We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A++ on everything”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Augusta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage
Ranked #6 of 9 Augusta B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A++ on everything”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I should have written this review long ago...last May (2012) I took my mom (she's 50, I'm 27) here for Mother's Day and she still cannot stop talking about. It's especially a great place for couples, but even as a mother-daughter weekend trip it was wonderful and we plan to go back again.

Leigh and Alan are simply amazing people and extremely accommodating. As other reviews say, Alan's food is some of the best ever. I'm vegan (which makes it particularly hard to accommodate such a limited selection of foods) and he made the best vegan breakfast for me that I've ever had...and my mom found her food to be out of this world as well (which was what the rest of the guests had). Not to mention the happy hour snacks - which is a wonderful addition to the bed and breakfast - were great and Alan also made something special for me then too... just wonderful. I really wish I had his recipe!

When you arrive Leigh gives you a tour of the house which has a great pool, hot tub, and games to play. The rooms are cute and highly decorated - the house is full of collections - there isn't just "1" of anything...if you see something, look around and then see 3, 5, 10, 12 of them. Just exploring the house is an event in itself. Leigh is very kind and funny and knows exactly when to be around and when to leave - though we always loved having her around!

After a weekend of pampering, wine tasting, and looking around Augusta, my mom unquestionably declared the breakfast with Leigh and Alan her favorite part of the whole trip - they have great banter and tell you their story while you're eating. The next time we return I hope to go some night when Alan is preparing a special dinner (I've read he does this on special holidays) just so we can have more of his food!

Long story short, I highly recommend choosing this bed and breakfast. The only thing I would mention is the bed (at least in Marie's room) is a bit hard - I prefer the softest mattress possible so it would not have been my choice mattress - however I still slept quite soundly and woke up without any problems :).

Room Tip: Be sure to be there for the happy hour snacks - you will want as much of Alan's food as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica_1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHouse, Owner at H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I wanted to take the time to thank you for writing a review about us. It's so nice that we appeal to both generations, yours and your moms! It is also so kind of you to mention that Alan is not only a great chef for our mainstream guests but, also comes up with great food for those who might desire other things. He truly is the best par of our B & B! Someday we will do as promised, and write a cook book with all of his secrets, like we've been asked to.

I do however, appreciate that you enjoyed all of our stories. I'm sorry that the bed was a little to firm for you but, perhaps the food made up for it.....

We hope when you venture from the Windy city that you find your way again to our B & B ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    6
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We just spent the most fantastic weekend at the H.S. Clay House B&B. Alan and Leigh are the perfect hosts and the breakfasts are to die for!! Their home is a wonderful combination of them and the history of the house. They are entertaining and make such good recommendations for places to go. We enjoyed the turret suite and just didn't want to leave. We highly, highly recommend it for those special getaways!! We will absolutely return for more of their wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful, but we adore the Turret Suite!! The Treetop Suite is also nice as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHouse, Owner at H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Just wanted to take a moment and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always look forward to your stay and Alan looks forward to challenging himself to come up with different breakfasts each year lol! Hope you have a wonderful holiday season and we will see you both next fall ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Ridge, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent two nights this October at the HS Clay House at the recommendation of a friend. We were not disappointed. From the moment we walked in the door Leigh and Alan made us feel welcome. The breakfasts were delicious. The surroudings were very comfortable. We stayed in the Tree Top Suite and enjoyed the privacy of being on the third floor. We have alrleady booked for next October.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol4449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHouse, Owner at H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
It really was nice to meet both of you for the first time and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Our job is very gratifying for us both and a big part of that is meeting guests like yourself. It's also the other guests that are a big part of your total experience and that weekend, like most, was filled with great guests!

Since almost everyone that was here on the weekend that you were here, will be returning next year, it looks like it will be a great weekend again!

Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethalto, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I first stayed with Leigh and Alan 10 years ago and have returned multiple times since then. We have stayed in the Cottage, the Turret Suite, and Marie's Room and have never been disappointed with our accommodations. The food is divine. Alan has such a talent with food that my husband will eat foods he is normally completely averse to. The grounds are perfect for relaxing as a couple or hanging out with friends; there are multiple "nooks and crannies" if seclusion is your goal and great entertainment areas if you would rather hang out with friends. Leigh and Alan do the perfect amount of hosting. They don't hover, but they also don't allow you to feel isolated. HS Clay House is definitely a destination worth visiting over and over.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHouse, Owner at H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you so much Erin for taking the time to write a review for us! We really look forward to seeing the two of you each year and hope it continues for years to come. We hope that we give you some much needed re spit from both of your very demanding jobs!

We had such a great weekend of guests the weekend that you stayed! You all had so much in common and it was a joy to hear all of the chatter in the mornings during breakfast. I can hear all of your cheers, and groans, during the Cardinal games! I'm sure none of you are upset with their performances so far.

We will look forward to your stay again next year and hope you have a great year till then~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our first time at a B&B and we will never go anywhere but here! We celebrated our 5 year wedding anniversary at the H.S. Clay House and it was wonderful! When we first arrived Leigh took on us a tour of the entire property. Every room is filled with antiques and the music was a perfect touch. We enjoyed the appetizers and wine punch in one of the sitting rooms. Leigh let us know about what was available to do in the area. We loved the outdoor area and spent a lot of time by the firepit. Breakfast both days was absolutely amazing! Alan and Leigh have a true gift for what they do and for making people feel welcome. We have already booked a trip to return and we are already looking forward to going back! We loved the Turet Suite and this is a great location for some local wineries and the brewery.

Room Tip: Turet Suite is quiet, roomy, and has a private balcony off the private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHouse, Owner at H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
It was so nice meeting the two of you. You couldn't have picked a better weekend for guests since all of you had so much in common! I'm sure that you, and they, are loving what the Cardinals are doing right now!

We look forward to seeing you both next year and hope that this is going to become a yearly adventure for you.

We will definitely go to the Beer Festival next year since you all seemed to have such a great time!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor, until next time ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Clay House and had a great experience. Just visiting with Leigh & Alan would be worth the trip to me - they are gracious, accomodating hosts with just the right amount of "intervention". We stayed in the Turret Suite and would do so again. Alan's culinary skills are amazing - I've never been in a hurry to get to breakfast before but you don't want to miss it here! I loved all the sitting areas, inside & out, the music played downstairs, and all the lights - an enchanting place! The rooms are full of unique things to discover, some a little dusty, but don't let that stop you! It's close to several wineries and the Katy Trail, too. A very comfortable home.

Room Tip: suites have their own bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cGates56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHouse, Owner at H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for writing a review about us!

You painted such a perfect picture about our home from the music, to the lights and right down to Alan's culinary abilities which all help to create our unique atmosphere!

It gives us great joy that you get "it".

I have to agree with you though, that with all of the antiques that we have, there might be a little dust. But, we've certainly tried to create an experience here verses just a nights stay.

We hope our paths cross again sometime when you are in the area and thanks again for taking the time to write the review~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had 3 couples stay at the H.S. Clay House and it is terrific. Every room is entertaining with all sorts of antiques covering just about every inch. There is some civil war memorabilia in the living room that is fascinating. It's located minutes from several great wineries and there is a small furniture store across the street that has some very unique American made furniture. The food was outstanding from the hors d'oeuvres in the evening to breakfast in the morning! Loved our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClayHouse, Owner at H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We really enjoyed meeting your "extended" family!

Thank you so much for choosing us to treat them to an experience in our beautiful little community. ! Perhaps this will become an annual event!

We love being multi-generational and perhaps now that your daughters are married, and their parents have now stayed with us, they will choose to do so as well.

Again, thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review about us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Washington Hotel
20.2 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
58 reviews
7.2 mi away
Super 8 Washington
Super 8 Washington
#2 of 3 in Washington
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The Wildwood Hotel, BW Premier Collection
24.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
25.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage

Property: H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage
Address: 219 Public, Augusta, MO 63332-0184
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Augusta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Augusta
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 15 years, H.S. Clay House has been acclaimed the ideal escape to celebrate special occasions. Our attentive staff is delighted to receive guests with our superior customer service that exceeds all expectations. When staying with us, you get the maximum bed and breakfast experience, but also lovely and comfortable rooms. In addition, we provide delicious treats and meals, as well as a pool, a hot tub spa, and perennial gardens for you to enjoy and relax. Inside our cozy bed and breakfast, you will discover carefully collected furnishings and appointments, reflecting a philosophy that true luxury is a balance of comfort and elegance. Enjoy our gourmet breakfasts with freshly ground coffees, teas, hot chocolates, choice of juices with fruit course, and muffins or coffee cake. Our main courses often include traditional eggs Benedict, country style Benedict, shirred eggs, custard French toast, quiches, four cheese French rolled omelets, country style potatoes, maple glazed peppered bacon, and sage sausage. When you stay with us, birthdays, anniversaries, and honeymoons are made memorable by the "Clay House experience". Let us help celebrate the event with you. For an additional charge, we customize the occasion with an arrangement of fresh seasonal flowers, wine or champagne. We are delighted to work with you to make it a very special occasion. For a tranquil experience, book your stay with the H.S. Clay House Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing