We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn worth a trip on US 50”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Street Lodging
Ranked #3 of 4 Austin B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Large comfortable room, awesome clawfoot bathtub/shower, personable hostess, quiet location and delicious breakfast. Located on Nevada's US 50, "the loneliest road in America" Austin, Nevada is a wonderful break along the drive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edandshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband and I travel across Nevada a lot with our business. We have stayed in many out-of-the-way unique places. Early last January, after some extensive time on the road, we decided to take a break and spend some R & R in Austin. We arrived at Union Street late and were exhausted. At first glance, we were quite impressed with our large room and accommodations. However, it wasn't long before disillusionment set in. Our private bathroom was quite a shocker! The toilet was full of very old human waste------as if it hadn't been flushed, then sat there for some weeks. The B & B hostess, came in and cleaned out the bowel, but apparently was not inclined to check out anything else in the bathroom. The outside of the toilet bowel was also quite stained with various residues, as if it hadn't been wiped down for months. And the rest of the bathroom was equally disgusting. There were toothpaste bits in the sink and water spots all over the mirror. It was obvious that this bathroom had not been cleaned for some time. Fortunately, I had some wet-wipes on hand and spiffed it up a bit. The bed was large and very comfortable. However it was difficult to remain confident that the sheets had even been changed after the previous guests since the rest of the room was so lacking in cleanliness. There were dust bunnies in every corner of the room. Okay, so we made it through the night trying to keep a blind eye to all that was so dirty. While we were comfortably seated in the upstairs dining area for breakfast, my eyes began to travel around the room and I realized that we were sitting in a small cleared space but surrounded with piles of clutter either covered up, closed off or somewhat hidden from view. So much dusty old stuff ------- kind of hidden from view, but still there. The hostess was pleasant and cordial, and spoke of her plans to purchase another nearby building and convert it into a B & B as well. Interesting! Hopefully she'll have a better understanding of what it takes to keep guests happy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lifedancer1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Very nice B&B. Hosts were friendly and very knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kipndee, Owner at Union Street Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2011

We are normally closed December, January, & February and do repairs and general maintenace, but when they called a couple fo the motels were also closed so we took them in. Our beds are always clean, I would NEVER do "a recycled bed". The rest of the issues are over exagerated. The mirror is an antique mirror so it has a few spots\flaws.
We have a lot of historic items from Austin used to decorate the upstairs, most people enjoy looking at them. I wish they would have talked to me about these issues at the time, we could have settled any issues then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We travel across Nevada on Highway 50 at least twice a year and always stay in Austin as it is about the center of the State. The motels were all full so we tried the new Bed & Breakfast in town.
The rooms were lovely, each room is named after a point of history in Austin. The hosts were friendly, the breakfast was great and Austin is a cool town so we always love spending time there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank punkrosegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Union Street Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Street Lodging

Address: 69 Union Street, PO Box 62, Austin, NV 89310
Location: United States > Nevada > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $65 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Union Street Lodging is a fully remodeled home that was a boarding house in the 1870’s. It features 4 bedrooms, decorated with themes featuring important historic persons or things in Austin. A common room for the guest to relax in and a full breakfast served in dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing