We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise in the Middle of Nowhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Windmill Ridge

Windmill Ridge
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Alamo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Morning Menu incliudes a Bakery, Luch is Sandwiches and Burgers as well as soups and salads. Dinner is seafood, steaks, chicken, salalds and dinner prices are $10 for a full dinner. Alcohol is NOT served at this facility.
Marina, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Surprise in the Middle of Nowhere”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After driving for miles with our stomachs beginning to growl we unexpectedly came across Windmill Ridge Restaraunt. It was a welcome sight. I had a meatloaf sandwich and my sister had a grilled Reuben. The food was excellent and the service was very good. Don't forget to visit the bakery, the brownies were do die for. FYI, they don't serve breakfast after 10:00 AM.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniSandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We ate here four times and each time the wait for our food exceeded 50 minutes. The cabins seemed to be full, so it would have made sense to staff the restaurant appropriately. By the fourth visit, the servers' apologies for the long wait times seemed liked a canned response. Note to servers... if you have a dining room filled with people waiting for their food, the least you can do as a server is to cruise the tables and refill beverages without being located and asked.

The ribs were tough and tasted old. We detected no chipotle or sauce. The hamburger would have been great had it not been cooked beyond well done. The catfish and the cod were both really good as was the cole slaw and the Caesar salad. Breakfasts were average.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level Contributor
163 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A good stop to eat and drink in this remote area”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a welcome stop on the long road through the desert. It also has accommodation, but we just ate at the restaurant. All home made / home baked food, but I just had a blueberry pie and a soda. Very good service and reasonable prices. Also has various bakery items for purchase, to take out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“DON'T drive by and miss this place”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

For a long time we have driven by and looked and said next time we will try. I then heard some people at work talking about Windmill Ridge and how good the food was. Well, we made time in our trip this time and was not disappointed at all. For such a small town in the middle of no where would you expect a restaurant like this. To start off as soon as you walk in you are greeted very friendly by your waiter and then the next thing that hits you is how clean it is. I tried the fresh cornbeef and eggs-- It comes out in a little skillet on a bed of fresh cut red potatoes, with fresh cheese, and your eggs on top. The dish tasted really good and you could tell it was all fresh. My guest had the french toast and stated it was really good. I will put this on my must stop for places to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheChad6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We had the 1/2 rack baby back ribs for only $6.95”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The ribs were so tender, the meat fell off the bone. Excellent bbq sauce. The have a very nice menu with prices quite affordable especially for families. Cinnamon rolls, pastries and sandwichs are also available to purchase for your road trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windmill Ridge also viewed

 

Been to Windmill Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing