We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the year the place has change little here and there.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Anaconda
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Over the year the place has change little here and there.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The old hotel was Gregson hot springs and I believe it burned down. Fairmont developed the property in 1972. The exterior is the same then as now. The pool area and the changing area has changed a few times in the past. At one time you could get drinks from the bar window pool side. This is all before the slide and the removal of the diving boards.
Prior reveiws have merit and if you want a romantic get away this is not the best place. The first time we stayed was 7 years ago and the rooms have changed for the better. Our room was nice, clean, modern with the exception of wifi. I was able to get wifi in the hall just not in the room. The towels are rough and the pool towel are small.
All the staff was helpful and gave good service with a small exception in the lounge while we played the gaming machines. Would have been nice to have someone check on us more than twice an hour.
We enjoyed our meals and received very good service. Having visited the dinning room four times now in the last 7 years we have always had a very good meal with good to very good service.
We have visited other places in Montana and found Fairmont to be on the more expensive end but this is more likely for all the pool, golf there and within 15 miles.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveMarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    126
    76
    39
    24
See reviews for
203
107
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The room was in great shape, recently renovated and clean. The pools are simply awesome, but changing areas are dated. It would be nice if beverage service was more convenient than having to walk all the way over to the lounge.

The wireless internet was useless. Do not come here if you need that. I was unable to connect, nor was anyone else. I don't understand why some hotels are indifferent towards that amenity.

Food was overpriced for the portion sizes.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 days over Christmas, looking for a nice, quiet, relaxing getaway, which it was. As the website says, it is currently undergoing renovations, which was fine. We didn't see any work being done while we were there, and there was no noise from construction. The place does look very run down, so I'm sure the renovations will be great.

All in all I enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont, its an average hotel, nothing special, here are a few pros and cons that I observed:

Pros:
- Nice entrance, lobby and lounge area with lots of couches, cushions and a fire place, makes the place feel real cozy and nice

- Lots of couches along the walkways in nooks and alcoves and in the bar area so plenty of places to curl up with a book to read, look out and enjoy the scenery.

- The hot springs are just wonderful, the water is sooo nice and warm 94-104F degrees

- The rooms were nicely renovated, light, spacious, comfortable, modern. We even had a fridge and microwave in our room.

Cons:
- No robes in the rooms. Thinking I'm staying at a "resort" as it IS in the name of the place and you're at hot springs, I thought there would be robes, but none were provided

- The towels provided by the hotel for use at the hot springs were tiny. I'm an average sized woman and the towel barely made it around my waist. I guess this is fine if you are visiting the springs in the summer, but when it is 15F degrees outside and you get out of the water, no robe and a tiny towel are just not enough to dry you or protect you from the whipping cold wind.I suggest you bring your own robe and towels.

- The internet was painstakingly slow. I was hoping to skype with family in Australia for Christmas but the internet was pretty much useless. You can send and receive emails very slowly, but to do anything else, skyping, accessing websites etc. it was pretty much useless. They have conference rooms and obviously have business meetings etc, so I'm not sure how that works with such a bad internet connection.

- The service in the dining room, cafe and bar were very poor. The dining room and cafe were staffed by unhappy high school students on Christmas break. Every meal there were groups of them congregated at the kitchen door, talking and ignoring patrons. It seems they had no training in the service industry or awareness of customer service. Requests for something more often than not came back with an answer of "no" or a blank stare. Tammy in the bar area was great, a more mature woman who was short staffed and run off her feet, she at least understood customer service and did a great job.

- Communication from the hotel was extremely poor regarding Christmas day meals. Apparently on Christmas day the dining room is booked out by local families coming to eat. Nothing was communicated to the people staying at the hotel that we needed to make reservations in advance if we wanted to eat there and that no room service was going to be available. There is nowhere else to eat as the hotel is 12 miles from the nearest town (Anaconda) which had nothing open either. Thankfully Tammy was able to rustle up a couple of plates together for a Christmas dinner meal which we ate in the bar.

All in all, our stay at the Fairmont was fine. To have an enjoyable stay you just need to remind yourself that you are in the middle of nowhere in Montana and not to expect the service or standards that you would otherwise in a more tourist location. This is a "mom and pop" style place without the warmth and friendliness from the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetraveling6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaconda, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I thought my stay was excellent the food was great, pools were amazing, had a wonderful time spent with my husband for a night deffinetly something we enjoyed and will remember and will most deffintly go back for a second time i would most deffintly tell other about our stay n hopes they stay as well..... Sincerly the Mitchell's

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The resort is presumably fun for families, but as a weekend get-away for couples there could be a bit more effort paid in creating a cozier atmosphere (for example, putting booths in the bar for couples to talk and not letting bathing-suit clad teens run around there). There is way too much running and yelling that goes on in the hallways at all times during the night (the pool is open 24 hrs) - we were repeatedly woken around 2 or 3 in the morning by party/pool goers returning to their rooms, with regrettably little consideration for fellow guests.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LimatoSaltLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Century, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Beautiful resort. The rooms are very clean, relaxing and comfortable. The staff is friendly, helpful and accommodating.The food was great. The staff was awesome. Our next visit to Montana we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This place has a great potential. Being in the customer service field they need to get red of everyone and replace them with people who know what customer service is all about!! I am surprised that they are investing lots of money on renovation but not on customer service. I hope someone from high level of management read what customers saying!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topcritiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anaconda
15.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Copper King Convention Center
15.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
15.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Butte
Hampton Inn Butte
#2 of 15 in Butte
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
15.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Butte
15.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Butte
Comfort Inn Butte
#5 of 15 in Butte
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hot Springs Resort

Property: Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
Address: 1500 Fairmont Rd, Anaconda, MT 59711-9461
Location: United States > Montana > Anaconda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Anaconda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairmont Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Fairmont Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hot Springs Hotel Anaconda
Fairmont Hot Springs Anaconda
Fairmont Anaconda
Anaconda Fairmont
Fairmont Hot Springs Resort Montana/Anaconda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing