We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The experience just keeps getting better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Augusta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage
Ranked #6 of 9 Augusta B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was our 8th visit to the HS Clay House since 2004 and we have yet to have anything other than a peaceful, relaxing, and wonderful visit. Leigh and Alan do an amazing job of keeping the house decor updated, yet maintain the highly comfortable, homey feel that is part of the experience of staying there. They are true hospitality professionals who will go to any length to make their customers enjoy their visit. They have gone out of their way to not only welcome us, but to give us a very personal level of service on each visit which is what we have seem them provide for all guests. Their home is amazing, warm, and by now feels like our home (only without any work being done by us). Alan's breakfasts are simply incredible and have to be experienced to be understood. From clean, comfortable rooms to gourmet breakfast, great appetizers in the evening, welcoming common areas, and a quiet private bedroom with modern amenities in which to relax it is easy to spend a relaxing day and never leave the house. The HS Clay House is one of the happiest places my wife and I have ever been and we cannot wait to go back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and have different decor. Turret Suite and Tree Top Suite have private baths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 125 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I were looking to stay at a Bed & Breakfast in Augusta near the Katy Trail for biking and winery & brewery visits. We recommend the H. S. Clay House and Guest Cottage to all our friends looking for this sort of get away! Leigh and Alan are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts rival any we have ever had! The best! We stay in the Guest Cottage and absolutely love it! The grounds are romantic and the rooms are extremely charming! We try to book several days there every year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maredoerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were celebrating my birthday and decided to go up to Augusta. We had a wonderful night at the Clay House--only wish we could have stayed longer. Leigh and Alan are the perfect hosts and a most entertaining couple. The food was delicious, the rooms were clean and furnished to the hilt, the grounds were magical-- replete with gardens, hot tub, pool and lots of sitting areas for everyone. The area offers many choices on weekends for dining. We had the Montelle Winery sunset dinner which Leigh reccomended. The view from montelle's patio is dreamy and the food was 5 star. We will be back!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at the guest cottage for a celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. We found the cottage charming, and well equipped for our needs. It was spacious and cozy at the same time, and another big plus-plenty of towels. The antique bed was very comfortable. The vaulted ceiling and beams have a wonderful, vintage feel. We will definitely stay in the cottage again. The main house is full of character, and just beautiful. It was also full of collectibles and antiques. I love to collect "things" also, but I was amazed at how well such a wealth of objects could be tastefully displayed. Alan and Christina (also known as Leigh) were wonderful hosts, and oh, the breakfasts! They were so delicious, and that alone could be a reason to return. We very much enjoyed the happy hour presented to guests each evening, delicious! The garden was very lush and pleasant. If you simply drive by, that, along with the fairy lights enveloping the property, certainly catch the eye. Speaking of the fairy lights, the inside of the house just twinkles, including the crystal on the sitting room mantle, quite magical. We feel our hosts make a lot of sacrifices to insure their guests have a relaxing, comfortable and charming stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We've not had a better one-night stay than we just did, at the Clay House. The interior is magical. The grounds are exquisitely landscaped. The proprietors make their guests feel like the home is theirs for the time they're there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDudeSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The B&B dreams are made of!!! Leigh and Alan are true professionals! This home is a true diamond in the ruff with so much to offer, and so cozy I feel that five stars just arnt enough. Its the most beautiful place I have ever stayed with a uniqueness and charm I cant put into words. The food was 5 star on its own and the service was out of this world! Warm, welcoming, and so relaxing! Its just what I needed! I wish I could stay forever! I will be comming back agin and agin. This B&B has more then earned itsself the spot as my number one choice for the perfect weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My husband & I stayed a night here after visiting a few of the area wineries. Alan & Leigh were fabulous! Alan's cooking was some of the best we ever had! Leigh was very informative and welcoming upon arrival. We very much recommend this B&B and will stay again if we visit Augusta again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khacy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H. S. Clay House B & B and Guest Cottaage

Address: 219 Public, Augusta, MO 63332-0184
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Augusta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Augusta
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 15 years, H.S. Clay House has been acclaimed the ideal escape to celebrate special occasions. Our attentive staff is delighted to receive guests with our superior customer service that exceeds all expectations. When staying with us, you get the maximum bed and breakfast experience, but also lovely and comfortable rooms. In addition, we provide delicious treats and meals, as well as a pool, a hot tub spa, and perennial gardens for you to enjoy and relax. Inside our cozy bed and breakfast, you will discover carefully collected furnishings and appointments, reflecting a philosophy that true luxury is a balance of comfort and elegance. Enjoy our gourmet breakfasts with freshly ground coffees, teas, hot chocolates, choice of juices with fruit course, and muffins or coffee cake. Our main courses often include traditional eggs Benedict, country style Benedict, shirred eggs, custard French toast, quiches, four cheese French rolled omelets, country style potatoes, maple glazed peppered bacon, and sage sausage. When you stay with us, birthdays, anniversaries, and honeymoons are made memorable by the "Clay House experience". Let us help celebrate the event with you. For an additional charge, we customize the occasion with an arrangement of fresh seasonal flowers, wine or champagne. We are delighted to work with you to make it a very special occasion. For a tranquil experience, book your stay with the H.S. Clay House Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing