We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How is this place getting good reviews??”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Andover B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for our wedding night. The innkeeper was awful and awkward! He gave all of our guests a hard time and yelled at my wife for eating a turkey sandwhich on the bed in her room on her wedding day (why was he even in the room? I don't know) and our photographer for being in there with her, her sister, and her four week old baby. I wish we could say we just had a bad experience, but all of our 14+ guests staying there, all said the same kinds of thing. I would never wish this place on anyone. Do not stay here, unless you like horrible experiences!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandlake, Owner at Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dave, we regret that you and your group felt such displeasure during your stay at our B&B. It is clear that your expectations for staying in our historic home (1767) were unrealistic and more in line with a budget motel than a fine bed and breakfast inn. We take pride in maintaining very high standards for our guests in our home by providing quality service and amenities, including the pristine fine white linens upon which it is absolutely inappropriate to eat plate-less greasy pizza and turkey sandwiches. Food is welcome in the dining room and lounging areas where tables are located and china is provided.

As you know, your party occupied only half of our rooms, and the other rooms were reserved by diverse travelers from California, Boston, Chicago, and Germany. Naturally, we aimed to ensure that all our guests enjoyed their stay here in this usually serene and peaceful lakeside environment. This was made difficult by the boorish behavior of some of your party, the less said about which, the better.

We went out of our way to accommodate your bride’s room preference, even moving a guest already occupying that room, who graciously agreed. We also upgraded your second room at no extra charge.

No one advised us that your bride wanted a photographer to take pictures of her in her room in our inn. It is not customary or permitted for unannounced strangers to wander into our inn or rooms. Therefore, for the security of our home and our other guests, we sought out the unannounced intruders to ascertain their business here. The door to the room was open, so that I could see that the furniture had been moved and that food was being consumed on our fine linens.

We regret that your expectations, and ours, were not met. We truly wish you and your bride all the best of happiness in your life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 109 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

Once again, we had the pleasure of staying at this inn. This time we were in the Andover room on the first floor. It has a king-sized carved four poster bed that reminded me of my grandparents' bed that was so high I had to get a chair to climb up onto it. This one was very comfy, with luxurious bedding. The room was large and well equipped. I appreciate the fact that instead of a blanket or bedspread, like some other inns use, here they provide a down duvet in a cover that is laundered fresh for each guest. The rooms don't have air conditioners permanently installed, which would spoil the look of the lovely old building. Instead, they have portable units available that have inconspicuous exhaust hoses that mount at the bottom of a window. On our visit, the weather was warm, but not hot, so we just left the windows open for the fresh air. The wi-fi worked fine, the shower was hot, and everything was scrupulously clean.

Breakfast consisted of juice, coffee or tea, fresh fruit cup with freshly chopped mint sprinkled on top, a bread basket with sweet butter and an assortment of preserves, and eggs any style expertly prepared by Pecco, a trained chef. It's a wonder that he is able to do so while at the same time entertaining his guests with friendly banter. Gail charmingly assists.

They make available for purchase some of the products they use, including delicious Harney & Sons teas, Sarabeth's fruit preserves, and locally produced maple syrup. When I expressed a desire to buy Grade B syrup (a darker grade with a more pronounced maple flavor), they arranged for their neighbor who produces it to deliver some for me. (There was a German family at the Inn as well, and Pecco arranged for them to visit the sugar house to see how syrup is made.)

Another couple at the Inn took Pecco and Gail up on their offer of a kayak to explore Highland Lake, and they returned raving about its beauty.

We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts, and have never found one whose beds or breakfasts (or hospitality) exceeds those found here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredRNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed at the Highland Lake Inn for 3 nights while working with the kids at the Salisbury Elementary School. I had a great time. I never had the pleasure of meeting Gail but Pecco was a riot and made me laugh a lot. Don't try eating your toast before your eggs though (which are farm fresh and delicious by the way) or you may get in trouble. Kidding. Well sort of. Pecco takes pride in his breakfasts and, well, go see for yourself! The bed I slept in was very comfortable and my room was clean, tidy and tastefully decorated. I'm typically more of a hotel kind of guy, but I'd stay at Pecco's again in a heartbeat. Jeff Erwin, Trashcan Lid Productions

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff-wah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We (5 of us) bicycled all day on the Northern Rail Trail - Lebanon to Andover, NH - and came in late afternoon, tired and hungry. The inn keeper, Pecco and his wife, Gail, - a teacher by day - brought us into the inn as if we were long lost family. We had showers and the some napped, a few went for an early season swim in Highland Lake (a short walk away) and then we read or talked in the cosy sitting room eating cheese and crackers while we waited for Pecco to prepare our dinner - an optional extra that we chose because we had just one car and the Inn is 5 miles from the nearest restaurant. The dinner was very good and very well presented. Pecco and Gail joined us at our table and I have to warn you: Pecco never lacks for an opinion on anything. Nonetheless, the conversation over dinner was intellegent and wide-ranging and everyone was heard. We chose to engage with he and Gail, but there were two other guests at the inn who quietly spent the evening on their own and didn't join us for dinner.

We had made arrangements with Pecco to provide a birthday cake for one of our party. The cake came from a fantastic bakery in nearby Concord and it was delicious! In the end we were surprised to find that the cost of the cake was included in the cost of our dinner.

After dinner we retired early to very comfortable beds and in the morning were treated to a huge breakfast - special jams, great breads, eggs (fresh, local) as we liked them (I chose an omlete with swiss with a side of ratatoui!). Pecco made the breakfast on our schedule so we lingered until 9 and then hit the trail for Lebanon.

This is a great distination for cyclists coming from Lebanon - a 40 mile ride out the first day. The rail trail is safe and is in good condition most of the way. It was a four hour ride - though we stopped for breakfast and lunch, spending six and a half hours in transit. It was the first big ride for the season for some of us, so we took advantage of a chase car provided by one of our party. Since the rail trail runs alongside US Route 4, we were able, if we chose, to cycle for a while and then skip ahead and rejoin the party. Everyone got to ride some and for the one who went all the way it was about an 80 mile round trip. There aren't a lot of places to stay in Andover, but you don't need more than this one. The Highland Lake Inn is fabulous.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donofnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We just returned from another memorable visit to the Highland Lake Inn. As always the inn was welcoming and oh! so comfortable. We always get the best night's sleep when we visit, nestled in the luxury of their bedding and enjoying the quiet of the country. This time the temperature was unseasonably warm and the innkeepers lead us on a scenic walk with magnificent broad vistas from the heights of Emery Rd, and glimpses of nature at its most active upon the marshes that line the rail trail. But it has been cold on Highland lake and the Inn's neighbors have been setting their ice fishing houses upon the frozen lake. We ventured onto the lake and tentatively followed on the footstep of a local family that encouraged us on amid much laughter. Our courage was rewarded with a pot of the most delicious tea served in front of a roaring fire at the Inn's art filled parlor to the soundtrack of Vienna's New Year's concert. Perfect!

Room Tip: The second floor front rooms are our favorites. They have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BranRor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is so much more than a Bed and Breakfast. Gail and Pecco are more like family than "Inn keepers." They have always taken great care of me. I think I am past my fourth stay at Highland, and wouldn't think of going anywhere else. Great company, Great food. The rooms are tastefully done and comfortable. My son is at Proctor Academy, so not only was this a good find, it was the "diamond in the rough." Their business card states "Where your relaxation and refreshment is our pleasure." Quite true.

Room Tip: They are all good. It's a B&B, not the Four Seasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

In mid-October my wife, our parents-in-law and I had our happiest overnight
stay since arriving in New England in the lovliest of all Bed-and-Breakfast
houses we have experienced so far.
The Highland Lake Inn combines a perfect array of stimulating
- and soothing, factors.
First, the house - the oldest one in the area and yet equipped, insulated
and sound-proofed according to 21st century standards.
Its location on the side
of a rise from lake level makes it dominate the surrounding area. The result
is spectacular view of objects near and far from just about all guest rooms
- we had the "George"-, views of the nearby and usually deserted hillroad,
of the nearby canal, even a mountain top can be spotted from there. And to
enjoy the romantic and totally quiet lake nearby all one has to do is to
take a short stroll. Or, incidentally, a longer one that we took along the
old light railway tracks that are still there, though unused.Needless to
state how much we were taken in by the New Hampshire foliage at peak. We
looked at the comfortable room equipment- as seen on the website - and had a
deep and refreshing sleep after doing some 6 miles of fast walking around
the lake and, later, driving to an excellent nearby Chinese-Thai Restaurant.
During our next stay we'll try the refined cuisine our most helpful host and
innkeeper is renowned for.
Another highlight of our stay was the scrumptious breakfast with everything
home-made and according to our wishes - plus freshly pressed and untreated
apple juice they had bought from the neighbors. Needless to say, they
included eggs "any style" (in our case poached ones) and all the delicacies
a generous continental breakfast in New England countryside conjures up. We
loved the cleanliness of the house and the traditional-style surroundings as
much as the inspired conversation with our worldly and dynamic host cpouple.
The only thing the four of us regretted was that we could stay only one
night, this time. My Chinese in-laws in particular were loath of departing
and almost wanted to emigrate to the Highland Lake Inn. But at just about
two hours from Boston it will be easy to return - soon.
Friedrich L. Lohr
German Consul General to New England
Boston

Room Tip: Rooms as shown on the web
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Friedrich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
22.3 mi away
Best Western Concord Inn & Suites
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
5.3 mi away
New Hampshire Mountain Inn
10.5 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 32 Maple St, P.O. Box 164, Andover, NH 03216-3903
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Andover
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Andover
Price Range: $160 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gentleman's farmhouse originally built in 1767 is located in Andover, NH, a stone's throw from Highland Lake, a pristine, spring-fed mountain lake with beach. The Highland Lake Inn is conveniently situated in the center of northern New England, 4 miles from renowned Proctor Academy, 10 miles from Ragged Mountain Ski Resort, and 20 miles from New Hampshire's capital, Concord. New Hampshire's White Mountains, Vermont's Green Mountains, the Maine Coast, and the city of Boston are all within a 2 hour car ride. The inn's ten guest rooms feature private full bathrooms with distinctive amenities by Molton Brown of London; the most king-size beds and most spacious rooms available in the area, furnished with luxurious Italian linens by Mascioni; flat screen cable TV and Wi Fi access. In the morning guests are served a full breakfast featuring freshly brewed, micro-roaster's coffee, Harney & Sons Fine Teas, fresh fruit, farm fresh eggs, artisan breads and croissants. Kayak and bicycle rental is available on premises. Innkeepers are fluent in French, German, and some Spanish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing