We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Augusta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edelweiss Guest House & Luxury Suites
Ranked #9 of 9 Augusta B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed in the Miss Kim suite for one night. Staff very friendly and welcoming from the start with a cheese plate and wine. Room was very clean and nicely decorated. Loved the large jaccuzzi tub. Appreciated the bottles of water and cookies in the room...nice touch after you have been out drinking at wineries all day. Very private access to the room from the front of the building.
Breakfast was amazing, so much food I couldn't eat it all. Would definitely recommend this B&B and plan on going back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 90 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

We visited Edelweiss Bed & Breakfast with a couple of friends, and we had the two ground floor rooms (Miss Kim & Miss Heather). The rooms had nice furninshings and two person jacuzzi tubs, but they smelled like smoke. The rooms are advertised as "non-smoking", but these rooms are connected to the restaurant/bar which does allow smoking. For $160 per night, I would have liked to have a room without a smokey smell. There was no cable TV or internet, but we were ok with this as that was not the reason we were there. It is also within walking distance of Mount Pleasant winery which is convenient. There were not many options for dinner, either the Augusta Brewery (which is where we ate, and had a limited menu) or the restaurant attached to the Bed and Breakfast as most everything shuts down after 5 or 6 pm. Next time we will get a pizza from Balducci's winery.

The breakfast at the restaurant was good. Fruit, french toast, and Eggs Benedict.

Next time we visit Augusta, we will most likely try the Stoneridge Vineyard Farm & Inn. It was not as conveniently located, but we drove up the bluffs, and it has an amazing view.

Room Tip: I would not reserve the Miss Kim or Miss Heather unless you are ok with the smell of smoke. The sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin_c1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Major point for Edelweiss is that the quality for the price doesn't stack up to other bed and breakfast establishments around the state of Missouri. The B&B is centrally located in Augusta, making your access to the nearby 9 major wineries easy (though really, everything is so close that it's not a necessity to stay in town). We stayed in a colder month, but Augusta is a pleasant town to walk through in the warmer days, and this B&B gives you a good launching point. The owner was friendly; checkin was very limited in time, but included some average wine and snacks (a nice touch regardless). We stayed on ground level - the room was quaintly decorated with a king-sized bed. It had a TV with no cable, just DVDs (another room had VHS), but admittedly we didn't travel to wine country to watch TV. The bathroom had a spacious double-jet tub, had they added some bubble bath to the amenities would have been even better. The bathroom lighting had a dimmer and some options, allowing for a bit more romantic feel for those taking out a loved one. Towels were pretty average, more like a hotel than a bed & breakfast. The bathroom adjoined another room through a locked door, and we could clearly hear folks, which diminished a small bit of the privacy feel. All in all, the room was nicely done and worth a stay, despite my recs for enhancement to match the price being charged.

Breakfast was above average but not exceptional. You have a very narrow window to go next door to the restaurant (a 1 hour period) but once there the service was good. Breakfast included fresh fruit and started with some cut-up frosted breakfast rolls (looked store-bought). It was followed by some french toast (tasty, above average) and eggs benedict with sausage patties and some excellent potato patties. However, while above average, it didn't have that home-cooked taste that would have worked it to excellent. I was slightly disappointed, having been to B&B's that tout home-cooked goodness and follow through.

All in all, were the price about $40 lower a night, the B&B would equal what you're getting with what you're paying. There were no negatives, only things I would see done better, so worth a stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at the Edelweiss with another couple. We briefly met the owner, Kathryn Frazier, and happened to mention that we were about to leave for dinner at the Augusta Brewery. On our way out a few minutes later, the owner said she called the brewery and they have a 1 hour wait - but we were more than welcome to stay at her restaurant and have dinner. We immediately thought she wasn’t being honest so we took our chances. There was no wait the brewery and we were seated immediately.

The first floor of the Edelweiss with the restaurant and bar smells like cigarette smoke - the second floor with the guest rooms do not. So for breakfast we asked the owner if we could have breakfast in the second floor common room, at a large 4 person table. She said they were not set up for that sort of accommodation. (Really? I can’t carry my food upstairs?). I told her that we just did not want to eat where there’s smoke and she said “There’s no smoke down here!”. We went back and forth a bit. She said she’d bring in a fan and open the door, but I didn’t feel that would help. At this point I was done dealing with her so we left.

The rooms themselves where just ok but the beds are very nice. The owner didn’t seem all that honest. Ultimately we didn’t get the B&B experience we thought we would. Will not return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Had a great stay for our wedding anniversary. Best breakfast and mattress. Nice town to walk around in.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EronB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

When you enter into a B & B guest room, it shouldn't be through a bathroom. Especially one that the only way the main door will latch is by using the deadbolt. Once you pass through the bathroom the bedroom was comfortable and clean.
If you are going to have a TV in the room...bite the bullet and supply cable. Claiming you don't have it because of volume levels, thin walls etc. is ludicrous when you offer DVD's to watch.
Breakfast well what can I say...the nice young lady serving it was great. Enough said!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Birthday surprise trip! Stayed in the Miss Tara room. Very nice and clean...loved the tub! We came in town on a Sunday...left on a Tuesday. Not all places open but we found plenty to do...made it to all the wineries! :) Bike rental close by in Defiance. Everyone we met...Jan, Paul, and the couple that loaned us a radio to hear the CARDINALS game...were so friendly and nice. We enjoy creating fun experiences on trips...always make the most of time away. Our idea of a wonderful bed and breakfast is a relaxing setting, great people, good food....found it all at Edelweiss and in Augusta/surrounding area. Awesome memories...would go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edelweiss Guest House & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Guest House & Luxury Suites

Address: 5567 Walnut St, Augusta, MO 63332-1009
Location: United States > Missouri > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Augusta
Price Range: $140 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edelweiss Guest House features luxury suites with elegant Jacuzzi suites. Located in the heart of the Midwest's Wine country, Augusta Missouri. Make your Reservation today for the perfect Wine country getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing