We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay in this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Alger Aeroport
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bab Ezzouar
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Ok, this hotel has the WORST bed I have ever tried! The matress is so hard it feels like a table on which they just put a tableclothe!
The hotel operator does not answer the phone: 3 different people were trying to reach me in my room and they said that the operator does not answer and this hapenned EVERY night.
The gym is from the 70's and the food is nothing to write home about.
The only + is the free internet and the mall just at walking distance. I also have to admit the staff is very nice and polite.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 723 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

Hotel well located close to airport. Shuttel to airport available.
Restaurant nothink special.
The rooms recently renowated are ok. Good for Bz travellers.
Price above the European level according to given quality of stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband lived in this hotel for 6 months until June 2011, for work purposes. I stayed with him for about half the time, because I couldn't stand it for too long! Algeria is probably one of the most boring places I have ever been to....but that's a separate issue.

Focusing on the hotel, it's a typical large 'chain' hotel catering mainly for business clients. It's fair to say it's not the most modern design, but it seemed reasonably well maintained. It's a popular venue for weddings in Algeria as well, so there are often bridal parties passing through reception (quite a spectacle).

The room that we had was quite spacious, with a comfortable King Size bed. There was also a coffee table and two chairs, plus a desk area. The bathroom was small but functional, but looked a bit dated. Our room overlooked the pool/gardens. This was nice, apart from on a couple of ocassions when large parties were held on the roof terrace in front, complete with loud music and dancing well into the early hours. The hotel management didn't seem to appreciated that most guests were on business and had to get up for work the next day, unlike the party go-ers. My husband went down several times to complain, and even though he can speak French and Arabic (which really helps in Algeria) he was simply ignored or told "5 more minutes"...which of course never materialised.

The best thing about this hotel is it's proximity to the new mall, which is only a 5 minute walk away. Whilst only very small, the mall is the highlight of things to do in Algiers (!). At least there are cafes and restaurants in there to make a change from the hotel food, which is predictably expensive and the menus never change! The mall also contains a supermarket. As an obviously "foreign" woman walking alone, I felt quite happy walking to the mall during the daytime. I did not go further afield though, as there was nothing to go and do anyway!

The Ibis hotel is next door to the Mercure, so we often chose to go and eat in there in the evening. The dining is less formal and the food was very good quality. My husband had been told by colleagues that the rooms in the Ibis were very small - that's why he chose the Mercure. The Mercure also has very nice gardens, tennis courts and a large swimming pool (not heated). Most of the staff I met were very polite and smiley, even the maids and gardeners who didn't speak English. Ironically, the least friendly were the women on the front reception desk!

Unfortunately, there are only 3 major hotel chains in Algiers (Sheraton, Accor & Mercure) so demand is high, as are prices. You would not be happy to pay these rates anywhere else for this hotel, but in Algiers beggars can't be choosers!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Indigo1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

i think this is the best hotel you can get in Algiers. considering the fact that it is so conveniently located (5 minutes walking) to a new shopping mall, i could not ask for more. even if i'm bored with fast food inside the mall, i can always find local food just across the street serving the best lamb/chicken grill in town ! ..and by the way this mall has some upscale brand boutique ie. LaCoste

the room i had was above average with no problem at all. I really like the hospitality of the hotel staff. they took care on any request i had. the breakfast is okay too with lots of fresh pastries.

overall, i think the location and nearby shopping mall is a major plus. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kolet96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Brande, Denmark
11
Reviewed September 26, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I am originaly from Algiers, for all of you I would say I am sorry for all the trouble you had with this Hotels and when you say is dump you are right I think they are dump, anyway those hotels are not made for algerians they are for foreigners only because of the rate they charge and the monopolie because they don't have that many hotels and they make them very expensive because they the companies will pay, algerians can not afford to stay in this hotels they are to expensive its like 2 to 3 times monthly pay check for an individual working in algeria, I leave in the USA and I stay for exemple in Las Vegas hotels in witch there is no way to compare them with any hotels in the world and I pay $100 for five star hotel. thats why algerian youth go to europe.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

As other reviewers have said, hotel is outdated, poorly maintained and overpriced.
I cannot overemphasize how uncomfortable the bed is. It is literally rock-hard.
Room is unbearably hot with the only cool air blowing in the bathroom which is like a refrigerator.
Food wasn't very good either.

Hotel airport shuttle was unreliable even with the airport rep waiting with us at the curb.
On the plus side you get free drinks in the mini-fridge. Wifi is adequate. And

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bab Ezzouar
0.1 mi away
Ibis Alger Aeroport Hotel
Ibis Alger Aeroport Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bab Ezzouar
763 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
1.6 mi away
Best Night
Best Night
#4 of 27 in Algiers
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Palace Appart Hotel
Palace Appart Hotel
#7 of 27 in Algiers
88 reviews
6 mi away
Lamaraz Arts Hotel
Lamaraz Arts Hotel
#2 of 27 in Algiers
20 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel d'Hydra
Hotel d'Hydra
#16 of 27 in Algiers
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Alger Aeroport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Alger Aeroport

Address: Route de L'Universite | BP 12 5 Juillet, Bab Ezzouar 16024, Algeria
Location: Algeria > Algiers Province > Bab Ezzouar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bab Ezzouar
Price Range: $90 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Alger Aeroport 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel offering 307 rooms including 50 non-smoking rooms. Only international hotel located near the airport. 3 restaurants, 2 bars, WiFi Internet, business centre, laundry and pressing services, large outdoor pool, 2 tennis courts, fitness centre,sauna, massage. Free airport shuttle operating 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Accorhotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Alger Aeroport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Alger Aeroport
Mercure Alger Aeroport Algiers Province, Algeria - Bab Ezzouar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing