We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back...”
Review of Glynn House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glynn House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 29, 2012

...with friends and family!

For the 'time compromised', here's my review:

No need to look elsewhere in the greater locale than Glynn House. It's a treasure, as are the interesting, well travelled and considerate family running it. I will taint this five-star review by saying only that the pillows on the otherwise comfortable bed in our impeccable room were of the unforgiving fiber-fill variety that just don't work. Note: I did not ask for alternatives -- something tells me I would have been accommodated.

A little more granularity? My wife and I are not 'foodies', but wherever we go, what we order should be well prepared. Glenn and Pamela show that they have paid attention to the best aspects of their experience abroad, especially when it comes to food. The breakfast menu goes well beyond the 'service fare' found at so many quaintly presented B&Bs we have encountered and ultimately sent us off on our day with a glow.

If you run or hike, they know the routes and trails. Dining out? Great recommendations with interesting back stories and if you've done much traveling outside of the states, be prepared to share... we're the richer for it.

Enjoy!






Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank CrowPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor Review. We're all very pleased that you were pleased with your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!

With regard to pillows, you're assumption is correct - we do have feather pillows available. We'll make a note in our reservation system. Please remind us when making future reservations - or simply ask after you arrive.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 442 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed in the Glynn House Inn for 5 days because of a Gordon Conference in Holderness.

Everything was perfectly clean and the people were very friendly.

It is the most quiet hotel that I have visited in the last 25 years.

Cheers!

Rob Dirks

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Our guest from Belgium stayed with us for five nights whilst attending the Gordon Conference at the Holderness School. Business travelers have requirements that differ from those of individuals taking a getaway holiday break. We were pleased to read that the Glynn House Inn rated a five star review. Thanks to Rob for taking the time to write a review - and apologies for not responding sooner! We hope our guest will pay us a visit on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband & I have visited the Glynn House for 5 years on New Years' Eve. Check-in was a breeze, even though we had arrived late. Our suite was always perfect. We loved the huge jacuzzi tubs and fireplace. We were given a bottle of champagne & a couple chocolate chip cookies. In town we love The Common Man for dinner and afterward drinks upstairs in the loft. Any questions about the area were always answered in depth (this was with the previous owners). Breakfast was always an experience to savor. Highly recommend & can't wait for us to make another trip.

Room Tip: The room off the kitchen can be noisy. We especially loved the room with the turret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetcin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Customers who return to the Inn 'year after year' do so because we continue to meet and exceed their expectations. We're always particularly pleased to receive Trip Advisor reviews from repeat guests because people reading their reviews know that anyone who returns again and again does so because the total experience - surroundings, food, service and hospitality - are really top notch.

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. We hope to see you again later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After reading some of the other reviews we were apprehensive about giving Glynn House such a high rating, but we are basing this review on our stay. (We never met Glenn's wife or daughter which seems to be the basis of many of the bad reviews.)

Noting that the check-in time listed on our confirmation was between 3-7pm, we planned our arrival around 6 pm and spent the day on the lakes. As soon as we walked up we were greeted by the innkeeper, Glenn. He welcomed us, showed us around the inn and even had local restaurant recommendations and menus to view before I had the chance to ask! He called and made reservations for us at the Six Burner Bistro and gave us a print out of directions to the restaurant. I can't tell you how thankful I was not to have to use my phone to look up dinner options and directions! (And the dinner was great!)

We stayed in the Washington Suite at the top of the turret complete with jacuzzi, fireplace and sitting room overlooking the front yard.

At breakfast the next morning Glenn greeted us and asked what type of tea we would like while he brought us fresh muffins and fruit. I was impressed by his ability to remember we were tea drinkers having asked us the night before. He was very friendly, accommodating all the guests there, recommending driving routes, activities and sites to see that seemed to fit the preference of each, all while promptly bringing out plates of food. (A wonderful hike with swimming for us, guided tours for others or the quickest route home, etc).

Overall an excellent weekend, we really enjoyed our stay and the hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review. We're delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and hope see you again whenever you feel like taking a break in NH's spectacular lakes & mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Where to begin..

My girlfriend and I were traveling north from NYC we planned to stay at the Glynn House after reading reviews on here.

When we arrived, we were early (about 2pm). we were greeted by Ingrid, who was incredibly rude. The first words out of her mouth were "You're early". I would have preferred something on the lines of "Hello.." Someone bellowed from the back "CHECK INS NOT TILL THREE!!...."
She advised us to leave for awhile and go to Canada!.. or perhaps ride the
"Kangamagus" for awhile.... Telling your guests to simply "LEAVE" is incredibly rude, this is not customer service or hospitality.

We had lunch and finally (and regrettably) returned. We were the only guests in the inn this night. Obviously, they could have allowed us to settle in if there was no one in the inn and we were simply a few hours early.

The next morning we watched the two beasts act rude to another couple the next night who were in from Massachusetts. The couple arrived and were banging on the front door. We let them in and they were looking for the innkeepers. We told them we had no idea where they were... They called a few times and rang the inside bell.. Again no one arrived. Finally the daughter showed up to only act gruff and abrasive to them.

Save your money and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Big P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We have been going here since 1994, original owners Betsey & Karol, you will see the history of how they restored this Inn and brought the original building and other buidlings to a new restored contemporary Glamor. Beautiful Appointments new owners lovely. Great bfast.. Ashland NH lovely town, great Pizza in town, Common Man Restaurant ( the original ) and serves as a wonderful gateway for day trips,hiking etc.. enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keltictraveler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We have many guests who return to the Inn again and again. Many visitors are ‘enchanted by our historic circa 1895 Victorian home. We compliment the classic structure with elegant furnishings, contemporary amenities and delicious – 14 entrée choices each and every morning. Our town Ashland is situated in the geographic center of New Hampshire – the perfect base for those who want to explore the spectacular lakes and mountains. We’re also very accessible for those driving from major Northeastern population centers and only two hours from Boston’s Logan Airport.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I recently visited the Glynn House Inn, in Ashland, NH. Unfortunately, it was a dreadful experience. Our first contact, at the front door, was with a nasty, rude, belligerant hostess, who slammed the door on my face for having the audacity of showing up just prior to their designated check-in time of 3:00 PM. Upon returning, at the proper time, I was again verbally assaulted by this nasty, rude, vulgar, ill-tempered 'hostess' and we were subsequently forced to abandon our stay there. A B&B should offer more than just a clean room and a list of 'rules', that must be explicitly followed. It should offer a pleasant and welcoming environment, which the Glynn House hostess failed miserably at. My fellow travelers, please be aware that pretty pictures and flowery descriptions on a website, do not always paint an accurate picture of a facility or the hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Why was this guest asked to leave the property? The husband was rude, abusive and threatening. Guest deposit was refunded in full and the innkeeper waived the inn’s cancellation policy sacrificing revenue exceeding $1,800! Thoughtful travelers will appreciate this decision was not made without substantive reason.

The facts are entirely different than the tale described in the July 2012 Trip Adviser review. The guest arrived over three hours prior to check-in. When informed that the room had only recently been vacated and required cleaning, he became belligerent, rude and aggressive. One hour later – still two hours before check-in – the guest returned and without ever viewing the suite booked – ‘demanded’ to be accommodated in a different suite that was already reserved for another guest, or in a second that is not pet friendly. The guest’s attitude became increasingly abusive and threatening, reaching a level of intensity that the innkeeper became concerned for her physical safety. She regrettably decided the only prudent decision was to ask the guest to leave the premises, which she did, and simultaneously informed him that his deposit would be fully refunded and any obligation to pay for the remainder of stay waived. Throughout the exchanges described, the innkeeper / owner treated the guest with the utmost restraint and courtesy in view of the abuse that she was subjected to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
3.5 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
262 reviews
8 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cheney House Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
278 reviews
7.4 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glynn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glynn House Inn

Address: 59 Highland St, Ashland, NH 03217-4333
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: $172 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glynn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Glynn House Inn is situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions. The Inn is the perfect choice for romance, recreation and relaxation. Guests experience elegant surroundings, delicious food, modern amenities, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal. Reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, skiing, sleigh rides, snowmobiling, 'tax free' shopping or simply enjoy the delightful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glynn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glynn House Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing