We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, charming rooms, near to town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seerose Garni

Hotel Seerose Garni
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Seerose Garni
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great view, charming rooms, near to town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

Great place, but we paid more for balcony on lake which was worth it. Very romantic, nice manager and my favorite place on trip, could have spent the whole summer there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pej60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    9
    9
    11
See reviews for
14
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

Several of the earlier reviews are spot-on, given my recent experience at the Seerose: thin towels, but serviceable; thin walls, but lucky to have no noisy neighbours. Like other Crystal travellers, I too was glad I'd got a last-minute, heavily reduced booking. I would have felt I'd got poor value for money had I paid the full whack. My three additions to earlier reviewers' comments are:

1. Beware solo travellers! On my first morning, the man of the managing duo quickly established I was travelling solo and immediately removed half the bread rolls from my table - very unsubtle, and not designed to make one feel welcomed. He maintained this approach throughout my stay by ensuring one table had half the provisions of the others and by pointedly never serving me with tea or coffee. He made a great fuss of the other guests by bringing tea or coffee to the table - I had to fetch my own. Curious.

2. The private lakeside bathing area is small, adequate, fairly pleasant but always totally misrepresented by the standard photo in use. Why can't they be honest and use a photo of the real lakeside area they have?

3. Looks like they might have taken note of previous comments as my room was kept SPOTLESS by a smiley, friendly cleaner and I seemed to have fresh towels every day (although this is not an issue for me).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from St Wolfgang, having stayed for a week at the Seerose, booked through Crystal holidays and as it was a very late booking, was reasonably priced. We agree with the previous reviewer however although there is no hot breakfast, in our opinion this adds to the real Austrian atmosphere. Yes the towels are thin and weren't changed during our stay but we didn't expect that anyway. The shower head seemed to have a mind of it's own as water was often directed anywhere but over you.
In our opinion the lady who runs the hotel is very pleasant as was the man who is in charge of replenishing food stocks at breakfast, however her command of english is better than his. As a comparison his english was as good/bad as our german. We didn't get off to a terribly good start as the woman who sorted out the room for us handed us the key but didn't appear to tell us where it was. With the help of another guest, we eventually found it.
As there is no lift there is no reason to recommend it to older travellers or anyone unless you want adequate no frills accomodation, which happens to be ideally situated for the town centre/cog railway/boat landing.
We chose the half board option which meant evening meals were taken at the Hotel Leifer, about 5 mins walk along the promenade, where we found the meals very acceptable
If we had had to pay the full Crystal price this would then have been poor value for money, but then that is a reflection on Crystal Holidays pricing policy and not the Seerose.

  • Liked — Proximity to town and transport links
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HaigGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesdale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

Definitely not the best hotel in St. Wolfgang and unlike one of the earlier reviewers we didn't have the benefit of a lake view - as although we had a balcolny, the building my wife and I were in was directly behind the main hotel. We booked our stay here through Crystal holidays - and it would have been more acceptable had we managed to get one of the very late very cheap deals that apparently had been offered by the tour company . However, on the plus side - the beds were large and comfortable (typical austrian twin) and the shower was powerful and the water hot whenever needed. The breakfasts were cold buffet style - cereal, yoghurt, bread, cheeses, salamis, jams and the tea was a pleasant english breakfast variety. It did seem that the Crystal english contingent were all in the annex building (unless a lake view supplement had been paid) - and the breakfast room we ate in was separate from the other guests (strange that). The rooms are smallish but the buildings were clean and reaonably well maintained. However, they are old buildings with creaky floorboards (so with anyone above you you'll hear their every step). The man who "ran" the breakfast was always cheery and helpful and even though his english was a little limited we all pulled through. The lady who fronted the hotel tried to be "warm" but it didn't seem to be her natural personality. Perhaps she isn't cut out for the hospitality trade. The main negative concerned the towels. Like an earlier reviewer, they were still old (pretty threadbare) and they were never changed throughout the stay. In fact, when left in the shower for replacement they were simply rehung on the towel rail. New, large, fluffy and regularly changed towels would have made the stay so much more enjoyable and elevated the score. Finally, the location is down at the one end of the resort (close to the ferry, the mountain rail and bus stop) - so if its at a good price and you're happy to rough it a bit it's alright.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Towels
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Wolfgang hotels

London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2006

Hotel Seerose,St Wolfgang, is probably the worst hotel we've EVER stayed in. It is nothing like the photos on the web. The woman in charge was so unfriendly and unhelpful. She refused to lend us an umbrella during heavy rain despite having 4 umbrellas behind the front desk in full view. The rooms have not been re-decorated since the 60's and the beds are of very cheap quality and uncomfortable. No soap whatsoever was provided and the bleach stained bathroom towels were as rough as cheese graters. The television did not work properly and there was no telephone in the room. The breakfast consisted of cheap ham and cheese slices, one bread roll per person and the cheapest cornflakes and museli (which looked like animal feed). We have known better student hostels in our youth. The toilet beside the breakfast room had no sink to wash your hands which makes you wonder how the guests and staff wash their hands whilst serving/eating breakfast. We were not given any information on the hotel's private beach (which seemed to be out of bounds in August) which upset our little girl. We were awoken at 6:30am by other guests playing football in the corridor outside our room and every morning at 8:00am by the cleaners vacuuming. When we complained, we were not believed.
The check-out is at 10 am and the owner tried to overcharge us.

This hotel has no redeeming qualities and we would not recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
21 Thank Antonellaorati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Zimmerbrau
Hotel Zimmerbrau
#6 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Seehang
Hotel Restaurant Seehang
#14 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.4 mi away
Linortner
Linortner
#15 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seerose Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seerose Garni

Property: Hotel Seerose Garni
Address: Markt 114, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seerose Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Seerose Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing