We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Getaway!”
Review of Glynn House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glynn House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newport, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I just got back from a three day trip to NH. I booked the "Ski & Sled Package" with the Glynn House Inn which was a full day of skiing at Waterville Valley and a 2 hour, exhilarating snowmobile tour through Franconia Notch. The whole trip was amazing but the accommodations at the Inn were perfection! Glynn and Pam are the nicest people and really know how to make you feel welcome and at home. The bed was amazingly comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and the attention to detail did not go unnoticed! We highly recommend this beautiful and relaxing locale for your next romantic retreat.

Room Tip: Get a room with a whirlpool and fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
NH’s Lakes & Mountains regions are truly a winter recreation paradise. The guests who wrote this review - like many, many others - got a taste of our winter wonderland. By booking one of our sled, ski and stay packages - they saved money too. We're delighted they had a terrific winter getaway. We're also very, very pleased that they too the time to tell others about their experience. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    42
    1
    3
    16
See reviews for
58
278
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spend the night of January 12, 2012 in the Coolidge room. Room was clean, comfortable as well as elegant. Inn Keepers were very warm while offering excellent service. Our experience was very enjoyable, so the next time we will check out one of the suites. You won't be dissapointed staying the night here. You will feel like royalty living in a large home.

Room Tip: I would a upper level room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We’re always pleased to receive positive reviews from guests. It’s particularly satisfying to receive Five Star comments on Trip Advisor from individuals who’ve never stayed at a bed & breakfast before. We know – as do others who are regular bed & breakfast clients – that a great bed & breakfast is always more enjoyable than a stay at a large impersonal hotel chain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Eisenhower Suite for two nights to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We had stayed previously in 2004 and 2005 when the Inn was owned by a different couple, and were pleased to return a third time to bring back memories. Unfortunately, our expectations were not met. The current innkeepers give off a tense, cold vibe, similar to the service one gets at any average hotel chain. In my opinion, the selling point of a B&B is the warm personal touch, and that was lacking.

We stayed two nights, and had to leave early on the morning of check-out. After eating breakfast on the first morning (which was delicious in spite of having to eat some of it cold, due to politely listening to the innkeeper explain why the current owners were better than previous owners, along with political views, touting his own intelligence, and giving his take on other guests and people in general), we went to the kitchen to inform the other two innkeepers that we would need to leave early the next morning and would miss breakfast. I half expected an offer of early coffee, muffins, etc. seeing as we paid for the experience, but the only statement made was "do you want to check-out now?"

To sum it up, my wife and I had a great experience because we are adaptable, positive people. However, we could have had the same experience at a much less expensive chain hotel, if we knew we weren't going to have the pleasant experience we had previously come to know. We will not return, and that's a disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strumminsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We’re all very disappointed that this couple’s stay at the Glynn House Inn did not meet their expectations. Our innkeepers have read their Trip Advisor review multiple times to try and gain a better understanding of what went wrong – and improve the service experience of future guests. Our thoughts….

‘Early’ continental breakfasts are served 20+ times each year to our guests. When our innkeepers were told - “we won’t be having breakfast, we’re leaving at 7 am or before” – they concluded that the guests had no interest in receiving food or beverages prior to their departure. Hindsight suggests an offer should have been extended.

When guests indicate they need to leave early, an offer to arrange check-out at a time when the pressure of departure is minimal is only courteous. The individual asking the question was being helpful, not process driven!

Some guests like to chat. Others prefer to engage other guests. Some couples simply wish to spend time together. Signals are usually ‘clear as a bell’. On other occasions, they’re quite subtle. Clearly, preferences of this couple were misunderstood. Apologies!

A 10th anniversary celebration is a very important occasion. Again, we regret that this couple’s experience with us was flawed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was a great inn with wonderfu innkeepers knowledgable about the area and very willing to help you find activities for your day. The room was wonderful with a gas fireplace and four poster bed. The ambience of the inn was warm and welcoming. Ashland is a tiny little town but close to many attractions if you would like to see the sights.

Room Tip: One room had the bathroom essentially in the bedroom but others had a separate room for the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read that - like many other visitors - you found Ashland well situated to enable you to explore NH's spectacular lakes and mountains. We were also delighted to note that you appear to have liked everything about your stay. We hope you'll use the Glynn House Inn as a base on future visits to New Hampshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in many Inns across the USA and without a doubt this is one of the best we have ever stayed in. Our room was beautifully furnished, decorated and equipped with everything to ensure our comfort and the breakfasts were imaginative and tasty. Things you might find and expect at many similar Inns, however what really made the difference was how welcome we were made to feel by MIles (the dog) and his co inn-keepers Pam, Glynn and Ingrid. Glynn also took time to share and recommend ideas and suggestions for places we might like to visit which proved invaluable. Certainly an Inn we would return to and recommend to anyone visiting the Ashland area.

Room Tip: A great base for exploring New Hampshire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glynnhouse, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We're always pleased to receive positive comments from guests. It's particularly satisfying receive kudos from individuals who can compare their experience at the Glynn House with a number of other properties across America. Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor Review! We're all committed to ensuring that we continue provide exceptional food, service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Glynn House is ideally placed to visit the many attractions of NH. Our visit was made all the more enjoyable by the excellent service, the comfortable and interesting rooms and the splendid breakfasts. Our hosts made every effort to make us welcome with the evening happy hour and the advice and help they gave with regard to routes and attractions was invaluable. We have taken many happy memories of our six days at Glynn House back to the UK and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks so much to the guests who took the time to write the Trip Advisor Review titled "Excellent Base to Tour New Hampshire". The Glynn House Inn is truly perfectly situated for those who wish to explore the best of New Hampshire. We're situated in the geographic center of the state. Guests will also discover that they're right in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular lakes and mountains regions - arguably the most attractive in the State. Guests who wish to stay for an extended period, and avoid the tiresome routine of packing and unpacking, will find the Inn is well positioned for those who want to make day trips to the Southern Coast of Maine and / or visit some of the charming villages in central Vermont. Again many thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers. Hope you'll have a chance to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our second visit to The Glynn house and we weren't disappointed. Fantastic hosts Pam and Glenn made us very welcome.........and those breakfasts are to die for. The wine, cheese and other treats offered late afternoon are a great way of meeting people and the owners are always ready with advice about what to do in the area and where to go. Both of the rooms we have stayed in (Harrison and Grant) have been excellent. We have made it our mission to go back again so we can enjoy all of the other breakfast choices! Thank you Pam and Glenn for your hospitality. Chris and Alison Geib, Cambridgeshire, England.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodison1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glynnhouse, Manager at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Chris and Alison, Thanks so much for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor Review. We all enjoyed seeing you again and were very pleased to read that you again had a wonderful stay with us. We remain committed to delivery exceptional food, service and genuine hospitality. Thanks again for selecting the Glynn House Inn. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
7.6 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
5.5 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glynn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glynn House Inn

Property: Glynn House Inn
Address: 59 Highland St, Ashland, NH 03217-4333
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glynn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Glynn House Inn is situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions. The Inn is the perfect choice for romance, recreation and relaxation. Guests experience elegant surroundings, delicious food, modern amenities, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal. Reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, skiing, sleigh rides, snowmobiling, 'tax free' shopping or simply enjoy the delightful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glynn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glynn House Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing