inn and Brewery.

The return on investment for this trip was exceptional, and we look forward to coming back again to experience the other seasons and additional trails and brews. We would certainly stay at the Glynn House again, for the value relative to the plush and scrumptious offerings. Thank you for helping to shape an unforgettable experience :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatPoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

We were absolutely delighted to receive a five star review the guests who stayed with us for five evenings during February! Our commitment to all guests is to provide elegant surroundings, delicious food, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. After reading the "A Perfect Getaway" a couple of times, it was pleasing to conclude that our guests believe we'd achieved our objective.

We're also committed to continuous improvement. Guests who've stayed with us several times, over a number of years, tell us that the Inn - environment, food, service and hospitality - just continue to get better. It's always very satisfying to hear these comments. Nevertheless, we recognize that we can must continue to provide an even more satisfying environment for guests.

Thanks again to the wonderful couple from Connecticut. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I just got back from a three day trip to NH. I booked the "Ski & Sled Package" with the Glynn House Inn which was a full day of skiing at Waterville Valley and a 2 hour, exhilarating snowmobile tour through Franconia Notch. The whole trip was amazing but the accommodations at the Inn were perfection! Glynn and Pam are the nicest people and really know how to make you feel welcome and at home. The bed was amazingly comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and the attention to detail did not go unnoticed! We highly recommend this beautiful and relaxing locale for your next romantic retreat.

Room Tip: Get a room with a whirlpool and fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

NH’s Lakes & Mountains regions are truly a winter recreation paradise. The guests who wrote this review - like many, many others - got a taste of our winter wonderland. By booking one of our sled, ski and stay packages - they saved money too. We're delighted they had a terrific winter getaway. We're also very, very pleased that they too the time to tell others about their experience. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spend the night of January 12, 2012 in the Coolidge room. Room was clean, comfortable as well as elegant. Inn Keepers were very warm while offering excellent service. Our experience was very enjoyable, so the next time we will check out one of the suites. You won't be dissapointed staying the night here. You will feel like royalty living in a large home.

Room Tip: I would a upper level room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

We’re always pleased to receive positive reviews from guests. It’s particularly satisfying to receive Five Star comments on Trip Advisor from individuals who’ve never stayed at a bed & breakfast before. We know – as do others who are regular bed & breakfast clients – that a great bed & breakfast is always more enjoyable than a stay at a large impersonal hotel chain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
3.5 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
262 reviews
8 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cheney House Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
278 reviews
7.4 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glynn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glynn House Inn

Address: 59 Highland St, Ashland, NH 03217-4333
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: $172 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glynn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Glynn House Inn is situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions. The Inn is the perfect choice for romance, recreation and relaxation. Guests experience elegant surroundings, delicious food, modern amenities, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal. Reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, skiing, sleigh rides, snowmobiling, 'tax free' shopping or simply enjoy the delightful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glynn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glynn House Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing