We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard days work Elk hunting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Upper Canyon Outfitters & Guest Ranch
Luck, Wisconsin
1 review
“hard days work Elk hunting”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Donna is well organized and so is her camp and lodge. Jake allowed us to use his tools to repair ATV. They're accomodations were clean and nice. The staff was very freindly and helpful. The home style food is always good too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
11
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

My family has been visiting Upper Canyon Ranch for nearly 20 years. Our most recent visit was for our daughters wedding at the ranch. The entire process of arrangements to execution were greatly assisted by the ranch 's excellent staff. There are no finer folks in the world than the UCO staff. If you wish to visit a place where everyone is made to feel like family, Upper canyon Ranch is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fauxcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2011

UCO has it all. Beautiful country, abundant wildlife, and great fishing. Jake, Donna and the entire staff are fantastic. Clean and comfortable accomodations and awesome food. Have been there twice and will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Predator7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I loved the accommodations, rustic location, and the family hospitality of this western ranch experience. I fished in streams and rivers teeming with grayling and trout. My observations of scenic wonders, wildlife, and wild flowers in this paradise has beckoned me back for years. I enjoyed the warm family atmosphere while dining or relaxing at the lodge with guests and guides from all over America. I enjoyed the history of the gold rush, and challenges faced by early settlers from a family that tamed the early west. If your view of a western adventure is a cattle drive, camping under the stars, horseback riding thought meadows of spring flowers and viewing wildlife directly the Upper Canyon Outfitters at the Tate Ranch is a venture you must experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck5866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Strasburg
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2011

If you are interested in an "out west" hunting, fishing, hiking, or nature vacation combined with first-class accommodations, then Upper Canyon Outfitters (UCO) will certainly be a wonderful choice for you. If you are traveling with a spouse or companion whose interests somewhat differ from yours, you will also find that UCO is a great place to enjoy a wide variety of activities. My Husband likes to hunt. During the daytime while he was hunting, things that I enjoyed included hiking, visiting nearby historical sites, shopping, visiting antique shops, and best of all - just wondering around the Ranch watching the UCO horses, ducks and wildlife. I also enjoy photography. UCO offers the most fantastic scenery for a photography buff. I was so delighted to have an opportunity to watch mountain sheep right from the lodge. I found that there are many suprising and wonderful sights to see through the lodge windows. So even if you are more the "curl up with a good book" type, you will have some exciting experiences. The food is delicious, the accommodations are immaculate and the guides and staff are professional. I have accompanied my Husband on many hunts in several states, but the thing that I have observed that I think sets UCO apart from the rest is that the Owners are Montana natives. They intimately know the land and streams that surround the Ranch. The Ranch has been in Donna's family for over 100 years. If you are interested in history, you will enjoy the stories that Jake, Donna and Donna's parents relate. My Husband rates their hunts as the very best that he has experienced. We have vacationed at UCO three times in the past. Between our second and third stay at UCO, my Husband suffered a heart attack that has somewhat limited his ability to hunt. UCO designed a hunt for him that was just perfectly tailored to his physical abilities. If you are looking for adventure in the great western outdoors, I highly recommend a trip to UCO. The Owners and Staff have the unique ability to provide a truly professionally guided trip while making you feel right at home with all of the creature comforts that they provide. We plan to return again this October. I encourage you to try UCO and see for yourself what a wonderful vacation they offer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autumnbugle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The beautiful slopes that overlook Upper Canyon Ranch appear in the distance as you drive down the Ruby Valley, with golden eagles flying above you, pronghorns scattering, and bison grazing in pastures beside the road. In the early morning it's not uncommon to see moose or sandhill cranes along the river. In the evening from the lodge, guests share spotting scopes as a black bear and her cubs wander on the hillside. Between down home Western hospitality, delicious family style meals, blue ribbon fly fishing and exceptional horses, this ranch cannot be beat. If you drink your fill of gorgeous scenery, hiking, back country horseback riding and fishing, there is no lack of fun and educational activity nearby. Yellowstone is just 2 hours away, and historic Virginia City 35 minutes. Ennis offers art galleries, restaurants, a movie theatre, etc. However, once settled on the porch with a cold beverage gazing at the mountains, you may never want to be anywhere else ever again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Staying here is like "going home". We consider the McDonalds part of our extended family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcandlolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alder
38.3 mi away
Lone Mountain Ranch
Lone Mountain Ranch
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
190 reviews
44.6 mi away
320 Guest Ranch
320 Guest Ranch
#1 of 5 in Gallatin Gateway
323 reviews
244.3 mi away
Bar W Guest Ranch
Bar W Guest Ranch
#1 of 16 in Whitefish
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.6 mi away
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gallatin Gateway
295 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Upper Canyon Outfitters & Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Canyon Outfitters & Guest Ranch

Property: Upper Canyon Outfitters & Guest Ranch
Address: 24 Miles South of Alder on Upper Ruby Road, PO Box 109, Alder, MT 59710
Location: United States > Montana > Alder
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Alder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper Canyon Outfitters (UCO) is a family operated ranch located in the upper Ruby Valley. The ranch is nestled between three beautiful mountain ranges, with the Ruby River meandering through the property. We are dedicated to providing unparalleled, successful trips for each of our guests. The Tate family has been enjoying the Ruby Valley since our grandfather homesteaded here in 1910. We pride ourselves in offering you western hospitality, breath taking scenery and first-class accommodations. We would like to share with you not only our ranch that sits at 6000 feet, lush forest, soaring pecks to 10,000 feet and breathtaking scenery, but also our commitment to quality by providing a truly unforgettable Montana experience. With our secluded location between the Gravelly, Snowcrest and Greenhorn Mountains we can offer mile after mile of world-class scenery, horseback riding adventures, exceptional fly fishing opportunities, native wildlife, hiking, history& homestead tours, and only 40 minutes from historic Virginia City and two hours from Yellowstone Park. During the fall we offer archery and rifle hunting adventures. We hope to share with you our family western hospitality and a true Montana vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Upper Canyon Outfitters & Guest Ranch Montana/Alder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing