We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, warm and cozy!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Street Lodging
Ranked #3 of 4 Austin B&B and Inns
Shelton, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quaint, warm and cozy!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Trip across Nevada in March 12' ended up being cut short due to a winter storm that was on our heels when we left Sparks. When we realized our altitude was going to increase the amount of snow we decided to try and wait it out here in Austin. Stopping at a hotel, only to be told they were full the hostess called around to see if she could find us a room. Due to all the work being done at a local mine, there was one room left and it was at this nice little B&B.

Breakfast was tasty, room was warm and comfy, shared bathroom was large and clean and the common room was pleasant with coffee service. Cost was a bit higher than we wanted to pay but what choice did we have for the circumstances. For the price you got a fresh made breakfast, many comforts associated with a B&B and wi-fi so it is worth it to stay here.

Thank you for saving us from turning back and making us feel at home in the 2 days we were there!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night in this very charming bed/breakfast. Dee and Kip, (hostesses) were knowledgable upon Ausitn, Nevada. Our personal time was extremely limited however the moments at Union Street were delightful. Next trip, we are staying minimum 4 days!! The Emma Nevada room, comfortable, shower great and breakfast was delicious! I walked the neighborhood in early morning. Super inclines for heart etc... Front porch extremely cozy for November season.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband & I found this gem while motorcycling across Nevada. Clean, warm, cheerful, and full of marvelous history - this B&B was a sheer delight. We highly recommend & would stay here again. Host, Dee, is a joy and cooks a great breakfast too!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManishaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

On a positive note the hosts were hospitable and welcoming. When we arrived the owner had been working in her garden. It was disturbing to see she still had dirt under her fingernails when serving our breakfast. She was very unkempt in her appearance. The breakfast was adequate but nothing special. Our bed was comfortable but the entire house looked to need a thorough cleaning. The owners have put a tremendous amount of work in the building and landscaping which is still ongoing. Because of it they have a lot of trash surrounding the home. Unfortunately it wasn't just construction trash but also quite a lot of family trash. The view from our bedroom window was a dump. The owners are a busy couple, both working and with other projects in the works. I would suggest they finish one project before starting another.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, Owner at Union Street Lodging, responded to this review, August 23, 2015
Thank you for the kind part of your review. As you mentioned, there was a lot of stuff tucked away as we were right in the middle of another upgrade on the house. The house has been a work in progress, we try to keep it from interfering with the guests. The original part of the house was built in the 1860's and added onto in the 1880's, so there is always things to be done. The view from the window you are referring to was items temporarily stored and has been long since removed.

Dust is always an issue for us as we have so much dirt surrounding us and when the County runs the sweeper it makes things worse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2011

When my family and I planned our trip across Hwy 50 on motorcycles to the coast, we was very skeptical to stay in a small town clear in the middle of nowhere, the better of the 3 Motels had no rooms. The kind clerk recommended we call Dee at the Union St. Bed & Breakfast. From the time we arrived until the time we left our stay was wonderful.

We would defenitly stay there again...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Large comfortable room, awesome clawfoot bathtub/shower, personable hostess, quiet location and delicious breakfast. Located on Nevada's US 50, "the loneliest road in America" Austin, Nevada is a wonderful break along the drive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edandshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband and I travel across Nevada a lot with our business. We have stayed in many out-of-the-way unique places. Early last January, after some extensive time on the road, we decided to take a break and spend some R & R in Austin. We arrived at Union Street late and were exhausted. At first glance, we were quite impressed with our large room and accommodations. However, it wasn't long before disillusionment set in. Our private bathroom was quite a shocker! The toilet was full of very old human waste------as if it hadn't been flushed, then sat there for some weeks. The B & B hostess, came in and cleaned out the bowel, but apparently was not inclined to check out anything else in the bathroom. The outside of the toilet bowel was also quite stained with various residues, as if it hadn't been wiped down for months. And the rest of the bathroom was equally disgusting. There were toothpaste bits in the sink and water spots all over the mirror. It was obvious that this bathroom had not been cleaned for some time. Fortunately, I had some wet-wipes on hand and spiffed it up a bit. The bed was large and very comfortable. However it was difficult to remain confident that the sheets had even been changed after the previous guests since the rest of the room was so lacking in cleanliness. There were dust bunnies in every corner of the room. Okay, so we made it through the night trying to keep a blind eye to all that was so dirty. While we were comfortably seated in the upstairs dining area for breakfast, my eyes began to travel around the room and I realized that we were sitting in a small cleared space but surrounded with piles of clutter either covered up, closed off or somewhat hidden from view. So much dusty old stuff ------- kind of hidden from view, but still there. The hostess was pleasant and cordial, and spoke of her plans to purchase another nearby building and convert it into a B & B as well. Interesting! Hopefully she'll have a better understanding of what it takes to keep guests happy and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lifedancer1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Union Street Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Lodging

Property: Union Street Lodging
Address: 69 Union Street, PO Box 62, Austin, NV 89310
Location: United States > Nevada > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Street Lodging is a fully remodeled home that was a boarding house in the 1870’s. It features 4 bedrooms, decorated with themes featuring important historic persons or things in Austin. A common room for the guest to relax in and a full breakfast served in dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing