We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday travelers on way to Lake Tahoe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miles End Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Austin B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2012

MY boyfriend Ken and myself(Barbie)Honest were celebrating my birthday and stayed one night at Miles End and truly wished we had booked another night,We enjoyed every detail our hosts John and Ann extended to the guests and also reveled in the fact that John and I shared the same birthday that day we were there.Everything from the room's cozy feeling to the wood-stoked hot tub through to the evening dinner and breakfast food they prepared was stellar. We will bring a ball for their wonderful dog,"Z" to play with when we come back,as we truly will.We recommend this B&B to anyone that will listen.God bless...Ken and Barbie

Room Tip: only if you're into wanting a sit down bathtub request it as they all don't have the jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barbara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a fun place to stay. Miles End is nestled in a small town in the middle of Nevada. The owners Anne and John took very good care of us. The lodge they created is just beautiful, and the individually decorated suits are amazing, including the TeePEE! They have a very different type of hot tub to experience. Ann and John obviously enjoy what they are doing and are very good cooks. You just have to go check this place out. Mike and Gloria from Reno

Room Tip: I want to go back and sleep in the teepee and also the honeymoon suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I used TripAdvisor to plan our US Hwy 50 adventure. Due to the good reviews of this B&B, we stayed. Ann and John are wonderful hosts. John prepares a fantastic breakfast. It was a great way to visit with the local folk. The only thing we would have wanted was an air conditioner. It was a warm night, but not terribly uncomfortable. We were NOT miserable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank readytogo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

MIles End is actually in the remote town of Kingston, about 30 miles south of Austin and a couple miles off paved State Route 376. Handy signs will guide you via some fairly smooth gravel roads to the exact site of the B & B.

Its recommended that when reservations are made or when you decide to just drop in, you should phone or e-mail them in advance about possible dinner. Due to the remoteness of the facility, the chef cannot just run down to a supermarket to get supplies. You can always picnic or BBQ your own food but there are no cafes in the vicinity. Breakfasts are always included.

The B & B phone number is 775-964-1046, its e-mail is milesnmiles2@yahoo.com and the website is http://www.milesendbnb.com/

You will be greeted by native Nevadans John and Ann Miles, likely followed by their playful and inquisitive wonder dog Zee. Although Miles End has some elements of luxury such as the wine tasting bar and designer furnishings, its not at all fussy or formal. The main building, called "Valhalla" by your hosts, has been lovingly restored, utilizing a treasure of restored and re-purposed materials in an arts & crafts motif.

They'll show you any of the four distinct boutique guest cabins that are unoccupied. All of them are very nice, some with a kitchen and varying themes and decor, all just a bit rustic and blended with the overall landscape of the area.

During my all-too-short visit, I rested well and found the priceless, pure, 6,000-ft elevation mountain air invigorating to the soul. John and Ann prepared delicious, home-made chiles rellenos for dinner and blueberry pancakes for breakfast with sides of local fresh ranch eggs and toast with local honey. The owners are also regionally famous for hosting monthly dinners and celebration events that nearly everyone in Kingston attends.

There is also a hot tub, outdoor patios, nearby campgrounds, mines and areas to explore. John and Ann are always busy improving the buildings and grounds and don't mind visitors "supervising", as long as Zee approves!

Cell phones won't work at Miles End but that could change by Fall of 2012. The free Wi-Fi worked very well. They also offer for sale a very complete selection of signature outerwear such as Cabela's hunting shirts and quality tees and caps. They are normally closed from mid-January to late April due to winter weather or simply the isolation of Central Nevada that time of year.

Bottom line: This was one of the best run and most attractive B & Bs The Monk (that's me!) has ever discovered in the entire West. I can't wait for the opportunity to visit them again and stay a spell. I cannot recommend Miles End too much for those seeking high-country remoteness and quality facilities with all the built-in creature comforts you would ever need.

Room Tip: There is a room suitable for disabled guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MonkeyOnTheWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

WOW This place is really incredible!!! The quality of the rooms are like a W hotel or Hilton but have personality and charm. It is a B&B that instantly welcomes you and you can throw your cares away and relax. We could have stayed for a week but were limited on time. The meals were wonderful & the hosts Ann and John were amazing. We have stayed in many hotels in the U.S., Australia, and Europe and can honestly say that Miles End is the most memorable and comfortable stay we've ever had! If you are passing through Austin, or going anywhere in central Nevada, go to Kingston & the Miles End B&B! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous. You can't go wrong. They have a kitchenette, table and chairs, imm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brookeryan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: een echte aanrader
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annemieke1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miles End Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miles End Bed and Breakfast

Address: 107 Del Drive, Kingston, Austin, NV 89310
Location: United States > Nevada > Austin
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing