We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable Close to Death Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amargosa Valley
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place is in the middle of nowhere, just inside the NV state line about 30 miles from Furnace Creek in Death Valley. It includes the motel, restaurant, casino, and an RV park. Prior to this visit, I've stayed twice always opting for the inexpensive road-side rooms. Traffic noise is not a problem and the rooms are 10 bucks cheaper than the lake side. This time, I tried the lake side and will always stay on that side from now on. The rooms on the lake side all have patios or balconies overlooking the "lake" (actually a pond full of ducks, geese). Great views of the mountains, especially in the morning light. Towels are a little thin, but everything is clean and there is lots of room.
Restaurant food is OK, nothing to write home about. Good and filling breakfasts.
About 15 miles east is the only gas - at a combination gas station, restaurant, convenience store and brothel ( only in NV!).
Ash meadows wildlife preserve is a few miles east and is a little-visited gem of a place.
All in all, I'd rather stay here than in Beatty, and its less than half the price of staying anywhere in Death Valley. this is my 3rd stay in as many years and I'll be back.

Room Tip: Spring for the lakeside rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lowflyingowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 591 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

For the money, I was not expecting accommodations this nice. We paid extra for a lakeside room and the view of the mountains for the room was well worth it. The room was clean, spacious and even had a small deck (unfortunately it was too cold to use it). The staff was helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was also better than I expected, the service was somewhat slow but pleasant.. The hotel has a small convenience store and since it's a very long ways to the nearest store, I really appreciated that they charged a reasonable price for items in the store. Also I enjoyed the general atmosphere. People from the area came to eat and for entertainment We were treated to some pretty good local karaoke talent on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 662marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is clean, the staff are courteous and helpful, and the location is great. It is not a 5 star but a good value for the dollar. The view of the Funeral Mountains is magnificent. The pond out back is filled with ducks, making for a relaxing view while you eat. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HarrietteTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is not luxurious. It doesn't have great mattresses on the beds. It has clean rooms with the amenities you need and it is incredibly close to Death Valley. Perfect if you want to stay close to Furnace Creek, where the in park accommodation is quite expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hubbleflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I would give it 5 stars for the location. It is close to Death Valley and the setting is unique being in the middle of nowhere. I had read about the friendliness of the staff but there must have been different staff on duty when we were there because the person checking us in was only just barely civil.

We had a normal room (not a suite) which was small. The heating was very noisy. The light switch in the bathroom also activated the very noisy fan which was a nuisance for a visit in the middle of the night. Bits of the tap were missing, the tv control was held together by rubber bands and the towels were absolutely threadbare.

The food in the restaurant was ok. We enjoyed our breakfast sitting at a table by the window looking out over the wonderful view.

All in all very convenient for a one night stop but I wouldn't want to stay any longer.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tulip457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was not disappointed in this extremely affordable hotel. I expected to find budget accommodations for a budget price but this was not the case. What I got was a spacious, super clean room, hot shower, patio overlooking the lake. Perfect. And not very far at all from the start of Death Valley. The heater/ac fan was a bit on the loud side but if you like white noise, you're all set!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I reserved this Hotel as it was close to Death Valley. It was in expensive and the rooms were clean. Restaurant is nothing to write home about. Food is simply burgers and pizzas. We were there on dec 24 and the restaurant was closing down for xmas. It took us for more than an hour to get our pizza. Lots of tasteless cheese sauce and meat.

Go to the nature reserve not far from the hotel it is a nice place to spend a few hours. Specially nice is the board walk that brings you to a natural spring where the water is sparkling.

Room Tip: Stay lake side for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarsuVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amargosa Valley
7.7 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
605 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
330 reviews
23.7 mi away
Nevada Treasure RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longstreet Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longstreet Hotel & Casino

Address: 4400 Nv-373, Amargosa Valley, NV 89020-1501 (Formerly Longstreet Inn and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Amargosa Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amargosa Valley
Price Range: $73 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Longstreet Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Longstreet Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longstreet Hotel Amargosa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing