We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful state to visit but the units need updated.”
Review of Cold Spring Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cold Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Sweet Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful state to visit but the units need updated.”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Like some of the visitors said, the units need updating. The TV's are old and small, our oven didn't heat up properly, the bedrooms smelled very musty (the carpeting maybe?) And one bathroom isn't really sufficent for 5 or 6 people especially with the toilet in the same little space as the shower. Our dresser in the master bedroom had seen better days. Small things really in the big picture because we were out and about more than we were in the unit. The extra time in the unit was due to the fact that everyone needed to shower and there was only one shower. lol The entry way reaked of smoke but it was easy to see why - when we were loading our car, there were cleaning crews outside the doors smoking away and the door was propped open, not by us though. The resort itself was very nice with lots to do. There were soooo many things to see and do not to far from the resort that we couldn't do as many as we wanted to in a week so we may be going back sometime! Hope the units are updated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CountryGirl1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    37
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
54
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have been coming to Cold Spring for close to 30 years now. My parents own time share here, and so does my brother, and myself. We all own weeks in the summer. If you are a golfer, you will love this place. The White Mountain gold course is a nice track. The condos themselves aren't the Ritz, but are very comfortable. The bets update they have done over the years in the addition of AC. Our kids love the 2 pools, and it's a nice way to spend the day. I do a lot of fishing in the area, and have a plethora of water to choose from. There are also plenty of attractions close by such as Weirs Beach by Lake Winnepesaukee....or hiking near Franconia notch. We found plenty to do within a short drive. the staff is always friendly. I saw one review that complained about noise from the highway which is ridiculous....after 30 years I must be deaf because I've never heard it....it's quiet, and peaceful. Rest assured it's a not a luxury place, but has all the comforts you need for a great week in the White Mountains.

Room Tip: We like the "Reach" units for quiet...and nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The condo was nice and in good condition, but close enough to the highway to hear road noise when sitting on the deck... which spoiled it a bit for me.

The property also has a good playground, new charcoal grills, volleyball net, horseshoes, clay tennis courts, indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub and sauna (in locker rooms). The shuffleboard court is in disrepair and unusable. Half of the "nature trail" runs close enough to the highway that you feel you should be hitch hiking.

It's a good jumping off point to explore the lake region or head up into the White Mountain area.

Warning for those attached to their laptops ... WiFi is only available in the main office area and not in the condos.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mockingbird16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

There is plenty to do while vacationing here. For years we just kept ourselves having fun at the Resort only! Enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pool, billiard table, ping pong, horseshoes, crafts, and riding bicycles around the trails. Now we drive short distance and hike mountains and ride bicycles on the Franconia Notch Bike trails and enjoy the beauty all around. The Fun Spot,Clark's Trading Post, and go carts are a blast.
Yes, the buildings are not new, but they are efficient and clean. Furnished with all you will need for your stay. Try it out...... and make some fun memories.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LynnMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
831 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Had never spent much time in New Hampshire. Was VERY pleasantly surprised. Truly a beautiful state. This resort is in a great location. You can be in the lake area, the mountains and the city within 45 minutes. You can get to the coast in a couple of hours. The vistas call to mind the best of Colorado, the Maine coast and the Adirondacks. The Cold Springs is an older resort but well maintained. There is not a lot of excitement (clubs, bars, great restaurants), but a comfortable cozy vibe. It is a great spot to serve as a home base. The staff is friendly and accomodating. The only weak spots are many of the units have only one bath and the WiFi is only in the Clubhouse. The latter is not a major problem since the charm of the place is it's seclusion. The former is a disaster if you are visiting with a wife and a grown daughter as I was. Luckily, the woods are very close.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chelmsford, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The resort is a small, older facillity; but has a nice heated indoor pool and hot tub that our family enjoyed. Nearby Plymouth has several nice restaurants near the college. Just north are the White Mountains. All in all Cold Spring isn't luxurious, but a nice casual getaway for families.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We love this place! Only complaint upgrades needed one little box type tv that broke twice last year this year stove and drier failing :( have a timeshare so most here for vacation! There are a few permanent residents which do not take so kindly to vacationers! Why live at a resort??? Hmmmm Love Love indoor pool jacuzzi but closes 8:45 :( why we are on vacation kids in bed i want to RnR in jacuzzi it is closed! But it is our place The Common Man The Italian Farmhouse near by and if course skiing tubing! Kids love sledding at the closed in Feb!!! Golf course with White Mountains view...this year first time a permanent resident told us private property! Please lady this is not free! Time share is ownership Thank You & we were the only people there! Love it though the view is amazing relaxing stress free getaway

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snottycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.4 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
13.6 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cold Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cold Spring Resort

Property: Cold Spring Resort
Address: 460 N Ashland Rd, Ashland, NH 03217-4116
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cold Spring Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions of New Hampshire, Cold Spring Resort has been providing a welcome retreat for families since the mid 1970's. With 77 well-appointed 1, 2 and 3 bedroom townhouses meandering through a fragrant pine forest, overlooking the White Mountains and within a stone's throw of a cold spring, the resort is perfectly situated for quiet relaxation and cultural, recreational and invigorating exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Cold Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cold Spring Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing