We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the side trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Common Man

Common Man
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the side trip”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Unless you're going thru Ashland, you won't come across it but this is a great restaurant with really nice atmosphere. It's easy to find. Just take the Ashland exit off RT 93. Good variety in the menu and they do a good job on everything. And the price is fine.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jstyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    109
    36
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurants”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Going to the Common Man is such a treat. We live a distance away but we are never disappointed when we visit. Menu is consistently good with a great variety of comfort food or pub fare. Atmosphere is fantastic with friendly, down to earth staff. We always eat in the tavern upstairs. The last time we were with family and everyone enjoyed their meals, which come with salad and bread--salmon, Portsmouth pie, bison meatloaf and pizza. Each meal was super! The tavern is a bit more low key but with the same great service and menu offerings as the restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tashapVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lives up to it's great reputation!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have heard of Common Man but this was the first time I got to experience it. The food was extraordinary and I loved the antique ambiance of the building. Our waitress was a hoot--so funny and so helpful! I liked the down-to-earth, unpretentious atmosphere coupled with food beautifully and deliciously prepared.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne_traveler_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
152 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great welcoming spot for lunch or dinner”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband & I stopped by for lunch during a blizzard recently. We were welcomed in by the hostess, who told us about the complimentary cheese spreads & crackers, and the waitress suggested the hot apple cider. This was our first visit. The cheese spreads w/2 kinds of crackers were perfect. The cider was delicious, served w/orange wedge, cinnamon stick, and the glass was rimmed w/cinnamon. Then my husband enjoyed an open-faced prime rib sandwich with caramelized onions, mushrooms, and cheddar on a garlic baguette. This was accompanied by homemade chips and pickled carrots. Because of certain allergies, he could not eat the chips so they gave him a big, fresh garden salad. I ate a wonderful tomato-basil soup w/slice of quiche, containing bacon, onions, & cheese. The soup was great, the quiche could have been better if salt had been added. For dessert, my husband ate a slice of bourbon pecan pie with whipped cream. I chose a lovely apple tart w/vanilla ice cream. The staff was friendly, the atmosphere was great, and the food was good, my primary complaint being that many items were fairly bland due to a lack of seasoning. We recommend this welcoming restaurant and would return when in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madlady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“A great stop while visiting your child at PSU”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband and I recently ate here while visiting our daughter at Plymouth State. The food was suberb, had "almost escargot", and mussels, for apps, and then hubby and I had sandwiches. Our waiter,Donal, however, made our meal the best in a long time. He was attentive, knowledgeable about all our food inquiries, adorable, and funny. We plan to return soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Common Man also viewed

 
Holderness, White Mountains
 
Holderness, White Mountains
Ashland, White Mountains
 

Been to Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing