We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it!! Disappointed!”

Shibley's at the Pier
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Alton Bay
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Not worth it!! Disappointed!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went for birthday dinner. Waited 10 minutes for acknowledgement from waitstaff. Ordered ginger ale & glass of wine delivered over 5 minutes later. Was never asked if we had ?'s regarding menu. Waitstaff came back another 10 minutes after delivering first round of beverages. I asked if there were any dinner specials...yes! My husband changed his original dinner order after hearing the specials. I told her this was our first time here & asked for a seafood recommendation, which I ordered & was ok. Vegetables were frozen peas & purl onions...nothing special, salmon close to being overdone. When we received our 2nd round of beverages we received complimentary crackers & spread as if an after thought. After my husband was almost done with his plate he asked for bread to soak up the remaining sauce, which she deliver AFTER she cleared the table. The waitstaff seemed to have more time for a table of regulars than first timers. The dining room was not crowded 4 tables at best. When we were leaving the bus boy who was texting & leaning on the hostess station looked up & wished us a good evening. Really, probably would've had a better evening at McDonald's. We vacation in this area every summer & have always driven by & said someday we'll venture into Shibley's. Well wonder no more...first & last for us!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cleves1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    41
    12
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kihei
Level Contributor
161 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Super Service and kid friendly”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were a party of eleven...six adults and five kids ranging in age from 8 to 4 mos. We had originally asked to sit on the pier, but upon arriving, it was a little cold and windy for the kids. The hostess graciously moved our entire party indoors! We started with the following wonderful appetizers: warm homemade potato chips, ahi and coconut shrimp. The kids loved the warm chips with a variety of toppings. The ahi melted in your mouth and the bonus was that you are able to order as many coconut shrimp as you wanted....the entrees we ordered were delicious. The swordfish with pesto was super, the panko with asiago cheese coated pork was terrific (one order was a little fatty), we also enjoyed surf and turf with Mongolian beef, trout and filet mignon. And then came desserts - totally decadent....Creame brûlée, Zango cheesecake (raspberry and strawberry), funnel fries and blueberry crisp rounded out the meal. We will probably make this an annual place for our family dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

6 of us went to this restaurant without a reservation on a Friday night. We had to wait about 20 minutes. The staff there were extremely nice. The hostess gave my teen girls photo albums to look at while we were waiting for food. Our waiter let one person order off the kids menu when she couldn't find what she wanted on the regular menu. Always there to refill a drink and accommodated any request with the order. There is a nice lake view. Everyone in our party really enjoyed their food. It is an unassuming little place, but a warm atmosphere and great food. We would definitely recommend it to anyone in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingfamily4Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“For the ice cream joint across the street”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

There's a Shibley's ice cream joint across the street, same owners I think. We go here every visit with tons of soft serve flavors and every Ice cream concoction you think of. We love it. Hamburgers and hot dogs and onion rings all really good and fair prices. Highly recommend giving them a try. Usually long lines go fast with 5-6 people working.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kisswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived by boat on July 7th. We were seated on deck under the stairs and as soon as we were seated another table in front of us opened up so we asked the hostess if we could sit there. She cleaned the table and we were seated. After a few minutes we were informed that we would have to move because this table was reserved. It was not the young hostess fault, she was sweet. It was a bit embarrassing however, moving twice. The table under the stairs was next to the station where the owner/manager was constantly dipping a rag in questionable water to wipe down tables and actually complaining??? about the busy week they had!!!This was @ app. 3pm and we were informed that they were out of 4 of the 11 apps.. Wow! We actually felt as if our presence was in an imposition! We had drinks and apps and they did not even bring two plates. Food was okay. Bloody mary was excellent and lemon martini was just okay. We left asap and rode all the way across the lake to Lagos in Meredith. What a difference: we were greeted warmly and the service was exceptional.The food was superb also...but that is another review!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnjohnson1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shibley's at the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing